We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small ship on shallow waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skeleton Reef

Skeleton Reef
Ranked #15 of 44 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small ship on shallow waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was not that scary as I first imagined. It was nice to go around the ship. Some of my group members saw a family of sting rays. We stayed for a long time and tried fishing. We'll return next year!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the fish, not the wreck if snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We snorkeled there and though we could see the wreck, it was not very impressive, as other reviews have pointed out, it might be better to go and see the wreck if you dive. What was great was the fishes and coral! It was one of our best experience in Coron. The water was crystal clear, and the scenery just amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julievhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“another very good snorkelling spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is NOT a wreck on one the 8 Imperial Japanese navy supply ships that were sunk by a US Navy taskforce in September of 1944. The wreck we were taken to lies meters from the beach on the northwest corner of Coron island and Its stern points directly away from it. The wreck is the keel, ribs and stringers of a steel-hulled boat about 25 meters long. I saw lots of parrot and other species of reef fish while snorkeling around it and at one point a grey sea snake swam by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Accela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Probably good for diving spot but not for snorkelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The water is murky... Maybe because of the recent typhoon in Coron. I wonder why other people was saying that this spot is great for snorkelling? Nevertheless, my rating is still 4 stars. The only thing I liked it here is not because of the ship wrecks (which is supposedly the main attraction) but because of the fishes. If you want to see a lot of fishes, go to Banana Island where you can really see the corals and fishes hiding on it. The ship wrecks is not visible and you really have to dive deeper to see it. Don't believe your boatman if they say that the ship wreck is visible for snorkelling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Titanic Like View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

When I went here last 2010, there were still parts of the WWII shipwreck. But now, its not that pretty anymore so tour guides dont recommend tourist to visit the place and would opt to go to Lusong shipwreck instead.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wreckxki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeleton Reef also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Skeleton Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing