We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite cottage, fabulous location”
other travelers have booked this property
Puffin Hollow on MIdshore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puffin Hollow on MIdshore
Puffin on the shore Warm and relaxing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Puffin Hollow on MIdshore
Puffin on the shore
Warm and relaxing
Open plan and spacious area
Well equipped kitchen
Sofa bed sleeps 2
Cook up a feast
Eat straight from the fishing boats
Or barbecue on the beach
Sumptuous K/S Bed or 2 singles
Time to relax....
Take a long soak!
Read a good book
Puffin Hollow
Sunset in Pittenweem Harbour taken from west shore
Coastal walk by day!
Coastal walk by night!
View to Pittenweem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
schroding...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite cottage, fabulous location ”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at Puffin Hollow and found it to be exactly what we were looking for. The location of the cottage is ideal (right by the bay) and within walking distance of the few shops within Pittenweem. The cottage itself is; exceptionally comfortable, fantastically and carefully decorated and abundantly equipped. The owners are particularly friendly and have obviously paid careful attention to detail. All things considered, this is the perfect place for a relaxing romantic break. We shall certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and appreciation of Puffin Hollow! I hope you's will be able to get back for another visit in the future.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan Y
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Puffin Hollow recently with our wee daughter. The cottage was very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you could possibly imagine. We kept looking in cupboards and finding even more utensils, pots, tupperware etc. The bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in. It was like sleeping on a cloud. - amazing!
We didn't have particularly good weather but still felt at home and all cosy with the heating on and plenty of relaxing and tea and biscuits. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this charming wee cottage :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!
Liked least: The straw rugs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you or your review,it is greatly appreciated. I'm so happy that despite the weather you managed to get the best from your stay. The bed comfort is key for me on a holiday so glad you appreciated it. We would love you to come back again and look forward to your next booking!
Thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecca e
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, modern, yet quaint, beautifully presented, great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid March 2015. Warm, comfortable bed, . Great open plan space in the living area with modern well equipped kitchen with bar seating or alternatively a table to pull out with chairs which fold away, bureau for laptop, writing etc. Comy sofas, TV, DVD and view to the street with pretty window box. Entrance porch area excellent for boots, coats, pram etc. Bedroom is simple, very comfortable bed, side tables with lamps, wardrobe. Bathroom with shower in bath, hot water on demand, good shower. Lots of little things make this a special place to stay from the tasteful and coordinated interior with pictures and 'by the sea' things dotted about together with thoughtful dog bowls, towel, torch, picnic set. Pittenweem is a great location with lots to do - Isle of May for puffins, Elie for seaside watersports for children, coastal walks, Cambo gardens. In Pittenweem itself there is an active harbour with fishing boats where they catch mainly langoustine/crayfish, which was interesting to visit in the evening. We've stayed in many rental properties and couldnt find fault with Puffin Hollow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
Well what can I say but thank you for your fantastic review and your appreciation of Puffin Hollow. We have tried to make it as warm and homely as possible and certainly a key thing for us is a comfortable bed. I hope you can find time in your busy schedule to return to Puffin Hollow !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable little oasis of calm”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very pleased with Puffin Hollow. Had everything we needed. Right on the Harbour, but quiet when inside. Worried about parking but managed to park right outside all weekend , despite being busy due to lovely weather.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and i'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Puffin Hollow. Good luck in your own venture!
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordermax
broxburn
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“lovely break”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a short break at Puffin Hollow, the cottage was perfect for our needs well presented and very well equipped and ideally located. we took our border terrier and took advantage of the coastal trail, walking to both St Monans and Anstruther, we had fish and chips from the local fish and chip shop as well as an indian takeaway from Eastern Touch in Anstruther both were excellent, hopefully we will return in the near future for a longer stay

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
I am glad you had a good break and enjoyed staying at Puffin Hollow. You will be very welcome to come back for a longer stay and look forward to hearing from you.
Thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfortable cozy cottage with everything we could have asked for.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights (13th-16th Feb 2015) with our dog. The cottage is immaculate and has everything we could have ever needed. Liz even provided towels and dog bowls for our dog which was a lovely touch. The cottage is right on the harbour and 2 doors away from a lovely tavern where we had a great curry and played a pub quiz. There is also fantastic coastal walks which was great for the dog. Planning our next visit to Puffin Hollow soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed, big towels and well equipped kitchen.
Liked least: The floor was a bit cold but there were slippers provided.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2015
Hi Robyn,
thank you so much for leaving your review and we look forward to your next trip. You's were the perfect guests and will always receive a warm welcome along with your lovely wee dog.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn26...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury by the sea.”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a weekend stay in this fabulous property. The décor is of an exceptionally high standard and the property has everything you need for a home away from home. It is obvious that the owners have stayed in some lovely places and now want their guests to enjoy the same high standards. The location is fantastic with the Fife coastal path on the doorstep. We were blessed with winter sunshine and enjoyed walking our dog by the sea.
To top it all, there is a lovely little bar next door that serves a good curry. We had a fabulous weekend and will be back for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accomodation in a great location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your review which was very much appreciated. Hoping to see you's soon and the delightful Charlie. Looks like you's were blessed with brilliant weather.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing