We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOTS of stairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Tapyas

Mt Tapyas
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“LOTS of stairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The view was very nice, but we had underestimated what 800 stairs would be like. The steps are quite steep and being a smoker I had to stop several times on the way up. The view was lovely at the top though so it was worth it. There is a lady at the bottom who sells drinks (at an inflated price), but make sure you fill up on water before you go. No one selling anything at the top so ration your water! The descend is much easier though :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    233
    55
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Morning Sweat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Climbed the +/- 750 steps towards the top of Mt. Tapyas. While the whole place is dilapidated, it was still worth the climb. I had a good morning exercise and upon reaching the top, you can have a very good view of the whole town and its outlying islands. The view behind is better. More green and cleaner than the view of Coron Town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank phytogerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“If you're up for a 725 steps up a mountain, don't miss the breathtaking view of the surrounding small islands.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went up Mt Tapyas the same day we arrive to Busuanga Coron. We were sweating walking up the 725 steps. Some of us didn't climb up and waited below. My two five year old boys went up and didn't seem to care that its 725 steps. The view is spectacular and this is another good way to experience Coron, aside from being in an outrigger boat/banka island hopping. There's cold water sold at the bottom, we needed it - we bought one to share among 4 of us. Along the way, you'll see some trees and waiting shed damaged unfortunately from the recent big typhoon. On top is a lookout that allows you to see close to 360 degrees and also see the small Busuanga city below.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaidzExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“700+ steps, be ready.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is still an experience, climbing 700++ steps is hard, don't worry as there are rest stops. Just enjoy the view. When we went here we weren't able to enjoy the sunset but got another experience which was to enjoy the rain and see the clouds coming at us, giving this very scary winds in which we still enjoyed.

The cross however was destroyed by the typhoon, and I hope they can remake it again. :)
Please note to at least bring water, in which you can buy it before going up and would not cost you that much. :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mayigarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The cross was destroyed by Yolanda”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I think it is fun to climb with friends where you can laugh at how sweaty you are. We climbed around 9am so there was no sunrise nor sunset to make it special, but still there was a sense of fulfillment reaching the top and seeing the view. However, the cross which we see in photos was destroyed by Yolanda so that is 1 less photo spot in Coron.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Tapyas also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Mt Tapyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing