We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
Ranked #5 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here and it will definitely be my B and B of choice in this area.

A joy from the moment you arrive. On the left as I drove in were sheep and their lambs who ran over to greet me! Horses in the field on the other side. A warm welcome from bill who showed me to my room and made me a pot of tea with homemade cake. You have a private entrance and lounge area with views of the fields and the buildings. Nice room and bathroom and a lovely breakfast.

You will find smarter B and B's than this but you will struggle to find one with more character and charm.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank PSMYTHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

The warmest welcome in lovely peaceful surrondings. Our twin room was warm, scrupulously clean and very comfortable. The ensuite has everything we needed and is ideal for the disabled as well as the able bodies. We were welcomed with tea and cakes and the breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. The location is ideal with the Moors, the Dales and York within easy distance. We have stayed at Thornton Lodge a number of times and are always made to feel at home by Sue and Bill. we cannot recommend Thornton Lodge high enough.

Ann and Lawrence

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great three nights stay at Thornton Lodge Farm. The location is very quite and relaxing with no background traffic noise. If you own a Horse or Pony you could bring them on holiday with you as there are extensive stables on the farm.

We had a warm welcome upon arrival with tea and coffee in our room. Two of the rooms offer access for wheelchairs and the shower room is basically a big wet room with a shower and WC.

We had a excellent breakfast which set us up for the day and loads of places to explore near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just an hour in any direction from this b and b and you can be by the sea or visiting beautiful Yorkshire villages and towns, returning to the absolute tranquility of Thornton Lodge. We took our dogs and they had a wonderful time running freely in the fields between sorties out.
The accomodation is of a high standard, well furnished bedrooms and also guest seating areas as well as a lovely dining room. Suffice to say following a good night's sleep, came a lovely breakfast-fresh fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast and all the hospitality of visiting a family friend! Nothing was too much trouble and to be in the company of a farming family was both humbling and inspiring!

Room Tip: As there are only three rooms, no one was better than another. The only advice is to book directly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Three days in a beautiful farm setting, with gracious hosts, and the peace and quiet we were looking for on our vacation. Bill met us as soon as we drove up to the farm, welcomed us warmly, made us some tea, and fresh scones with butter and jam. What a great welcome! Sue prepared the best full English breakfast we had during our two week vacation in England, spanning five B&B's. We loved walking the farm, enjoying the animals and scenery. Bill and Sue took a lot of time telling us about the surrounding area of York, the best places to go and see and how to save the most money while visiting. It made our visit to Yorkshire just what we wanted. They were great! It stay was idyllic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikePAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for our stay this weekend. We stopped over from the 14th to 16th June, having stopped here before we were both really looking forward to our stay. And we were not let down, great room, great breakfast, great hosts and most of all loved interacting with the horses and there foals, just amazing as it made our stay more amazing!!

Really cannot recommend Thornton Lodge Farm anymore as if you want scenic views, away from busy towns/cities and country air? well this is the place for you!! Bill and Sue work hard to make Thornton Lodge Farm the best place it is, and will bend over backwards to help people out.

Thank you both Bill and Sue, we hope to see you again soon :)

Room Tip: Visit The Carlton Inn, just ask Sue and all will be arranged, you will not be disappointed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend for one night whilst attending a wedding in Coxwolds, on arrival we were greeted by the lovely Sue who offered us a cup of tea after a long journey, when this arrived it was presented lovely with some delicious home made scones! The room was large with a large wetroom. Very clean and nicely presented. In the morning we were served our breakfast in the conservatory over looking the wonderfully maintained garden. It started with a massive fresh fruit salad and a big choice of cereals. Then we were served a GORGEOUS full english breakfast, by far the best i have ever had. The only downside was that we didnt spend long enough there!!! We were made to feel really welcome and will definitley be returning for a long weekend, such a nice escape from city life! I couldnt reccommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay just a shame it was not longer for you to explore the beautiful area around here. Next time! Thanks for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Easingwold hotels
2.0 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#1 of 12 in Easingwold
316 reviews
7.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
8.1 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#1 of 1 in Linton-on-Ouse
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Durham Ox
The Durham Ox
#1 of 1 in Crayke
350 reviews
2.1 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
53 reviews
3.0 mi away
Old Black Bull
Old Black Bull
#9 of 12 in Easingwold
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Lodge Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Lodge Farm B&B

Address: Thornton Lodge Farm Thornton Hill | Thornton Lane, Easingwold YO61 3QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Lodge Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton Lodge Farm is a very special friendly working farm in a most beautiful picturesque location. Offering homely warm high quality accommodation with 2 ground floor bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and private sun lounge with kitchenette overlooking the garden and views beyond. Hair-driers and excellent beverage trays, TV and WIFI etc. 4 Star Grading, Best Breakfast Awards and ETC National Accessibility assessed for Disabled. Ideal location for York, moors, coast, dales, surrounded in places of interest, loads to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Thornton Lodge Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B Easingwold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing