We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location”
Review of The Hawkhills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Easingwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hawkhills
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easingwold
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just left here after a weeks stay for a training course. I found the meals very nice,quick service,with the waiting on staff very polite and helpful. Could do with the bar opening a bit earlier as there is nowhere to get a drink from,other than water from the dispenser. Rooms were spacious,clean and adequately equipped. Only gripe with the rooms are the lack of air con,this week as been very warm and the rooms have no way of being kept cool. Would definitely recommend.
Only downside are the young lads on the training course during the week,passing wind in the dining room and swearing at the top of there voices,using 4 letter words,the waitress told them but just laughed at her and carried on........... So avoid the Gas lads.

Room Tip: Ask if any young lads are training,as they go to Develop at Burn Hall,finish training and get hammer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have just stayed 5 nights, five days here at the Hawkhills for a work training course. The venue is split between two main areas. First, the Hawkhills building, with period features, a nice dining room, and cozy bar. Further down the main corridor are various class rooms and lecture rooms, with a coffee room overlooking the grounds. There are also various training rooms on the first floor. Secondly, the accommodation block, a much more modern building with a gym and leisure/laundry facilities with two floors of travelodge-style rooms above.

Firstly, the accomodation is great, nice and spacious with a fgenerous desk/working area and free wi-fi. The en-suite bathroom has a wet-room shower and underfloor heating also. There are slight noises from the other rooms but certainly not anything that disturbed me at all. I have paid much more at places such as Holiday

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4692ALTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
569 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I visited for a business meeting, and arrived late on Sunday evening. A friendly receptionist issued my room keys, and room 212 was in the "new" accommodation block adjacent to the main building. My room was spacious and reasonably well-equipped.

Breakfast was available from 0715 - 0830 in the main dining room, a pleasant wood-panelled room that has maintained the atmosphere of a country house. The meal was a buffet format, with a wide selection of items, and friendly waiting staff. Lunch was also very good. The meeting room was air conditioned, but a little difficult to obtain a satisfactory temperature on an unseasonably mild December day.

The Hawkhills is an ideal conference venue, and is well worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have worked with The Hawkhills a number of times and in different capacities, but most recently with my new charity, The Wish Tree Foundation, which assists couples to get married when one partner has been diagnosed with a terminal illness. Despite the difficulties of a very short lead time, and the emotional nature of the event, I cannot fault Maria and Natalie, the wedding co-ordinators. They worked tirelessly to ensure that they could provide the best possible service to both me and the couple.
I cannot recommend this venue enough - beautiful building, great location, delicious food, fantastic service and attention to detail that is second to none. I look forward to working with them on future occasions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonDanielTWTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

a very big thankyou to Allison Daniel from The Wish Tree Foundation who organised a very beautiful wedding at The Hawkhills which i attended it is very beautiful hotel set in beautiful grounds the staff at the hotel were amazing very polite and professional could not do enough for us was a wonderful day. I would wholeheartedly recommend this venue for any wedding. (this was the same wedding referred by emma ) The food was fantastic the service impeccable thankyou to you all at the Hawkills for a wonderful day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I attended the same wedding(referred to by Emma also) the wedding was arranged by a charity called the wish tree foundation which helps couples who may have a terminal illness and wish to get married the wedding was by far an absolute fairytale day.I was a day/night guest and i have to say the hawkhills is a gorgeous venue for a wedding.When we arrived the staff were ready and waiting with drinks and very friendly the wedding was a little delayed from church but the staff were always friendly and very professional.
I have to say this was a breath taking day and this venue would definitely meet anyones expectations for a perfect day.
I think you are drunk and causing a scene then staff are within their rights to phone police etc just a shame how a few night guests can try put a dampner on a brilliant day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrankie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at the Hawkhills (referred to by Emma). The wedding was, in the main paid for by the Wish Tree Foundation (a really great charity helping couples where one of the partners is terminally ill). The venue is excellent, the staff friendly, understanding and very professional. The Hawkhills is a lovely venue in a beautiful setting very professionally run. Well done Serco!

At the end of the evening, some guests had drank too much and got silly the staff acted in a sensible manor sorted out the riff raff that were being unruly and quite rightly called the police as they could not get them to see reason due to their beer goggles.

Love the venue, love the staff book a wedding here don't let one idiot put you off this is the place for your wedding reception!!!! Your guest will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
1.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.0 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawkhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawkhills

Property: The Hawkhills
Address: Hawkhills Dr, Easingwold YO61 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easingwold
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We understand the importance of comfort and relaxation and how this contributes to a successful event. Each of our 102 double ensuite bedrooms are furnished to a high standard, located for maximum convenience just steps away from the main house. Each bedroom includes; complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, wifi internet, telephone, digital television with a selection of channels, study area with desk and chair, wardrobe, wet room with shower and complimentary toiletries. The acommodation includes an on-site gymnasium featuring a range of exercise equipment including treadmill, cross trainer, exercise bike, a selection of weight machines, rowing machine and dumb bells. A comfortable TV lounge includes a full size snooker table and a peaceful space for relaxation. The Hawkhills grounds and gardens provide the perfect setting for woodland walks with running trails across the site and boasts a croquet lawn and ample space for outdoor networking and team building activity. So, whatever your event, The Hawkhills offers comfortable and relaxing accommodation during your stay here. You will also benefit from the added peace of mind of secure on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hawkhills Easingwold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing