We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms with good en suite facilities”
Review of Old Black Bull

Old Black Bull
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Black Bull
Ranked #9 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We, with some members of our family, had 3 rooms. Our room was a good size with a good sized bathroom and bath. The rooms were tidy. The breakfasts were standard pub food but good on volume. There was sufficient parking either in the rear of the hotel, front or on the road. The value for money was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Overnight stay with friends, whilst visiting York races, we opted for this pub because the price was right and it was away from the hustle and bustle of York in a peaceful rural setting with lots of pleasant villages and towns nearby.
The pub itself was fairly basic, a real local,but none the worse for that, and the Theakston's bitter was fine. Our rooms, however, were far from basic, with full mod cons and a light spacious air to it. All the rooms are in a separate building just behind the pub and have private car parking. Our room had a comfortable double bed and also a single one. There was a flat screen TV and a bath and shower, chairs and the usual tea/coffee making facilities and "tasty" biscuits.
The full breakfast was not for "nibblers" and was very tasty. At £64 B&B per room this was a real bargain and the icing on the cake was the friendliness of the long-term landlords. Definitely worth another visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Cycling towards the north of England, we were looking for a nice place to stay for the night and we found it in Raskelf at the old black bull. Very warm welcome, we were allowed to take the bicycles in the room, very good food, wifi everywhere and good beer...what more do you want?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjohn_arnould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

typical country pub and more. well kept ale and beers. excellent restaurant, locally sourced food and prepared by your host. centre of local community, catering for local events and groups. bed and breakfast provided to a high standard. well located for local culture, the north York moors, city of York or even a jaunt to the wonderful north east coast. always a pleasure to stay here or just visit for a drink or a special event.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GsevenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Yes-good in parts! Good food , good bedroom but all the public areas were a little shabby and, dare I say, grubby here and there. Would I stay again? Yes but I think they could improve the whole place with bit of a clean up and make it a much more pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As my title says the rooms were everything you want from any b&b. The decor is traditional not boutique but to us that added to the charm and fit in with the pub setting. Plenty of teas/coffee/horlicks etc and cookies, and fresh milk on request. We ate in the pub both nights we stayed and they run a quite widespread menu of dishes, good value 2 course menu, early bird offers etc. The food we had was tasty, well cooked and very generous portions. This applies to the breakfast as well as the evening meal . Delicious!
The pub was busy and had a good atmosphere and also has 3 real ales on which were really well kept and was a big bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milmol_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at The Old Black Bull for one night in February. It is a proper pub (not a trendy wine bar) with good b&b facilities. The management and staff were very friendly and welcoming, as were the patrons. The beer was good, with a good choice of wines. The food was proper pub food, plentiful and freshly cooked. Our room was clean, spacious and had everything needed. The prices were very reasonable and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyjollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easingwold hotels
2.4 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
325 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Durham Ox
The Durham Ox
#1 of 1 in Crayke
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#1 of 1 in Linton-on-Ouse
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hollybrook Lodges
Hollybrook Lodges
#2 of 3 in Easingwold
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Black Bull

Address: North End, Easingwold YO61 3LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range: $103 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Black Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Old Black Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Bull Easingwold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing