We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days at a beautiful farm B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
Ranked #5 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Lusby, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three days at a beautiful farm B&B”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Three days in a beautiful farm setting, with gracious hosts, and the peace and quiet we were looking for on our vacation. Bill met us as soon as we drove up to the farm, welcomed us warmly, made us some tea, and fresh scones with butter and jam. What a great welcome! Sue prepared the best full English breakfast we had during our two week vacation in England, spanning five B&B's. We loved walking the farm, enjoying the animals and scenery. Bill and Sue took a lot of time telling us about the surrounding area of York, the best places to go and see and how to save the most money while visiting. It made our visit to Yorkshire just what we wanted. They were great! It stay was idyllic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for our stay this weekend. We stopped over from the 14th to 16th June, having stopped here before we were both really looking forward to our stay. And we were not let down, great room, great breakfast, great hosts and most of all loved interacting with the horses and there foals, just amazing as it made our stay more amazing!!

Really cannot recommend Thornton Lodge Farm anymore as if you want scenic views, away from busy towns/cities and country air? well this is the place for you!! Bill and Sue work hard to make Thornton Lodge Farm the best place it is, and will bend over backwards to help people out.

Thank you both Bill and Sue, we hope to see you again soon :)

Room Tip: Visit The Carlton Inn, just ask Sue and all will be arranged, you will not be disappointed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend for one night whilst attending a wedding in Coxwolds, on arrival we were greeted by the lovely Sue who offered us a cup of tea after a long journey, when this arrived it was presented lovely with some delicious home made scones! The room was large with a large wetroom. Very clean and nicely presented. In the morning we were served our breakfast in the conservatory over looking the wonderfully maintained garden. It started with a massive fresh fruit salad and a big choice of cereals. Then we were served a GORGEOUS full english breakfast, by far the best i have ever had. The only downside was that we didnt spend long enough there!!! We were made to feel really welcome and will definitley be returning for a long weekend, such a nice escape from city life! I couldnt reccommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay just a shame it was not longer for you to explore the beautiful area around here. Next time! Thanks for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and already stayed two times in Sue's and Bill's B&B. The first time we found it in the Farmstays Guide. We just went there although we haven't booked in advance. Nevertheless we have been welcomed warmly and felt very comfortable in our room and during breakfast. We remember a long friendly talk with Bill in the morning of our departure.
Three years later we came again, again without booking and after a few minutes Sue remembered who we were. We talked about our stay and mentioned that we were interested in lambing and within five minutes Sue had arranged "a lambing experience" on a friend's farm for us.

We highly recommend this place, because rooms, breakfast and everything else was great but the best of it have been the hosts itself!

All the best from Vienna!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tschurlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is great to see our guests again and so pleased we could help you enjoy your holiday and get some lambing experience with our friends as our sheep had finished lambing! Many of our guests have witnessed our horses foaling which is also a great experience - maybe foaling next time!! Thanks for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at Thornton Lodge Farm for three nights in May, while on a woodworking course. I would certainly stay there again if I was in the area. Sue is a great host - very friendly and welcoming. My room was very comfortable and the amenities were good. The breakfast room is a conservatory just outside my room where I watched the swallows swooping around the garden and the horses in the next field galloping around. Sue's breakfast is tremendous, with cereal, fruit and copious tea on offer, before the farmhouse traditional 'full English' cooked breakfast. The farm is situated in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire countryside. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks Rob it was great having you too and glad you enjoyed the course as well. Many thanks hope to see you again when you bring your wife for her relaxing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A superb, peaceful location on a working farm. Very comfortable accommodation and a warm welcome awaits. Hearty breakfast cooked to your liking with added extras including fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals and as much toast as you want. Lots of room to spread out with private use of a lovely conservatory outside the room. Hosts are keen to make your stay enjoyable and if you don't know the area can supply you with ideas for places to visit and local attractions. Location is within easy reach of some beautiful villages, city of York and East coast. Excellent for a quiet getaway to re-charge the batteries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks - yes it was great having you too and glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Incredibly welcoming and warm hospitality at this peaceful and tranquil location. Had everything that I could ask for during a stay in the country, with both the Moors and York city only short distances away. Faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue01347, Owner at Thornton Lodge Farm B&B, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for coming so glad you enjoyed it, we enjoyed having you too - thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
4.7 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
7.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Durham Ox
The Durham Ox
#1 of 1 in Crayke
327 reviews
2.0 mi away
The George at Easingwold
The George at Easingwold
#2 of 12 in Easingwold
307 reviews
2.1 mi away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Lodge Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Lodge Farm B&B

Property: Thornton Lodge Farm B&B
Address: Thornton Lodge Farm Thornton Hill | Thornton Lane, Easingwold YO61 3QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Lodge Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton Lodge Farm is a very special friendly working farm in a most beautiful picturesque location. Offering homely warm high quality accommodation with 2 ground floor bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, and private sun lounge with kitchenette overlooking the garden and views beyond. Hair-driers and excellent beverage trays, TV and WIFI etc. 4 Star Grading, Best Breakfast Awards and ETC National Accessibility assessed for Disabled. Ideal location for York, moors, coast, dales, surrounded in places of interest, loads to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Thornton Lodge Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Lodge Farm B&B Easingwold, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing