We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the hike”
Review of Mt Tapyas

Mt Tapyas
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Yes, it is a lot of stairs to the top. There are plenty of benches for resting on the way, though, and getting up to see the sunset is completely worth the effort. I spent a week in the Philippines on my last trip, and all my best pictures were looking out from Mt. Tapyas at sunset.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SelfTitled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    239
    57
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT EXERCISE...NICE VIEW”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our first destination right after arriving in Coron. You have to climb 724 steps to reach the giant cross. Best time to go up (I guess) is when the sun is about to set so it won't be that hot and you will be treated to a wonderful sunset view. Climbed with my husband and my daughters aged 11 and 16.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
418 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“A Scenic View of Coron Island and Bay”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Mt. Tapyas is a major landmark in the island of Coron. Once you set foot on the island from an hour drive from the airport, the tour guide will bring all the tourists to this destination. Mt. Tapyas is a a few hundred of steps up with many resting stops in between. As one climbs up, the view changes and becomes more scenic as you reach the top. The best time is at sunset to see the magnificent changing colors of the sky from orange, shocking red, yellow, violet...a kaleidoscope of colors and views. For the nature lover, it assaults the senses.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMI4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Better be in good health condition!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

When we learned that we need to climb 724 steps, we almost backed out. It is a good thing that we went there on a cloudy day and late afternoon. Bring water! The climb is well worth it. You will see from above the entire island and the surrounding islands.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Heaven view”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I climb to the top for the 2nd time around. The effort is really breathtaking and it feels like you 're in heaven. The view is spectacular you can see the whole Coron and other islands. Nice view of sunset!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ygyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Tapyas also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Mt Tapyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing