We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food in a lovely restaurant”
Review of Pittenweem Inn - CLOSED

Pittenweem Inn
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations
Description: 200year old former coaching inn recently refurbished to a high standard serving fresh local produceserving lunch and dinner high tea served on a saturday and sunday private parties catered forlarge outside heated terrace children welcome fully licensed bar2 course lunch £8.95
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited on a Saturday evening after booking about an hour earlier.

The restaurant is far removed from its predecessor the Anchor Inn. The current owners have improved it beyond recognition.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. The surroundings were clean and contemporary with the furnishings being to a lovely standard.

The food was FABULOUS, the black pudding, carot and lentil sop and the curried prawns were gorgeous and portion sizes were good.

The main courses were out of this world. All fish courses we got were boneless and exceptionally tasty.. My sons macaroni cheese 'cheesy!!!!'..

There wasnt a morsel left on anyones plates, a very rare occurence..

Thank you for a lovely meal and the service w efficient and friendly, we will be back .

For anyone worried, it is sooooo far removed from the Anchor Inn, please give it a try you will not be disappointed...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Owner at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Scotland2011

thank you for your kind words , we are so glad you enjoyed your first visit to the New Pittenweem Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had another great evening at Pittenweem Inn on Saturday. Menu was mouthwatering but its the little extras like unusual cheeses and adventurous pudding wine that's the icing on the cake! Owners and staff are so welcoming. Definitely, a return visit planned!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamandaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi grahamandaudrey

thank you for reviewing your recent visit,

we appreciate your kind comments

regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Tea”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Karin and I booked high tea on Sunday 23rd September. Once again excellent food and a warm friendly atmosphere. Couldnt recommend this restaurant enough!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Stuart R

it was our pleasure to welcome you back to the pittenweem inn

and we are happy you enjoyed our High Tea offering

look forward to seeing you in the future

regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and my Husband went to the Pittenweem Inn last night for a meal and we were not dissapointed.
The food was cooked to perfection the service was first class very friendly and attentive.
Brian has to be one of the best Chefs around here for miles.
Special thanks to Chris for making the night even more enjoyable.
Well done guys, will definately be bac.
Thank you again for a wonderful night :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClairenGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi ClairenGrant

thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit

we are happy you had a great evening and look forward to seeing you in the future

I have passed on your comments to Chris and to Chef

regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

An initial phone call for 5 vegetarians and one vegan did not bother mein host at all. The chef took the trouble to create a vegan dish that was one of the market specials for the weekend. Very friendly service and a lovely atmosphere. The chef took time to talk to us before the meal to ensure all dietry requirements had been catered for and again after the meal to ensure everything had been satisfactory. An excellent establishment which I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Steven L
thank you for your kind review

special diets is something we are pretty responsive to

happy you had a good experience

best regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing