We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarpa flow , Truk lagoon and Coron !”

Sunken Japanese Wrecks
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Scarpa flow , Truk lagoon and Coron !”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Coron is for divers a Mecca ! 18 wrecks in an average of 30 metres is a great diving destination ! The viz is terrible ! Average 5-10 metres but nearer 5 ! On the wrecks not a problem unless you are following silt kickers !! Try and splash first !! Also the first dive we went to 43 metres !!! Not a problem if you are experienced but with little or no briefing , next dive was my fav Kogyo Maru , only 34 metres and huge ship !! Lots of swim throughs , a couple of bulldozers to see as this ship carried Temporary runway materials seen in big rolls in one of the holds !! After the thistlegorm this is the best wreck I have ever dived on

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    107
    36
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive snorkeling”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I did not scuba dived in Coron, only snorkeling but it was good. Holding your breathe longer and you can go deep and swim around the wrecks (best was skeleton wreck, included in coron lake tour). Another wreck is almost above water at low tide so perfect for snorkeling too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Holy cow this was great”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Some of the greatest wreck dives I have ever done! Very easy wrecks to enter and explore. Some wrecks can be seen while snorkeling.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank coopervanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Diving”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Diving was really great, marine and coral life on the wrecks and reefs was terrific. Should be aware that there are some strong currents sometimes on some of the wrecks, but it is definately worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank diver11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I dived two wrecks during our Open Water course with Rock Steady (highly recommended; Thomas is a great instructor!), the Olympia Maru and Morozan Maru. What an experience! As we descended down the line to the Olympia for the first time, I couldn't quite believe I was floating above the deck of a Japanese ship. It was amazing. Lots of coral and fish life made the experience amazing. Having never dived a wreck before, I can't comment on the visibility or variety of the life there, but as a newbie I was blown away.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunken Japanese Wrecks also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Sunken Japanese Wrecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing