We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How many more times ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Easingwold
Ranked #2 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

That's 4 visits to the George at Easingwold now and we have never been dissapointed....always freindly welcome, always good food, always great value for money in the ideal location for York and Yorkshire attractions...How many more times will we visit ? So long as we keep getting the same excellent service and enjoyment I'm sure it will be many more...

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs then there are several rooms in the annex at the rear, which hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luap_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments - Kay and I look forward to welcoming you back to The George again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed her last September, and wanted to come back as we had tickets for The Harrogate Spring Flower Show. Our visit this time was as good as the previous one, with the added attraction of showers in the bathroom! This is a great, small town hotel. The fact that it is always well supported by the locals is testament to how well The George does what it does. The rooms are very comfortable with some having also been recently refurbished. I understand that this was part of the improvements that went along with the installation of showers into all the bathrooms, all of which has added to the appeal. The rooms are also spotlessly clean. The food is excellent. We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights, and would have done so on the 3rd, but as we would have been the only people in there, chose to eat in the bar. The service is excellent. Everyone is so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel makes a great alternative to staying in York, which is only a few miles away, but parking right outside the hotel is something you would never manage in the city. The hotel makes a great base for exploring the various attractions of this part of the UK. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and I'm already planning another visit in the (hopefully) near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oswestrian720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A return visit and a nice surprise that the quirky room we requested had been re furbished to a nice standard with new shower added to the bath aswell as double glazing . There were other improvements in the restaurant with new carpet . The staff were very friendly and attentive in all areas . Good real ales in a well appointed bar . We ate on evening in the restaurant and had excellent food with special duck starter and sirloin steak cooked to perfection and other main course of sea bass fillets being the highlights. with an excellent breakfast the complimentary use of the leisure facilities next door was very welcome . With plenty of attractions and activities in area and a decent bus service to York it has plenty going for it . Well recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The last time I stayed at The George, Trip Advisor did not exist! Going back all these years later it was a joy to find it almost completely unchanged! Our rooms were on the first floor overlooking the main square and were, by modern standards, massive and very comfortable, making it very easy to relax. There's the usual complementary tea & coffee making facilities and a good range of channels on the TV.
Although there are many pubs in Easingwold the bar is very popular with the locals for eating and drinking and I think that says a lot about the place. There's a range of changing real ale and a varied menu with daily specials and I'd certainly recommend the venison which was superbly cooked.
The location is an excellent base for days out to York, the Dales or the North Yorshire moors all of which are in easy reach.
However what really makes The George is the warmth of the reception and the friendliness of the staff which makes me hope it won't be quite so long before my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words - please do not leave it so long next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first visit here and we weren't disappointed. Having seen previous reviews we asked for a room in the main house. However we couldn't be accommodated and were given a double room at the end of the annex. However we had no complaints. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size as were the towels! We were celebrating an anniversary and started the evening in the bar where my husband waxed lyrical about his pint of beer. The three course meal was absolutely delicious and beautifully cooked. Service was great and we got a really good deal for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, the latter was also delicious. Easingwold is a small Georgian market town well placed to visit the surrounding area. We will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The George, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We returned last weekend for a third time to the George to stay for a couple of nights and once again had a great time. The landlady was very helpful and attentive, other staff friendly and efficient, the quality of the food, beer and wine were all excellent so we will certainly be back. This makes an excellent base for exploring the area with a regular bus service to York, and the adjacent Galtres Centre with leisure facilities, available for guests at the George, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your response. Kay and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to The George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having booked a twin room we were delighted to find a huge king size bed as one of the bed!
Everything from then on was a delight. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in the bar, attentive and lovely landlady, great food (I had the best steak and kidney pudding I've ever had). Great value.
We couldn't fault The George on any count so would give it 4.5 out of 5 just in case.
Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaphiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind words - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
2.9 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
9.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
51 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Black Bull
Old Black Bull
#9 of 12 in Easingwold
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Easingwold Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing