We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corto del Mar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Bar. Swimming pool. Crew. Everything's great. They also have a happy hour, weds to saturdays 70 pesos for 2 beers ( can you believe that?) stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and no regrets. Wish they could have more breakfast choices on their menu.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlevXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    118
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
127
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel located perfectly in Coron town. Easy walking to everything! Or if you don't like walking it's just 10php per person for a trike anywhere in town. First, the staff is so hard working, so pleasant and accommodating!! They work very long hours and never stop smiling. We did have a problem with not having the water replaced in our room two days in a row. Called the front desk on the second day and informed them of this. They said they would take care of it and get us the water, it never happened:-(. We stayed in the deluxe room which has a balcony that overlooks the pool. The room and woodworking is gorgeous. The place is beautiful BUT in need of some basic amenities and fixes. First, no fridge in the room, not a major deal, but everyplace else that we stayed had one and they were all lesser hotels than this one. Second, coffee, coffee, coffee. NO coffee in the room, no water pot, no glasses of any kind in the room. I am the type of person who wakes up and wants/needs coffee to get going. I don't want to get dressed and go down for coffee, and I don't want to wait for room service either. Third, NO internet in the room, and barely any in the lobby. And almost no places to sit close to the reservation desk to get what little wifi that was available. We got better wifi on a street corner in town, crazy! Fourth, NO coke light, not a major deal, but other hotels in town had it. Fifth, when the power goes off, the ac will not start back up when the power comes back on, you have to do this manually. Again not a big deal during the day but becomes one in the middle of the night when you wake up because of the heat due to power outages. And this can happen several times a night:-( This could easily be an awesome place with just a few fixes! Overall a good place to stay if you want a pool. Also could use pool towels!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The overall hotel was great - rooms, pool, food, bar area. The location was also perfect - short walking distance to the heart of Coron Town. The staff is also terrific. I would give it 5 stars except for the unbelievably poor internet. You have to be within feet of the registration desk and it goes up and down constantly. I got a better connection standing on a random street corner in town. Given that I had to stay connected with work, this was very frustrating. It would be so easy and inexpensive to buy a couple additional routers (that actually work) and place them near the bar and pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcon3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The staff are extremely friendly and professional. Obviously very well trained managed. Rooms and all public areas like pool are kept in top condition. I was very impressed with their front desk that goes out of their way to make their guest comfortable.

I couldn't give them full stars because of one fatal flaw, their internet. If hotel management is reading this, please get couple more AP and wire them up. The single one that you have only works in a small area within the lobby, and it's super unstable! I ended up buying a SIM card at a local globe store for 240p with unlimited data. If you are not going to fix your internet and offer it to the rooms perhaps just rent out 4g hub, as they are quite fast, I've got like 400kbps connection.

Overall through this is probably the best hotel in Coron. Nice location, good food and excellent service.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This property is one of the most beautiful in this part of the Philippines. The classical Spanish hacienda style building features exquisite stone arches, carved heavy wooden doors etc. It is kept spotless at all times. The pool in the courtyard is nice. Service is splendid. It is clear that all staff have been well trained to uphold the highest standards of customer service. Location is close to restaurants, bars, dive shops, etc. Downsides: views are of a barrio (slum) just over the walls. Internet is the WORST anywhere I have stayed in the last 10 years...worse than in Iraq or Afghanistan even! No internet at all at any price available in the rooms. And the sorely overtaxed wifi at the lobby permits only the tiniest of tasks on the web. (If you have a business or otherwise NEED good web access, visit Coffee Kong in town..theirs is good!) Also, believe it or else, NO refrigerators in ANY of the rooms!!?? Oh, one more PLUS: they have free airport pick up and drop, and the airport is very far from town. If you stay here be sure to send your flight details ahead of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Coron shows you the potential of what the Philippines can be when words are put into action. The people there just seemed to unite and figured out that tourism is its main attraction and have structured the way they treat people (from arriving in the airport until you checkout) around that fact. Before my review, let me add this little comment. I agree that you need to be wary and always on your toes in Manila (especially at the airport. The white airport taxis are disgracefully overpriced its embarrassing to foreign tourists as their first impression. The yellow taxis are cheaper but the line queue while set you back a good hour. Plus they ask you for a tip even before you roll out or conveniently forget to turn on the meter midway through your ride) but go to Coron and you'll feel a different vibe. You get to trust us and see pinoys at their best.

We had many options for hotels in Coron but we were glad we chose this one. If you're in Coron for vacation, and you want to see the islands, white sand beaches, corals, etc., everyone will converge on the city port where the boats are docked. This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the dock which is awesome because if you've planned for group tours, you'll be fetched last and likely returned first.

If you prepared for your vacation well enough and mapped out the food places you wanted to try, you'd find that most of them are near the dock as well so we were able to just walk to lunch or dinner from the hotel. As I've mentioned food, the hotel offers free breakfast, a bit limited on the choices but the servings are more than enough to fill you up before exploring the islands.

The hotel staff was very accommodating and greeted you with drinks and smiles. I would like to note that they were the only hotel that did not ask us for a deposit for our booking which is awesome.

Our room was really good. One of the best Ive stayed in. The wood finishing was just great. You could tell immediately that the room wasn't the typical four walls and a bed type of design. The owner really wants you to feel comfortable in your accommodation which is huge because your going to need all the rest you can get to get ready for the next day.

If you haven't organized a tour yet, the hotel will offer you hassle free ones that aren't priced like a rip-off.

On Sundays, you have an incentive to dine at the hotel as they offer any pizza for less than 200 pesos. It's worth it because the taste is comparable to any Italian pizza place I've tried.

The hotel has a very nice pool with plenty of sunbathing chairs if you choose to stay in the hotel. I never got to use it as I was mesmerized with the islands.

It's priced a little on the high side but if you're willing to spend the extra bucks, they really take away the headache of security when you're away as well as give you comfort when you're back from a long day.

We're already planning our next trip to Coron and were again strongly considering Corto del Mar as our hotel.

Room Tip: 1. There are safe boxes in your rooms so you can leave valuables 2. The view is a bit of a letdown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenlantern_2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

A small good hotel with a few flaws like the plumber must have been drunk when installing the piping and pumps because water pressure is fluctuating wildly, leaving you with either to hot or cold water or nearly no water . Menu in restaurant is nice, but they don't serve many of the dishes the menu!!. Their pizza is really good so is their tenderloin. Internet is just useless .. comes and goes like the water and are slower than any turtle. The hotel is quite pricey compared to the competition. Very nice pool. Beautiful use of materials like the use of wooden constructions and furnitures inside the rooms and around the hotel. The staff is very nice and the manager is hands on with his guest....if you're not too fussy about the details I've mentioned and have the money, go there

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
1.1 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
15.2 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto del Mar Hotel

Property: Corto del Mar Hotel
Address: Comeseria Street | Barangay 1, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto del Mar hotel is located in the heart of Coron town on the island of Busuanga in the north of Palawan. The hotel and its 32 bedrooms and suites have been decorated with taste and character giving the hotel a unique blend of Mediterranean and Filipino feel. With beautiful views over Coron Island, it's a great place to go explore the gems around whether on banka or motorbike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Corto del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Del Mar Hotel Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing