We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Easingwold
Ranked #2 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay close to York”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel quite comfortable, rooms are on the small side but clean, no fridge but there is free WiFi in the lounge. The hotel is opposite the bus station for buses to York about every half hour. Meals, both breakfast and mains were excellent. Owners are very friendly, helpful and courtrous. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbuckland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your one night stay with us, and that you have a safe journey back to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    104
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
184
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The George is full of character and the charm of yesteryear. Log fires,bay windows,ceiling beams and comfortable furniture. Dinner at the restaurant was very enjoyable. We stayed in one of the rooms added on to the back of the Hotel which did not possess the same charm but was comfortable and clean. We used the nearby Park and Ride into York which easy to access. There was also a bus which stopped right outside the front door,15 mins to York.A little gem of a place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments - Kay and I hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay around the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
886 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at The George and the room that we were allocated (Room 19 in the car park) was the worst of the three we have stopped in. The room was freezing when we arrived as the radiator had not been switched on despite obviously knowing that the room was to be occupied. I cannot grumble at the price of £63 for a Last Minute but I expected a warm room. The food as usual was superb. We both selected items from the reduced height or appetite section of the menu and found the quantity to be more than adequate. I had 6 oz Gammon, fried egg, chips and peas for £8.20 and my wife Roast of the day (Lamb) with Yorkshire pudding and vegetables for £8.20. We shared an Autumn Berry Mess for dessert which was quite unusual but delicious. We now have something different to do with our berry crop at home, so thanks to Chef for the idea! The freshly cooked breakfast the following morning was delicious and served without any of the usual morning slapstick that we find so often in hotels.

There is Wi-Fi but the signal is only obtainable in the public area of the bar. There is also a tandem that can be rented for the more adventurous! I can recommend this hotel to anyone but not staying in one of the three rooms in the back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Kay and I are disappointed to read your comments - we can but assume that the previous night's occupants of the newly decorated room had turned down the thermostatic heating.

We wish you had brought the problem to our attention at the time, or certainly, when we checked you out the following morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked trip at short notice, could not believe the price. Excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff, value for money, good use of local produce on an appetising menu, pity we had to return home.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room to avoid awkward steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamfiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments - no one seemed to want New Year to end. See you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute for New Years Eve. Wanted somewhere relatively quiet. Lovely 18th century inn, oak beams and log fires. Staff very attentive...especially Kay. Room 9 large and roomy. Bathroom very modern and large and shower/ bath fixtures and fittings lovely. Furniture and carpet in room a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean and bed very comfy. Had a meal late on in the bar area which was excellent. Couldn't fault it...more than enough. Staff kept checking if we needed anything else...but not intrusive. Due to feeling quite full after eating we decided to go for a quick walk before the clocks struck 12. Upon return glasses of 'bubbly' were given out to all and we assembled in the restaurant to sing 'Auld lang Syne'. Kay then came round with sandwiches...which unfortunately we couldn't manage due to the generous portions of our earlier meal. A lovely place and a lovely welcome. Only thing that might improve is free Wi Fi in rooms. Only available downstairs at the moment. Tip: If you are a light sleeper room 9 appears to be over the kitchen and unfortunately you can hear the extractor fan which did wake me up but I am a very light sleeper. All in all a lovely little find and will probably return if in that neck of woods again. Thank you for your hospitality Kay and Michael.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lulubel30_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your break over New Year. We all enjoyed seeing in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff who were genuinely interested in caring for and serving all their customers . Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality, dinner was excellent. Shower water started to cool one morning when the hotel was busy, but this only fault we found during our three night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay in Easingwold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I visited Easingwold in November to attend a nearby auction and decided to make a night of it by staying in this local pub/hotel. It was good value at £75 for B&B. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the village and free parking is available right outside the pub, spaces are plentiful and you literally pull off the road straight into the parking bays. We received a friendly welcome from the manager who showed up to our room (#2). Our room was spotless and had everything we expected from a olde worlde English pub/hotel. The pub is a typical English village pub with a mix of old and new alongside a good selection of real ales. We ate at the restaurant on Saturday and the food was excellent, my wife had the venison and I had the beetroot risotto. They really make an effort and obviously have a chef who knows what he is doing. I would go back just for another meal. The service was honest and friendly with no pretentions. The breakfast on Sunday morning was also very good, we had the salmon with eggs and plenty of toast. I would thoroughly recommend this unpretentious and good value hotel/pub

Room Tip: We drank in a couple of local pubs. The Commercial was OK but the George is probably the best pub in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessvisitorNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments. So pleased you enjoyed the labours of our kitchen brigade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
2.9 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Black Bull
Old Black Bull
#9 of 12 in Easingwold
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Property: The George at Easingwold
Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Easingwold Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing