We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little budget gem in Coron”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coron Backpacker Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked a room here a few days ahead of time and unfortunately I didn't make it on the date I'd said. I received an email from them asking if I was still coming. I rebooked for two days later without any problem. They were very friendly and accomodating, and I felt that the room was a good value for the money. The only complaint I'd have is the noise from neighbors which starts very early in the morning. That being said, it's not out of the norm for the location. All part of the travel experience!

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the front are less noisy in the early morning, but I'm not entirely sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spatrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with a couple of friends. Great staff --super friendly and accommodating, but the place itself was just okay. Clean and comfortable rooms, clean and working toilets and shower, decent kitchen, and nice hang out area, but don't expect to get much sleep. The pillows could be a little softer and the unsolicited wake up call made by the neighbors and their pet bird so early in the morning can be really annoying. The place also has a subtle, not so pleasant, damp smell (the hostel having been built on stilts on what probably used to be a nice shoreline) that may be uncomfortable to people who are really sensitive to smells. I hope that in the future, the hostel could work with the neighbors to clean up the surrounding area a little bit, to get rid of the smell and also help the environment.

Anyway, if you're just visiting Coron for on a really tight budget and aren't prissy, this would be a very good option. The rooms rates are really cheap and you can cook your own meals to save even more money. The hang out area also makes it really easy to meet other guests, so you could maybe even plan out and split costs when it comes to the tours you want to do.

Room Tip: Room 6 has good lighting. Room 9 is okay, not too hot, but the direct neighbors are really noisy, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Tj was an excellent and welcoming host, with lots of knowledge and ideas of what to do in Coron. Stayed a total of 4 nights. Coron has brownouts everyday, and TJ was always there to ask if you're ok or to light candles. Nice accommodation, clean and comfortable beds. Only complaint was being woken up by a bird at 6am (but this is typical of the phillipeans). In a local area, and traditional style house. There is no generator here so its best to get out and about during the days there are brownouts. Only wish I cold have stayed longer, getting a reservation is a bit difficult due to the popularity!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amywu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Coron Backpackers for 3 nights. For 500 pesos a night you can't expect luxuries but we still feel the place falls short in certain areas. In some respects being amongst the locals is what travelling is all about, and they are really friendly. The problem is that the walls throughout the guesthouse are paper thin. The guest in the room next to us had a dry cough that we could hear all night as if she was in the room with us and at 7am every morning the locals (and their various birds!) are in full swing - there's no sleeping in here. On the last night we were even asked to turn the volume on our laptop down at 10pm by a neighbouring guest because the walls are so thin.

There is a slight smell of farty mud throughout as the guesthouse is on stilts above what is best described as a tidal swamp! On the plus side its a great place for meeting people (the guesthouse rather than the swamp) as the communal areas are good. A nice sized table and a kitchen with basic facilities, plus a fridge with a space for each room.

The final straw however, that lead to us leaving prematurely was the arrival of a family of 6 noisy Americans and their screaming babies. At 7am every morning they made their presence well know by calling across the guesthouse to each other and yelling at their children with a typical transatlantic disregard for their neighbours. I couldn't even hear the neighbour's cockerel! Now, I realise this is not the fault of the guesthouse, but feel it is entirely inappropriate to accept family bookings with babies in a place with the word "Backpacker" in the title. These places gear themselves up for a certain demographic and should be mindful of this when taking bookings.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice English guy runs this hostel. While coron is only ok if you are here and looking for clean budget rooms with seriously friendly staff. Go here.
Nice hangout area as well. Rooms are only 380 peso. Great value

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pintofmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My cousin and I spent 5 days 4 nights at the guesthouse. The backpacker's set up provides an avenue for you to hang out with people of different cultures and its a great place for you to meet new friends. Its homey and laid back and most importantly affordable --with a lot of freebies too i.e. coffee, water and free use of kitchen which is very helpful if your're working on a budget because the food in Coron is quite expensive. Its best if you cook your food yourself.. Moreover, it is located at the heart of Coron and most of the establishments are just stone's throw away from the guesthouse. We will definitely go back at Coron Backpackers!

Room Tip: Get a room with a window and bring mosquito repellant too, just in case Coron's electricity will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yojiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent here three nights and would have stayed for many more if we'd been wise enough to book the room in advance. Very good value for price, accommodating staff, free drinking water and possibility to use kitchen were definite musts during our stay in Coron town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuuspa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#8 of 20 in Coron
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#3 of 38 in Coron
138 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fat Monkey Hostel
Fat Monkey Hostel
#8 of 38 in Coron
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Guesthouse
Seahorse Guesthouse
#4 of 38 in Coron
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lagrosa Backpackers
Lagrosa Backpackers
#30 of 38 in Coron
40 reviews
0 mi away
Joval Homestay
Joval Homestay
#28 of 38 in Coron
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Backpacker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Backpacker Guesthouse

Address: Coron-Busuanga Road, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range: $51 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coron backpacker Guesthouse is a newly open guesthouse. affordable clean and cozy, with a large kitchen and big livingroom. We try to give you the best value in town, or just the best value anywhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coron Backpacker Guesthouse Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing