We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Malcapuya Island

Malcapuya Island
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The most beautiful beach i ever saw so far. for me it is better than Boracay, Panglao, beaches in Honda Bay (Puerto Princessa). The island only uses generator. Water is not a problem.
For those who want to spend a night in the island you can either choose to stay at the white house located at least 100 meter form the beach or at the beach front huts (common toilet and bath) for P700 per person. the huts can accommodate at least four person while the white house (private CR) can accommodate at least 10 pax.
You have to bring your own food, water and drinks because there is now stores in the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    78
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malabon, Caloocan, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise Wow”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The view, the sand, the clear water is picture perfect and very relaxing. Cottages for overnight stay are available. I hope that visitors be responsible and avoid littering. I saw alot of plastic products on the shore and some diapers in the sea. =(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Loudhel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This beach has fantastic views. It has white sand. The place is so nice. You will enjoy swimming here

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charmed497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“picturesque island with fine white sand beach”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

As we approached Malcapuya Island I was stunned by the wide expanse of white sand contrasting with the azure blue waters. The white tents on the beach offered a very inviting respite from the blazing afternoon sun. Then our boat passed the island, heading towards the back & I was very disappointed. Was this not Malcapuya Island, the island I previously only saw in online pictures and brochures? Turns out the docking area for the boats are at the back of the island, separate from the swimming area in front. The white sand is fine like powder. The beach is not rocky so its easy on your feet even without aqua shoes. The waters are shallow so its safe for families with young kids like myself. My sister went snorkeling and saw giant clams but the famed one as big as a basin had already been hit by a boat anchor, according to our guide. After swimming, there are clean showers & restrooms as well as fresh coconuts for sale.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank msbeachl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Powder-white sand + nearby corals with a variety of fish”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would have given this 5-stars back in 2009 when I first experienced it. There were no tents set up on the beach, and you approach the island from the "front" where the wide shore is. There were colorful flags bordering the shoreline, which made it really pretty and welcoming. At the time, there were only about 2 other groups on the island, and it was much more relaxing and gave the feel of isolation in a private island.
Last week, I was disappointed that boats needed to be "parked" at the "back" due to tourist volume, and this was not well-maintained and was littered with bottles and plastic waste. The beach was packed, and the tents made it appear like the sandy area was narrower. The corals seemed fewer (?) that before, and the sign that marked "Giant Clam" - which I thought was so full of character - was replaced by a plain buoy topped with a flag.
However, without a point of comparison with my previous experience, this was still a beautiful island, with pristine sands and clear waters. I suggest going very early, possibly avoiding the throng of people. I really much prefer avoiding crowds. Still well worth the 1.5 hour boat ride, especially if you also appreciate the beautiful coves and little islands that you pass by along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malcapuya Island also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Malcapuya Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing