We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, central location, but don't forget to ask for your change!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coron Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coron Ecolodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, central location, but don't forget to ask for your change!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this apartment for 7 nights, but decided to only stay one. This was through no fault of the hotel but rather we wanted a more comfortable / relaxing environment after diving. As this was prepaid, we decided to keep the room as a base in town and moved to Sophia's Garden for the rest of the duration.

To be fair, we should have informed the hotel of this, but as they keep the key at reception (you are not allowed to take it with you) and we had already paid, so we didn't.

The main issues occurred when we attempted to check out a few days early. As we hadn't been back for a few days, our room was gone and they refused to give us our deposit back. Their excuse was that "it went towards our bill", which had already been paid - in full and upfront.

They said to come back the following day. Again the shop front manager refused to refund us the deposit. Now they tell us we should have let them know we were not there, and that's why we wouldn't get our deposit back - we informed them it was our business whether we come or go and they were being ridculous. We stood firm and told them to stoping making excuses, as our stay was paid for upfront.

The shop front manager called the operation manager, a lady, and handed me the phone. I could not hear her very well on the mobile line, but we explained the whole story again. It wasn't until I threatened to call them thieves on travel advisor that after a third visit they refunded the deposit. (All 7 nights were paid for and we were not asking for this, only the security deposit of 500 peso; it was our decision not to stay)

By the third visit to get the deposit I was worried they were going to call in people, so I went alone. They didn't, I got my security deposit and an appology for the misunderstanding. We were annoyed at how they continued to make excuses refund our deposit and wasted our time.

The Good:
Location, clean and affordable.

The Bad ( I don't trust these guys):
- on the first day we did stay there, I ordered one beer and gave the girl 500 pesos. After 10 minutes I had to ask for my change. It took another 5 minutes for it come back.
- We were told the security deposit went towards our bill, which was already prepaid for.

Simply put, the hotel was presented as advertised, but staff left us feeling very uncomfortable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke and Othell... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding our hotel’s cancellation and refund policies and procedures. As you had taken the liberty of sharing your side, we hope that you would understand that in the interest of fairness and accuracy, we shall also allow ourselves the liberty to respond to each point you made.

First, may we just say that we agree with you completely on your perception that if your booking had been paid in full, then management should no longer have any reason to hold on to your security deposit. We appreciate also that you acknowledged that it was your decision to stay elsewhere through “no fault of the hotel”, and that you recognized it was only fair (and may we add, an act of courtesy as well) to have informed us of that same decision. You have however, decided not to do so.

The primary issue that you reiterate throughout your review is that because your booking has been paid in full, (“prepaid, paid for upfront” ), you now have the liberty to decide whether you will use it or not. You had in fact stated that you did not expect to be refunded the amount you paid for the booking, but only the security deposit. And again you are right.

Our standard cancellation policy details that should you cancel your booking less than 7 days before the actual day/date, you will be accountable for 100% or the full cost of the booking. This is because it would already be too late for the hotel to re-book those rooms that had been set aside for you. This policy is detailed in the confirmation voucher emailed to you immediately upon receipt of your reservation payment.

Our standard procedures also require that you pay for your booking in full upon check in. On the day you checked in, you were reminded of this and in response, you asked if the hotel accepted card payments. Our staff answered in the affirmative. You then asked if you can just settle your bill at the end of your stay so that whatever other charges you may incur during that time could be included. Our front desk officer accommodated your request. Your actual payment sir, was the reservation payment you made online when you first booked the room. It is only 32% of the total bill. Even with the Php 500 security deposit you gave, this does not constitute even half of the total bill. Even then, the staff counted this amount as sufficient penalty for your late notice. You were actually no longer charged the 68% balance of your bill. Hence their refusal to refund you the security deposit. No one was making excuses sir. They were simply following the guidelines of the cancellation policy.

Your insistence that you had paid in full was also given consideration. You were asked to return the next day because the office in charge of the online system which has records of all payments was already closed. The next day it was determined that there was no further payment on record from your end. We had asked you for the reference number of your transaction so we can validate your claim but you could not provide any. Pardon us sir, if we simply could not just take your word for it.

You were asked to return a 2nd time, and this was the last time you returned (there was no 3rd time as you claimed), so that our operations manager could have the time to make one last attempt to verify/validate your claim of full payment online. There truly was none. In spite that, as a gesture of goodwill, she decided to give you back your security deposit, at a further loss to us.

You see sir, contrary to your claims, there was no attempt to waste your time, make excuses or in any way make your experience with Coron Eco Lodge unpleasant for you.

Our staff has always gone out of their way to accommodate and assist our clients. It would have served us no purpose to have given you a hard time and is counter to everything we stand for, which is best value for money facilities with great service. We would have loved to have refunded you that security deposit right away, HAD YOU ONLY PAID IN FULL AND HAD YOU GIVEN DUE NOTICE. Our staff could not have gone against policy, otherwise, they would have been remiss in their duties.

Our records show that your reservation payment was made through our website, managed by Subicom, not Agoda as you said. Extranet, the online system that tracks all transactions online, including that of Agoda’s for our hotel, shows that your transaction was made through Subicom and that there was no other transaction under your name, or that of your companion’s in Agoda either.

Finally, you mentioned an incident in our restaurant where you paid for a beer with a large bill and experienced a delay in getting your change back. We have since learned that the reason for that was that there was a big group booking in the restaurant that day, and unfortunately, only one attendant at that time to attend to everyone’s requests. That is why it took him awhile to get your change back to you. Please be assured there was never any attempt to hold on to your change permanently. Our staff may be simple people sir, but they are honest, hardworking men and women. It is regrettable that you felt it necessary to cast doubt on their characters simply because your change was delayed. And that you felt it fair to air those same suspicions in a public forum such as this. Because of this, we felt compelled to defend not just their honor, but the integrity of our business as well.

Having said all these, please allow us to end by extending our well wishes to you. We wish you only the best. We hope that when you next visit our country, you will experience not just the many beautiful places our islands have to offer, but the warmth and kindness of our people as well. God bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    112
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
84
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We LOVE everything about this place. It's small but has modern interiors. The owner and the whole staff are very welcoming and accommodating. We also love how they allowed us to check in early. Breakfast was also nice but we hope they could add more options to the menu like chocolate porridge (champorado). It is also very accessible to the town proper. Overall, this place is worth your money and stay in Coron, Palawan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikaikyut14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. You'd be pleased to know that we are already in the process of improving our breakfast menu and we hope that the next time you visit us, these improvement and changes will already be in place. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Coron and it was a very happy experience. In spite of the rain and the typhoon, we still had that "amazing Coron" experience. The Coron ecolodge staff were very accommodating, attentive, respectful and caring to our needs. They were also very honest. We left our camera bag in the lobby and one of the staff followed us to the restaurant to bring it. That was very much appreciated. Coron ecolodge arranged for our tours and that was the highlight of our stay. Our tour guides were just as attentive, respectful and caring. Will stay in the same hotel when we have the chance to visit Coron for the second time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenemarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We aim to please and are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our Coron Eco Lodge staff are trained and is committed to serve you with excellence, passion and integrity. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in Coron Eco Lodge sometime, hopefully in the near future. Meantime, our best to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was clean and functional,breakfast was included which is pretty basic but perfectly acceptable.
Staff were friendly and the location is good (although it's hard to get a bad location in coron because the place is so small). One recommendation for the lodge is to have wifi throughout the rooms, in this day and age it's pretty expected (there isn't really anywhere to plug your laptop in the reception, and it's not air-conditioned)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks_explorer_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Coron Eco Lodge sir. We will definitely take note of your suggestion. Please be assured that we are constantly looking for ways to improve and enhance our services and facilities for you, our valued guests. We hope to see you again next time in Coron Eco Lodge. All the best to you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The staff was very warm and accommodating specially liezel, raymart and angie. The location is very accessible and we have no problem getting a trike to go around. They have a generator that can power a/c and hot shower. Overall, i would stay here again if i go back to coron.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilia Margarita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva P, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a very positive review of Coron Eco Lodge. We were so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have served you and do look forward to your next visit. If you wish to give us more feedback on how else we can serve you better, do feel free to write us through coron.ecolodge.cs@gmail.com. Thank you again and all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I found Eco Lodge very affordable for a really cozy place. It doesn't offer you a seaview or any overlooking scenes but its proximity to a lot of stalls and restaurants around the place makes it a convenient place for you to stay.
The room we had was very clean and comfortable, the furniture and other equipment are at its best condition, which included the air conditioning unit, television set, and a hot and cold shower.
Other services included a free breakfast and what amazed me was the 24 hour unlimited coffee for free. Incredibly good for a coffee lover like me.
All of these are valued at P1898. On top of that is the excellent service they offer which every guest would always appreciate. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Also, they could help you arrange tours and transportation, which makes it even more convenient. No doubt, Eco Lodge is a strong preference for a place to stay in Coron.
For good quality pictures, you may follow this link to my blog
http://whenincoron.blogspot.com/2013/07/coron-eco-lodge.html

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear part :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you the detailed and gracious review of our hotel. Our staff was only too glad to extend whatever service and help was needed to help make your stay an enjoyable and unforgettable one. Thank you as well for the pictures you posted. We hope to see you again sometime soon in Coron Eco Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a 3nights. First impressions not so good as we been waiting for 30min.by d reception and no one even notice us. Every day they switch off electricity for 4hours as apparently they been running on generator. After trip to hot spring we wanted to have a shower but to our surprise there was not running water that night. Toilet was disgusting and unclean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sovavelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we truly apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay in the hotel. Your long wait when you were in the van outside during that rainy day was unintentional for the van came unnoticed because it was not parked in front of the hotel door but was instead parked where it was partly hidden by the hotel's signage. And at that time, the front desk was attending to a checking out guest.

On that very day, the town's electricity has been intermittent due to the bad weather and our standby generator that provides backup has been running for 24 hours and it needed to take a break for 2 hours which unfortunately was timed when you were in your room.

The water pump motor also got affected by the intermittent power outage that it also began to act up at that time. Fortunately, everything is well now after the inclement weather had passed.

We do hope that this ill-timed misfortune of incidents does not keep you from reconsidering our hotel the next time you visit Coron. Again, our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.9 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Coron Hotel
Casa Coron Hotel
#11 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Ecolodge

Property: Coron Ecolodge
Address: Calle Real | Poblacion 2, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coron Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coron Ecolodge! This modestly designed boutique hotel located along the quiet street of Calle Real is a welcome surprise for many of its guests. From its creamy interiors, wooden accents, a glass panelled lobby that allows the natural light to bask the interiors in a golden glow, down to the colourful wooden accents of the trademark geckos and stingrays crafted by local artisans …everything about Coron Ecolodge speaks of an attention to detail that takes their guests’ comfort and needs in mind. Everything you need in town from the local municipality, banks, laundry, bakery, a handicraft store and even a small parlor and spa, are just a short walk away.Each of only 21 simple but well-designed 15 square meter air-conditioned rooms has 2 standard double beds, wooden clothes cabinet, Cable TV, private bath with hot and cold shower and 2 towels which are replenished daily upon guests’ request. A generator and deep well is on hand to serve as back-up 24-7. The Calle Real Bistro provides Wi-Fi free of charge and unlimited coffee to its guests.But perhaps what makes Coron Ecolodge stand out more than anything else is the exemplary customer service. From arrival to departure, our staff eagerly and sincerely extends assistance to the guests for a myriad number of requests-from tour coordination, bookings and inquiries, planning for a special occasion (even a marriage proposal), advise on where to go or where to eat, care when you’re feeling under the weather, getting your clothes to a laundry shop, even purchasing the requisite pasalubong of lamayo for which Palawan is known for, nothing is too small to help guests with. And they do it all with a smile! Because at Coron Ecolodge…it truly is a pleasure to be of service.No wonder Trip Advisor ranks Coron Ecolodge best value-for-money hotel in town. Just 2 years old, Coron Ecolodge has proven to be a popular draw for budget yet value-conscious and savvy travelers. And the good news is, its sister establishment, Casa is opening very soon to meet the demand for quality rooms and service at an affordable price. Come to Coron Ecolodge. And experience what it’s like to be truly made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Coron Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Ecolodge Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing