We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short notice”
Review of Coron Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coron Ecolodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“short notice”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had planned this trip, but had to rearrange due to a trip to the hospital, very helpful withthis short notice change. We ended up taking a friend with us and they shared the room we had booked for a night, then they managed to find a room for her in the hotel. We stayed for four nights with breakfast included, which was great as no extra planning needed. Service was very good and the staff are friendly and efficient, just need to polish some service skills. Could only give an average for the sleep quality, as the only room availble was a twin, not great when you want to join the beds together. If back in Coron would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantiShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you sir, for your positive review of Coron Ecolodge! We actually only have 21 rooms and every room is standard with 2 double beds. Though the hotel is modestly designed and categorized as a boutique hotel, we strive to give you the kind of service you would expect from higher-priced hotels. We are pleased to inform you that to meet the growing demand for more rooms, Coron Ecolodge's sister establishment, Casa Coron, will soon open in the early part of this year, just right across the street. Each of Casa Coron's 8 rooms are designed with a larger room space and can comfortably accommodate 3-4 pax in each room. Though we are beginning to expand, rest assured that we will always ensure that each of our guests will still receive the personalized, efficient and sincere service that Coron Ecolodge has come to be known for. We hope to see you again soon in Coron Ecolodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    118
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
91
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We were in Coron during typhoon Haiyan, and we were so glad we stayed at the Coron Ecolodge. The staff are all young, but they're respectful and wait on you like royalty; extremely accommodating and the one point I want to stress: we felt so safe during the typhoon thank to the staff and sturdiness of the Lodge. The staff & manager on site went above and beyond every expectation to ensure every single guests' safety, worked throughout the night and all staff were called back to the lodge to work double, triple shift to clean, tend to guests and our needs, help out everyone passing by, ensure we were comfortable. This is a lodge and not a luxury hotel, but since its newly built, it's clean it's modern and simply a great place to stay when in Coron as its a convenient walk away to everything (restaurant, the mount...). I booked all my tours through them and everything was just perfect.

I will return to Coron and will definitely stay at the Ecolodge again without a doubt. Coron's town was ravaged but they're fast at rebuilding. The town needs tourism to rebuild, so go and visit! It's an amazing place and you will thoroughly enjoy. People are SO nice and hospitable, and snorkelling is the best there!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yin_YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious and enthusiastic review of Coron Ecolodge! We had made extra efforts to make your stay here for your personal celebration a special one and were dismayed to realize that the arrival of Typhoon Haiyan had made it memorable in a way we all did not expect. Nevertheless, we make every effort to ensure that our guests have a safe and wonderful time. We do this not just because its our business to do so, but also because it truly is a pleasure to see our guests relax and enjoy because the hotel had taken their needs into consideration. Thank you for entrusting us with your special occasion. Thank you as well for endorsing the local tourism industry of Coron because it is your continued patronage that will genuinely help Coron get back on its feet and be even better than it was before. We are glad to know you plan to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just stayed for two nights literally. We came before check in time and were given a vacant room to change our clothes before our island hopping. Good that there was an unoccuppied room. When we came back they were insistent to add a bed for the extra person but we told them that the two beds would do for the three of us in one of the rooms. Their beds are actually full or twin sized beds if I'm not mistaken, but surely not queen size. Talk directly to their people at Coron when reserving because their more knowledgable regarding your concerns though not that concerned with regards to the bank deposit details and not that immediate in replying through emails. Call them, and they are very pleasant. When we stayed there, coffee was free flowing, they were immediate with our needs, and they cleaned our rooms without our saying. When we went back on our second day, our rooms were very clean and orderly with new towels and toiletries. Just pu your things in your bag and bring valuable items when leaving because keys are not allowed to be brought outside. Food were in set meals and were meant for people who are on a diet but tasted okay. Danggit was very good for our breakfast choicd. Love it! They pack in paper boxes for our second day free breakfast since we left early and were presentable. Nice. Bring extra P500 per room for deposit. Love the building architecture and ambiance. Stairs were easy to climb. Love the door decorations. Generator was strong considering airconditioning were still running during 3 hours brownout. Over-all, this is a better mini hotel than our first trip check-in at Islands View Inn. Still got Kuya Joel, our licensed guide to prepare the trip we wanted with buffet food cooked on our boat during our trip. Sobrang sulit. Better to fix your trip directly with Kuya Joel than the hotel because he can fix everything from the transfers, boat, food and safety! Just email me if you want to contact him. He can bring you to Banana Island, Malcapuya and Pass Island with the best beaches with nearby corals. PERFECT!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your gracious and detailed review of Coron Ecolodge! We do our best to pay attention to the details of what our guests need - be it a room to change in, fresh towels, a clean room to return to at the end of an enjoyable but tiring day or helping you purchase "pasalubong" so you don't have to do it yourself. With regards to email responses and bank deposits, our apologies if there is any perception of delay or lack of concern. We make every effort to respond to our guests' inquiries and follow up concerns as soon as possible. As in your case, we even took the time to discuss with you on the phone some of your concerns/questions to make sure that everything is clear. As an added note, we are pleased to announce that Coron Ecolodge is currently introducing a new and exciting menu for the Lobby Cafe. We hope that you will come back soon to enjoy this. Kindly note as well that guests have the option to book just our accommodations or the accommodations with tours as provided by our tour partners. Either way, guests can be assured that they will get the same personalized and efficient service from Coron Ecolodge and its partners. We're glad you had an enjoyable vacation. We look forward to having you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I would normally only give five stars to exceptional accommodation, but given that my wife and I were stranded here for five nights, including during one of the most devastating typhoons in history, Haiyan/Yolanda, which passed directly over Coron and we were looked after so well in these comfortable and affordable rooms, I don’t think it would be fair to rate Ecolodge lower….
The lodge is only about a year old and is a simple and elegant design. It withstood the typhoon’s fury with only minor damage to the roof due to falling trees on two sides. The large glass windows and doors which provided a pleasant ambience remained intact. The tree damage led to some minor flooding which the staff quickly attacked and all but two rooms were fine the morning after. Fortunately, the hotel generator continued to function and life resumed a certainly normality. We were also fortunate that a senior employee of Globe Telecommunications was staying with us as the rival Smart network was down after the typhoon and she kindly provided a Wi-Fi service, which attracted many tourists to our hotel. Although we had been previously advised to buy Smart sim cards, our experience overall, favoured Globe in Palawan.
The staff of Ecolodge were very pleasant and helpful during our stay at Ecolodge and did their best to make our stay enjoyable under trying circumstances. Breakfast and hot snacks were available but were simple affairs, OK but we preferred to eat elsewhere for the most part.
Overall Ecolodge is excellent value for money for the price. It is a convenient short walk from the town centre and the boats and has shown it can withstand a super typhoon!

Room Tip: We had a room close to reception and although the generator noise was noticeable, it did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you sir for your gracious rating and review of our hotel. We strive to give all our guests a pleasant experience of Coron Ecolodge through personalized, efficient and sincere service. We are glad that even the fury of Typhoon Haiyan could not impede or dampen the efforts of our staff to extend to you that service. Thank you for your patience, understanding and cooperation when we had to deal with the storm damage, and the inconveniences it caused. As for the food, you would be pleased to know that Coron Ecolodge is currently introducing a new and exciting menu at its Lobby Cafe. We continue to find ways to improve in serving you our valued guests and we are truly grateful when you take the time to give us positive feedback such as these. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Coron Ecolodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We can't recommend this hotel enough. We arrived two days before Typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda) hit Coron, and we were stranded on the island (at this hotel) for about a week in total. The hotel's staff were absolutely fantastic. While the rest of the island didn't have electricity and running water, we had both - the hotel has a back up generator and a well. Despite what had happened on the island we were always, always greeted with smiles and friendly interactions. The customer service was head and shoulders above most of the higher starred hotels we've stayed in while travelling, we can't rate the staff highly enough! We felt as safe as we could have hoped to during a category 5 typhoon, the staff ensured customer's safety was paramount.

On arrival at the airport in Coron, we hadn't booked an airport pick up, but there was an air conditioned people carrier waiting for us, with our names on a board!

We would like to thank all the staff at the hotel from the bottom of our hearts for looking after us so well during such a difficult time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor nearer reception can get a little noisier at night/early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank junglebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
In behalf of the Coron Ecolodge team, you're very welcome! You had entrusted us with your trip by booking your accommodations with us. We can do no less than to endeavor to honor that trust with the kind of service we give you. We are only thankful that we had the capacity to ensure yours and our other guests' safety and comfort given such circumstances. Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation. We hope that you would return to experience Coron with all its natural wonders and beauty in much better weather conditions. And when you do, we hope you will stay with us once again. It was a pleasure and a privilege to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have been to Coron twice and together with the family we went back for the third time. Sad that we were not able to get accomodations with the former hotel near the market, my tourist guide informed me that we will be billeted at Coron Eco-lodge. So, upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised that the lodging hotel is well located within walking distance to the town center....15 minutes walk to the market, near restaurants and service salons. Tucked in a quiet corner in one of the side streets, Coron Eco-lodge emitted privacy and an air of class away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets where tourists abound from all over the world. The staff were friendly and accommodating and our small requests were easily granted. Additional towels, additional pillows and those small things made our stay more pleasant. The room size was sufficient enough for 3 and even the rooms have wooden carvings that projects the Palawan culture. Our rooms were locate at the end and it was relatively quiet. We can even hang our wet things in a small yard at the back. For travelers like us that go island hopping these small amenities count a lot.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor and at the end are better for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMI4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review of Coron Ecolodge! Yes, we agree with you that the small things mean a lot. They in fact spell the difference between a good vacation and a great one. So in Coron Ecolodge, we do try to accommodate and assist you with your requests as much as we are able. Thank you for noting our staff's efforts. We're glad you had an enjoyable vacation and do hope you'll come back and tell your friends about us as well. God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The reason why I chose this accommodation in the first place is because of the good reviews and I never regret listening to those who have experienced it first hand. The alert staff were highly trained to make their guest feel at home and welcome. Welcome drink was given. Room was cleaned and offered enough the basic needs anyway, we're there to tour not to relax on the room but it exceeded my expectations. We were able to rest and relax on the room. Though, I can't blame the hotel for having some few noises outside (town proper having march band in the streets, the hotel #2 construction in the front but it did stop at 8pm) probably to let tourist sleep when they are about to.

The breakfast meal is just enough to keep you going and the DANGIT was so yummy that I even asked the receptionist where to buy it. She even offered for help! She arranged the pasalubong (I dont have to buy it myself in the market) which is awesome! I forgot who's the receptionist but was very very helpful.

They (receptionist) would even offer for umbrella if you are about to go, flashlights when you are up early for a walk (Mt. Tapyas) and always greet you along the hallway. They are all good looking people too. (Management know how to choose staff).

Overall the trip, the hotel, the vibe was all nice. Considering the town is laid back. I love it there. Amazing experience!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lobby ground floor to get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsAmpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your gracious and detailed review of our hotel! Our staff has been trained to assist you in your needs and we are happy to hear that you have felt and experienced that effort from them. You would be pleased to know that a new and exciting menu is already slowly being implemented in Coron Ecolodge. Also, as a response to the growing demand for more rooms, Coron Ecolodge's sister hotel, Casa Coron has now been completed. We hope to officially open its doors by February of this year. Casa Coron will have 8 rooms, which has bigger dimensions to accommodate bigger groups. As we expand, we assure you we will continue to give you our guests the same personalized, sincere and efficient service that you have come to expect from Coron Ecolodge and soon, Casa Coron as well. God bless and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.9 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#13 of 20 in Coron
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
0.5 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa Coron Hotel
Casa Coron Hotel
#11 of 20 in Coron
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Ecolodge

Property: Coron Ecolodge
Address: Calle Real | Poblacion 2, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coron Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coron Ecolodge! This modestly designed boutique hotel located along the quiet street of Calle Real is a welcome surprise for many of its guests. From its creamy interiors, wooden accents, a glass panelled lobby that allows the natural light to bask the interiors in a golden glow, down to the colourful wooden accents of the trademark geckos and stingrays crafted by local artisans …everything about Coron Ecolodge speaks of an attention to detail that takes their guests’ comfort and needs in mind. Everything you need in town from the local municipality, banks, laundry, bakery, a handicraft store and even a small parlor and spa, are just a short walk away.Each of only 21 simple but well-designed 15 square meter air-conditioned rooms has 2 standard double beds, wooden clothes cabinet, Cable TV, private bath with hot and cold shower and 2 towels which are replenished daily upon guests’ request. A generator and deep well is on hand to serve as back-up 24-7. The Calle Real Bistro provides Wi-Fi free of charge and unlimited coffee to its guests.But perhaps what makes Coron Ecolodge stand out more than anything else is the exemplary customer service. From arrival to departure, our staff eagerly and sincerely extends assistance to the guests for a myriad number of requests-from tour coordination, bookings and inquiries, planning for a special occasion (even a marriage proposal), advise on where to go or where to eat, care when you’re feeling under the weather, getting your clothes to a laundry shop, even purchasing the requisite pasalubong of lamayo for which Palawan is known for, nothing is too small to help guests with. And they do it all with a smile! Because at Coron Ecolodge…it truly is a pleasure to be of service.No wonder Trip Advisor ranks Coron Ecolodge best value-for-money hotel in town. Just 2 years old, Coron Ecolodge has proven to be a popular draw for budget yet value-conscious and savvy travelers. And the good news is, its sister establishment, Casa is opening very soon to meet the demand for quality rooms and service at an affordable price. Come to Coron Ecolodge. And experience what it’s like to be truly made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Coron Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Ecolodge Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing