We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Garden Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophia's Garden Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at Sophia's Garden resort, just outside Coron, Palawan, Philippines. The hotel is a five minute trike ride from downtown Coron. We enjoyed staying out of town, as Sophia's was quiet and tranquil, but still and easy commute into the bustling, noisy town. The trike rides only cost $50P, or $1.25 each way.

The staff at Sophia's were amazing. They were all so friendly, and able to answer any question you had, whether about day trips, the food, or anything you needed at the hotel. There was a lot of staff for the small resort, so you were never looking for someone to help you.

The food was terrific, try the Tocino with the Philippine breakfast, or the French Toast was outstanding. The cook also made us a lunch to take on our second day of diving and they specially prepared some adobo one night for us since we don't like seafood.

Very nice pool, the grounds are gorgeous and well maintained, and the rooms are VERY clean. Much nicer then the more expensive hotel we stayed in Subic Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, with only difference being a double or triple bed space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hannahlo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 232 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been coming back to Coron for the past 10 years but decided to bring my wife and toddler for the first time last April 22-25. I chose Sophia's Garden Resort because of its sprawling garden and quiet location. The deluxe room size was just right - not small and not big either. The service was excellent and my toddler enjoyed swimming in their pool. My wife and I enjoyed the breakfast (included in the package) selection. The only drawback during our trip was that the pool was unavailable the last 2 days as it was being cleaned and the resort is situated a few minutes from town. Though there are no public transports, their van can bring you to the town proper at Php 50 ($1.25) per head. Overall, we enjoyed out trip immensely and Sophia's Garden Resort contributed to its success.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is nearer the side of the pool which is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed @ Sophia's Garden for 3 nights last April 2013 and we really enjoyed the placed so relaxing especially after the fun and so tiring tour. The staff - i loved them so accomodating and nice <3 kuddos to the management.. absolutely we will come back..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank anniehojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at Sophia's for 3 nights on march 2013 for my honeymoon and enjoyed every second:
The place looks great - beautiful garden, lovely swimming pool and very nice dining room.
The room is very basic, but clean and comfortable.
We loved the staff - everyone was so help-full and nice.
The location is 5 minutes ride from the town of Coron or 15 min walk, but it's not a problem because the hotel calls a tricycle for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yossi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in this charming garden resort in Coron last February. It is about 7 minutes away from the Coron town proper by tricycle, but if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in Coron away from the "noise" of the town this is a great place to stay in - probably even the best as of this writing.

The hotel's theme is Filipino garden resort - you can see it in the design. The property is mostly a sprawling garden with classic Filipino-designed structures. You can see wood elements, tinted glass and stone floors. Very timeless and elegant. You can see its difference from the crowded hotels in town.

The rooms exude the same elegant Filipino design. Our room had good, firm beds, cable TV, desk, and a small pantry table. The bathroom was also decent, not too big, and had complete and working fixtures.

The staff are always helpful. Not really the kind of pros you will find in the city, but they will try their best get your request.

Other items worth noting in this resort: Their breakfast restaurant - a nice charming pavilion with good food and attentive staff. The "lamayo" fish breakfast was something to remember the trip by. The resort also features a pool that the kids will definitely enjoy. There are also gazebos that dot the garden - nice for pictures and long chats.

All in all this is a great place to stay in Coron. My wife and I had a wonderful time. Would bring kids here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

During the World Surgical Foundation (WSF) Coron surgical mission, from February 23 thru March 4, 2013, fourteen (14) participants stayed at Sophia’s Garden Resort, seven (7) rooms, all double occupancy.

Sophia’s Garden Resort is 10/15 minutes away from the Coron center. It is a well-maintained 8 rooms resort, garden ambiance setup, quiet, and perfect stay after our daily surgical mission at Coron Hospital. Per Oliver, Sophia’s Garden Resort will be expanding from 20 to 30 rooms (I think in the next two years), majority of the additional rooms near the water.

At Sophia’s Garden Resort, all WSF participants enjoyed the daily excellent buffet breakfast and dinners for a party of 54, all menus arranged by Oliver. For our daily dinner transfers (from a nearby hotel to Sophia's), Oliver, can’t thank him enough, provided SERVICE WITH A SMILE van transfers.

Overall, enjoyed our stay at Sophia’s Garden Resort and HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for a nice break in Coron. Sophia’s Garden Resort offers SUPERB service!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PepenPilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Sophia's Garden Resort at the end of our stay in Palawan and we really happy that we did.

The place is pretty simple but it is also beautifully done with only a few rooms located in a very spacious and secure garden with a large pool, great for switching off and planning the next day's adventure on the waters around Coron!

Although relaxed, everyone was very helpful and it was getting things done was really straightforward.

I am very sure that this place will do well and just hope that it doesn't lose its relaxed atmosphere as more and more people visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.4 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
357 reviews
16.2 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Garden Resort

Address: 5 Dinagpan Rd, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: $82 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia's Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Garden Resort is 40 minutes away from the Busuanga airport and 15 minutes apart from Coron Town. Sophia's has a Spanish type inspired designs. That made the resort special with its 8 deluxe rooms, El Comidor Sophia and bar, a multicolored swimming pool with Jacuzzi, a magnificent El Jardin Sophia and Souvenir Shop. To experience the elegance of Coron, an exclusive place to stay and personalized service visit Sophia's Garden Resort in Coron Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sophia's Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's Garden Resort Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing