We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a hidden gem for Coron tourists, off the usual island tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Park

Kingfisher Park
Ranked #23 of 44 things to do in Coron
Attraction details
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely a hidden gem for Coron tourists, off the usual island tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

So I went back to Coron on November 2013. My first time was in 2011.

On our first day, my friend and I had the time to ourselves. We had an open schedule and got bored. So I searched Trip Advisor for other things to do in Coron, aside from the island tours. Since we arrived in Coron at about 10am already, we cannot join in any island tour already, which starts at about 8-9am.

So anyway, we found Kingfisher as recommended by another Trip Advisor guest. We wasted no time in calling Kingfisher since there isn't much information about this place on the Net. To cut the long story short, yes, you can go to Kingfisher just like that. What you have to do is 1. call Kingfisher to confirm if they are open on that day and if they can accommodate you on their tours 2. Rent a trike or van that can take you to the place. A roundtrip trike service would cost you about PHP 700 to PHP 1000. This is for the whole trike already, not per pax. A Coron trike could fit about 5 passengers, excluding the driver. The travel time takes about 40-50 minutes. The road to the place is paved, except for the last part wherein the roads are still not cemented and you will be passing the middle of the farm.

What do you do in the place? The place is actually a sea and you could kayak (for about 1.5 hours roundtrip) in the mangroves. The place is very peaceful and we were very fortunate to have the place to ourselves. It was just us. The kayak rental is about PHP 400 per pax. Very interesting kayak around the mangroves with all the lush greenery and you could hear different birds chirping. It was quite an arm exercise I must say.

I would love to go back to this place to try trekking and firefly watching. Just be sure to bring your mosquito repellant.

Yes, this place is worth visiting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank CookieMonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“mountain biking to kingfisher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice place to visit riding a mountain bike for active guest to kingfisher. approximately 15 km from town proper coron. pasing by coron airport intersection. Rented a bike at payong bike rental for P500 a day. Kayaking cost p400 pax. Also bike to maquinit salt hot spring around 6 km from coron .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We'll be back! A very underrated place but well worth visiting again. The weather wasn't very good but the beauty of the place still overwhelmed us. Still was worth seeing and experiencing even on a mostly cloudy day for its immensity and otherworldliness.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank katya_062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Private beach house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our trip to Kingfisher Park was not planned at all, but thanks to the internet and quick replies from the contact person at Kingfisher (you can just text them to arrange a trip), we were able to book a trip in the afternoon, the day before we were set to leave Coron.

Totally unprepared, I ended up without a change of clothes and panicking that the kayak would turn over all of a sudden and leave all our gadgets soaked. Thank God the wind & sea were cooperative and we were able to kayak to the beach house in the middle of the water just soaked from the waist down with our gadgets still safe.
The rowing was tiring in a major way, but the experience was worth it. If you're not up for doing it though, they could probably arrange transpo for you - just let them know, they were very accommodating.

We had the place to ourselves that day and it was like having dinner at our own private beach house in the middle of the water. And the view? Amazing.
Just take a look at our photos here : http://www.madebylia.com/2012/03/coron-kingfisher-park.html

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A magical place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Difficult to find so need a guide but worth the visit especially in the evening . Suggest have dinner in the restaurant located in the middle of the water, which is reasonably priced, simple fare but OK and return to the shore at night, water transport arranged. The sea comes alive and the fire fly display is awesome (my 16 year old grandsons comment). Kayaking was good around the mangrove forests but be prepared for usual insect bites if walking through the nature trails. Really worth a visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank shamsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Park also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Sangat Island, Coron
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing