We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended!!!”
Review of Pittenweem Inn - CLOSED

Pittenweem Inn
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 200year Old Former Coaching Inn Recently Refurbished To A High Standard Serving Fresh Local Produceserving Lunch And Dinner High Tea Served On A Saturday And Sunday Private Parties Catered Forlarge Outside Heated Terrace Children Welcome Fully Licensed Bar2 Course Lunch £8.95
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and my Husband went to the Pittenweem Inn last night for a meal and we were not dissapointed.
The food was cooked to perfection the service was first class very friendly and attentive.
Brian has to be one of the best Chefs around here for miles.
Special thanks to Chris for making the night even more enjoyable.
Well done guys, will definately be bac.
Thank you again for a wonderful night :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClairenGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi ClairenGrant

thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit

we are happy you had a great evening and look forward to seeing you in the future

I have passed on your comments to Chris and to Chef

regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

An initial phone call for 5 vegetarians and one vegan did not bother mein host at all. The chef took the trouble to create a vegan dish that was one of the market specials for the weekend. Very friendly service and a lovely atmosphere. The chef took time to talk to us before the meal to ensure all dietry requirements had been catered for and again after the meal to ensure everything had been satisfactory. An excellent establishment which I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Steven L
thank you for your kind review

special diets is something we are pretty responsive to

happy you had a good experience

best regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go Soon”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dropped by as we were in the area. I did not know in advance that this place was owned and run by Brian and Odette Murphy, of Fouters fame.The place was shut (it was about 4 in the afternoon) but Brian came out to offer us a tour of the rooms and a drink on the terrace, where he introduced his wife and General Manager, Odette. As we had our drinks we took a wee look at the menu and Brian said if we were hungry he'd feed us. Had the terrine (finest I've had outside France) and a very well executed confit of duck. Cooking of this precision is rare in Scotland, even in the starred places. Ordered a bottle of prosecco but Brian substituted the one I'd asked for for his recommendation, a younger, fresher wine which drank all to easily. Clearly, the man knows his stuff.
All in all, a most enjoyable interlude at the Pittenweem Inn. If you get a chance to dine here, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Douglas W

thank you for your kind review

it's always appreciated when we receive a positive response to our offering

I have passed on your comments to chef

look forward to welcoming you in the future

best regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited for lunch just after the Pittenween Festival and the food was excellent - real value for money. It was nice to see a family working together. A simple lunch - the homemade fishcakes were great and the starters were brilliant. The restaurant is a converted pub is on the outskirts of town, and it was real shame that we were the only ones there However, I guess rainy Friday lunchtimes aren't usually the busiest times.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Mark D

thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit
we are glad you had a positive experience
thank again
Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently enjoyable!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Been dining in the Pittenweem Inn every couple of months for the last two years now while in back in Scotland. The staff are so attentive and the food is always just as we'd like it!
The menu is reasonably priced and has a great selection of seafood which suits my wife and I's taste, and the menu also caters for people like my parents who aren't as keen on seafood.

We have never been disappointed when we have gone to the Pittenweem Inn, except our most recent visit because we will once again be moving from Scotland overseas.

Good luck Brian and Odette!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PittenweemInn, General Manager at Pittenweem Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi dannyb1984

thank you for your positive feedback on your visits to the Pittenweem Inn
Consistency is our keyword and all our team strive to achieve this goal
good luck with your move abroad and make sure you visit us again in the future
best regards

Odette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittenweem Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing