We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty meal with special effects !!”
Review of The Indian Garden - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Indian Garden
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“tasty meal with special effects !!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

There was six of us ,4 who had never been before . It is a clean ,bright well decorated in modern decor with plenty of space between tables even though most were taken .Staff attentive and drinks/p doms/pickles were quick to arrive. Life seemed chaotic in the kitchen and whilst there was a mistake with a starter they quickly resolved the problem . After a decent but welcome wait the main courses all arrived and prtions and quality were very good as very little left . The special effects were the fire alarm going off for nearly 10 minutes before it was sorted . There was no fire however at no point did any of the staff come around and keep anyone informed .or apologise . However on paying the bill goodwill gesture was made and apologies offered . A return visit would be made as the food was very good

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjmorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited the restaurant for the second time as a treat for my wifes birthday. Monday evening and we were the only customers in the restaurant. The place itself is very well appointed and the staff were friendly. However the food was bland and not very nice. We had poppadums and 1 diced lamb starter, chicken biriyani and a keema/chicken dish with 2 chappatis which was supposed to be spicy but was very bland and sickly.My wife only had a few mouthfuls of her biriyani and left the rest. We had a coffee and a coupe of drinks and the bill still came to £50 which I thought was very expensive. Both of us suffered with the obigatory Delhi belly for days afterwards. We will not be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Fabulous food to takeaway, full of spices. Better than most we have tried. When we are next in the area we will definitely make a return visit, this time to eat in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We were regular customers but deffo aint going again after this experience!!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Indian garden on numerous occasions and found it very good. But on this particular occasion we have never felt so appalled in our lives. Me, my partner and 2 children all ate and had drinks etc. We didn't want dessert but thought we'd have a bottle of wine instead to finish the night off. Before we'd finished the wine a waiter came across and said 'we're getting busy now and as you've already eaten id like you to leave the table in the next 20mins' (there were 3x tables for 2, A table for 6, and 2 tables for 4 still available) with all these tables empty we were astounded as to why we had to leave. We had spent over £50, but yet they were basically telling us to clear off. We spoke to the manager and he didn't have a clue about it. As regular customers we felt very unappreciated and have decided not to go again! We've spent quite a lot of money over the last 2 yrs with these but we will NOT be visiting any time in the near future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fruitpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very rude waiter”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Where as the food was nice it was completely let down by an extremely rude waiter who ask me what I would like to order then completely dismissed me and moved on to the next customer because I was taking to long to tell him what I wanted to eat, literally a matter of seconds!
Worst service I have ever experienced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Indian Garden also viewed

Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Birdforth, Easingwold
 
Crayke, Easingwold
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing