We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love hor spring!”

Maquinit Hot Spring
Ranked #11 of 46 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“i love hor spring!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

"maquinit" means "mainit" in english "hot" there are 3 pools with different temperature the big one is slightly colder among the two elevated pool.. during high tide the pool become infinite over flowing directly to the sea ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank j3v33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    268
    132
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pure bliss”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

One of the few saltwater/freshwater springs in the world, this is definitely a must-go! The water temperature's about 40 degrees, so just ease yourself in the water slowly, as jumping in all at once might overwhelm you. Stay in the water 15-30 minutes at a time. The most ideal time to visit would be at dusk, when the outside temperature is cooler. If you visit on a cold, drizzly day, you could see steam coming off the water! This is the perfect end to a tiring day of island-hopping!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Give your tired muscles a treat!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Maquinit is a simple but excellent place to relax after a long day's activities. There are 3 pools, two with the source and one larger one that is slightly cooler (40 degrees C!) wear slippers or aqua shoes when here and make sure you don't stay in too long without occasional sitting up to cool your body down.

You can drive, ride a tricycle, or take a bangka at high tide to he springs, it's all concreted up in a sympathetic way to the surroundings. There's also a place to barbeque.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachedmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of few saltwater hot springs in the world!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I give this 5 stars for its sheer uniqueness! This is the only saltwater hot spring I've ever been to, and it is a MUST after long days of swimming and eating! The hot water, and the natural "jet streams" from the little waterfalls, is so relaxing. I imagine it would be nice to get a massage while sitting in the water and because of the water's slightly sulfuric content, it also has other therapeutic properties. When you emerge from the water, you feel suddenly invigorated and refreshed.
The view of the mountains across the springs is also gorgeous, especially near sunset. The rocks reflect the colors of the setting sun, and gives off such a warm, beautiful glow. Hiding in the mangroves are also all kinds of creatures, I was lucky to have caught sight of a heron.
Some words of caution: people with any kind of health condition, especially hypertension or other heart problems, are advised to stay submerged for a maximum of 15 minutes at a time. Also, be careful, the rocks have mossy growths that may be slippery, so watch your step!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“dreamy place to visit”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we hire a tricycle to transport and wait for us to the mountain about P350. 15minutes traveling time on a semi-rough road. there is an entrance fee of P150/head.

the spring is the only salt water type in asia since it sits beside a sea. they have made a man-made pool where hot water is flowing into it. it is hot literally.

after dipping ourselves in a sulfur/salt/water, we expected to have taken a bath in their bathroom. the guard said that they've run out of water. what? at that time i don't want to argue. we just went back to our hotel wet and cold.

the place is beautiful, no doubt about it. our experience could have been better if we have used their bathroom and rinse all the salt and sulfur in us.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maquinit Hot Spring also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Maquinit Hot Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing