We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good photos”
Review of Mt Tapyas

Mt Tapyas
Ranked #9 of 46 things to do in Coron
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good photos”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I like the photos we had here....the giant cross, mountain side views, sea/ocean views

I dislike the very long hike...but worth it when you reach the top.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zej26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    255
    61
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Climb to Mt. Tapyas”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Woke up before 5am so we could squeeze a side trip to Mt. Tapyas to catch the sunrise before we started the island-hopping tour. It's 724 steps up for an average 30-minute climb. No entrance fee. There were landing spots for resting, but it still was a heart-pumping climb all the way up. The view of the islands, sea and the pier was worth it. The best time to climb would be at sunrise or sunset to avoid the heat which can make your climb more challenging and also known as the golden hours to photo buffs who want to capture the great view and light. The climb will definitely wake up all your leg muscles so be ready to have some soreness though I didn't mind. Bring bottled water and some sweet candy to keep you going.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Stretch your legs!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Get ready for 720+ steps to ascend the Crucifix on top of Mt. Tapyas! You need a bottle of water going up. Then buy liniment or salonpas before you get back to the hotel. After 2 days, my calf muscles still ached.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babut_Bacena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny philippines
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“what a climb! great view!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

warning: this is really a long hike uphill. a total of 700+ steps going up and another 700+ steps going down again. It will only take about 30 mins on average to climb. But the climb is worth it. You'll have great views of the Coron island and the surrounding islands on top of the mountain. I suggest you bring water going there to quench your thirst as this is a work out. Also, the best time to go is during sunset! Not for kids or oldies since they might have trouble climbing it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“going up the cross..”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

To be able to go to the view deck of Mt. Tapyas, one should take the course of climbing its 724 steps up. We decided to go there before the sun rises. The climb is worth it. You can see the view of Coron town at the top and some of the islands nearby. It was a refreshing climb. I wonder how it is if you go up there before the sun sets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank i-am-shelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Tapyas also viewed

Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 
Coron, Busuanga Island
Coron, Busuanga Island
 

Been to Mt Tapyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing