We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coron Westown Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$77
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$246
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$44
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
133
227
105
32
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
227
105
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetpremium roomwest townpaid wifiper personfree wifi in the lobbyfamily roomgreat pool areapool viewkiddie poolpay pesosinternet connectionground floortricycle riderooms are bigcancelled flightneeds improvement
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 524 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before embarking on the Tao Expeditions trip from Coron to El Nido. We decided to treat ourselves to a comfortable place before "roughing it" for 5 days. I went with my gut as there aren't that many reviews for this hotel on TA; turns out it was the right decision!

For starters this resort is very new, so everything felt clean and functioned well. The amenities are luxurious without feeling overly fancy or pretentious. The grounds are very well maintained and the pools are a nice touch. Sure, it's a little pricey by Filipino standards, but still very cheap compared to what you would pay for something similar in the West.

The resort is located outside of town, but it's just a 10-minute trike ride away and the front desk will gladly arrange a trike for you. They also arranged a Coron Island tour for us (but this was operated by a tour company, not the hotel itself).

The restaurant menu has an insane amount of options (meaning the food can be quite hit or miss). The service could be a little slow at times, but always friendly and attentive. The wifi works well, though the code you get limits you to 2 hours per day (didn't really matter though, as the reception staff would just give us new access codes if we ran out of time).

All in all, very pleasant stay. The resort is very big and I can picture it getting quite crowded during high season, but in our case it felt very spacious and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave these wonderful comments on trip advisor. It's always a real pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed our hotel, our facilities and our service. We are glad to hear that our staff was attentive to you. We apologize we fell a bit short with regards on your dining experience, rest assured this was brought up to our F&B team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you all the very best for 2014!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Westown Hotel is a relatively new hotel. It has big rooms and balconies. Family will definitely enjoy their large pools.

Staff are polite and accommodating.

It is located on a higher portion of the Coron town so the view from our balcony on the fourth floor is a welcome treat. It is relatively near (about 20 to 30 minutes) from the airport compared to other hotels. It is located along the national road and accessible to public transportation (motorela).

Unfortunately, the elevators still smell of "fresh cement".

Front desk personnel needs further improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you good feedback and for have chosen Coron Westown Resort for your stay in Coron. It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding the hotel, location, property and the nice view on our balconies. Your satisfaction regarding the staff's courtesy and service is very important for us, and I'll happy to share your review to the team. However, we are disappointed we fell short on the cleanliness of our elevators and our front office team, my staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to give you entire satisfaction on your next stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff needs to learn better english. I think they're mostly interns, since they're so young. The breakfast buffet is disgusting. Cold, no burners while sitting out. Wifi sucks. Rooms are super comfortable, big and clean. It's convenient for a place to go back after island hopping. I'd say it's probably the best in Coron, but still the quality of it is not as good since Coron is still developing its tourism.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the pool
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soferena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We apologize that we fell short with regards to our staff and your dining experience, as of this post date, we have talked to our staff to learn better English and also we have acquired a number of chafing dish for our Breakfast Buffet in order to avoid cold food. Please be advised that we have limited WIFI due to our location in town, as of this time, we offer guests free wifi in public areas such as the lobby, the restaurant and the bar. Yet, we really appreciate you saying that the resort was probably the best in Coron and we are glad you had enjoyed staying in our guest rooms. Rest assured that your comments will be taken considerable action to improve the quality of our services.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Decided I needed a break from work in Philippines so looked at surrounding Islands, Somehow decided on Coron Palawan and looked for Hotels, This looked to be the largest most upmarket Hotel on the Island (It did actually turn out to be this way too)
Flights from Manila to Coron (Busuanga) are easy to obtain and flight time is only 1 hour, but watch out for delays as Manila Airport is seriously messed up with overcrowding!!! Plus be careful you don’t book your return flight with little time for connection, as there are lots of delays and cancellations on the way out, due to a number of reasons, one of which the runway has no lights or anything so bad weather and Night flights are not allowed !!!
Did not book a transfer but the Hotel were waiting for me to transfer me to the Hotel (Nice Touch) Not Free, but only 150 Pesos per Person which is fine.
The road from the airport is pretty bumpy as not all tarmac or concrete, but it’s doable 
Booked through Agoda and check in was easy and straightforward.
Booked a “Premium” room with “Mountain” views, Hmmm not sure you can call a Bamboo fence with Half cut plastic bottle with small green plants much of a view, did ask about this but was politely told if I paid more money they would upgrade me, that is with hardly anyone staying there also, (Maybe 5% Full ?) A little peeved but fine if that’s what the policy is.
The room was fine, clean and obviously new, a fair few English speaking TV Channels so that was good also.
Not sure you could call Coron a “City” !!
It is a tiny little Seaside Town much like many normal Filipino Towns, very very Basic, Did not see one Western Type shop or store at all, just little shacks and shops.
This place appears mostly full of People coming to Dive or Learn to Dive, SeaDive Resort looked very busy and has a decent Bar and Restaurant and has good reviews, I may think about there next time as West Town is a little out of the way.
The Pool area is very nice at West Town, Very well laid out and very attractive, someone has employed a good Architect to design this place, shame it is a little let down by the standard of finishing (as in quality of workmanship).
With not many occupants there were a lot of staff floating around, they have been instructed to greet everyone each time they walk past, nice touch to start but a little irritating when so many staff all floating around greeting you from 50 Meters away !!!
The “Garden” area needs revitalising, again the planning and expenditure (Lots of water features, Nice Rocks etc) looks fine apart from too many bare areas and no colour
Restaurant Food is ok, nothing special but Ok, breakfast Buffet just Ok also
The road into the “Village” is dark and bumpy and everyone walks down the road, so be careful if you rent a bike!!!!
All in all I know I am being a little picky, but read all the reviews and make your own decision, it would be great for families with small children just enjoying day trips, if you are diving then give it a miss and go to Seadive

Room Tip: Don't choose a "Premium" room unless you want to look at a Bamboo Fence from your Window
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. As per checking with our system, you have booked a Deluxe Room which is usually located at the back part of the hotel, facing the woods and was priced cheaper to other rooms, should you want a sea view or pool view, we have Premium Rooms available. It has come to my attention that you were irritated every time our staff greets you meters away, on our end we have managed to relay to them to greet our customers closer. The hotel location was a little away from the town proper, but since we are located along the national highway, we can have access to vehicles going to town, we can even call a tricycle for you. Rest assured that your comments will be taken considerable action to improve the quality of service we render to our guests. Nevertheless, kindly know that your appreciation of our facilities means a lot to us and that I have been delighted to share it with all the members of the team. We hope to welcome you again in your future visit in Coron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We fell in love with the pool of this hotel! It is big and spacious. with 2 huge children's pool, 1 huge adult pool (up to 6 ft) and 1 decent sized pool that is really deep - you can dive all you want there!

We did not try the food so we can not comment on that.

There is free wifi in the hotel. The rooms are clean, spacious, bathroom is clean too. We can tell that care was taken care to ensure the cleanliness of their rooms. Staffs are friendly. Reception people are somewhat friendly only. Our original hotel was overbooked so we were moved to this hotel for 1 night. as we were checking out, we asked the receptionist if they have the number for our original resort. They flat out said NO. They did not even bother to check or give some effort since we are waiting for our ride to bring us from westown to our original resort. we just googled it on our own to find a contact number.

Our score for this resort would have been perfect had it not been for the surly receptionist.

Room Tip: The rooms have balconies , so choose one facing the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earth-trekker-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your nice comments about your recent stay in our resort. I feel sorry to learn that our receptionists did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured your comments will be forwarded to our Front Office team for consideration. Nevertheless, thank you very much for your compliments.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a next stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews