We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Easingwold
Ranked #2 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A place to recommend”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our first visit here and we weren't disappointed. Having seen previous reviews we asked for a room in the main house. However we couldn't be accommodated and were given a double room at the end of the annex. However we had no complaints. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size as were the towels! We were celebrating an anniversary and started the evening in the bar where my husband waxed lyrical about his pint of beer. The three course meal was absolutely delicious and beautifully cooked. Service was great and we got a really good deal for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, the latter was also delicious. Easingwold is a small Georgian market town well placed to visit the surrounding area. We will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The George, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    104
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
184
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We returned last weekend for a third time to the George to stay for a couple of nights and once again had a great time. The landlady was very helpful and attentive, other staff friendly and efficient, the quality of the food, beer and wine were all excellent so we will certainly be back. This makes an excellent base for exploring the area with a regular bus service to York, and the adjacent Galtres Centre with leisure facilities, available for guests at the George, much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your response. Kay and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to The George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having booked a twin room we were delighted to find a huge king size bed as one of the bed!
Everything from then on was a delight. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in the bar, attentive and lovely landlady, great food (I had the best steak and kidney pudding I've ever had). Great value.
We couldn't fault The George on any count so would give it 4.5 out of 5 just in case.
Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaphiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here in February together with another couple. The lady who greeted us was extremely friendly and informative. Unfortunately we found our room to be very small and the view was straight onto a roof which was part of the pub. The furniture in the rooms was good quality and very much to our taste. The other couple's room was large but smelled strongly of paint.

When we returned after our evening out we had a drink in the bar but as the bar emptied we were made to feel rather awkward and asked the gentleman if we were keeping him up and were told that he could not close until we went to bed. We took the hint!

Breakfast was very good - excellent quality and we have never had such hot food at breakfast. Recommend for this alone. We would return. Good value - would ask for larger room next time.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pxbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to The George.
The physical layout of a 17c building precludes all bedrooms from being of a similar size.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a lovely market town hotel and pub that is simply perfect. The owners and all their staff are very friendly, helpful and eager to please. We had room 11 with a very comfortable four poster bed. The room was at the rear of the hotel and so quiet, we slept like logs. A big bathroom but only a handmixer type shower attachment. However, while we sat drinking coffee in the courtyard restaurant after we had checked out, shower fittings were being delivered, presumably to complete equipping the few rooms that did not already have showers.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, beautifully cooked and with good size portions. There is a good varied menu. The breakfast is delicious. Would not hesitate to stay again and can highly recommend The George.

Room Tip: I would imagine any of the rooms in The George will be well appointed and comfortable but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your assumptions on the showers are correct. The plumbers commence installing a walk-in shower in Room 11 on 11th March - the bath remains. All other rooms will have showers installed for Easter 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a 3 day stay at The George, a lovely hotel the owners Michael & Kay and their great staff are friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in room eleven a lovely spacious room with a gorgeous 4 poster bed which was really comfortable, lots of storage space and a large bathroom it only had a bath but it had mixer taps which if you are careful you can shower with and not soak the floor. The room had no view but we didn't go there to sit looking out of the window.
We went on a B& B package but ate in the courtyard restaurant two nights and the food was excellent both breakfasts and evening meals with lots of choice at both.
There is free parking in Easingwold and a really good bus service to York etc which stops across the road from the hotel.
The hotel is clean and comfortable and the day we left was having a new carpet fitted in the Bar, lounge and courtyard restaurant, just a shame we didn't see it, but we can always return.
Would I recomend this hotel A big YES.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
As of 1st March 2013, showers have been installed in all but three of our bedrooms - the last three rooms will have either showers over the bath or walk-in showers installed for this Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have a soft spot for the village of Easingwold and the hotel we stay in when we visit is the George.
The service is wonderful,the food is delicious , the service is great and the whole hotel and its rooms are spotless. Nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly staff when it comes to the guests comforts and needs. They always have time to welcome and greet you no matter the time of your arrival.

Room Tip: We always use the outside rooms which are cosy yet roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsruss028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - we hope that it will not be too long until you come back to Easingwold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
2.9 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.2 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Black Bull
Old Black Bull
#9 of 12 in Easingwold
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Property: The George at Easingwold
Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Easingwold Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing