We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
32
17
16
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
17
16
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopno hot waterboat tripdive sitesmosquito netceiling fantaking into accountprivate vanla sirenettavillaphilippinesislandjellyfish
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 79 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2016

There are good things about this resort so lets start with those:
The rooms are large, airy and comfortable. The bed is firm (foam matress on a solid base), and given its location, its very peaceful. Its an hour+ from Busuanga airport, and we were charged 2500PHP for the van each way. This was large enough for 2 families with 4 divers and 3 children.The food is tasty and there is a pretty good selection.
The diving is well run and efficient - with knowledgable divemasters and guides, together with Gunther, making this side of the operation run very well.
Overall, the staff do their best.
Ok, now the downsides:
Maybe this is a bit too quiet - there are no advertised activities, other than the diving - no trips listed, no one saying let me call you a trike to take you there, so do your research beforehand to know where to ask to go (as there are plenty of great sandy 'desert' islands etc within a 30min boat trip). Don't expect pool service - you'll have to walk up the 30 or so stairs to the restaurant and hopefully find someone to ask for drinks - mealtimes this is ok, but outside of this be prepared to wait...Ah, the pool - its fed from the sea so is salt water - which is fine and is done in many other places, however, despite it looking clean in many resort pictures no one skimmed the leaves (well, I did in the end), and no one had de-slimed the pool bottom in quite a while - again, I did to stop the kids slipping too much. There is NO beach (despite suggestive pictures on the resort website so leave the kids buckets and spades at home).
Whilst the food is good it is generally overpriced for the area; this certainly applies to fruit juices and drinks in general. Expect to be running at ~4000PHP/day for 2 adults and 1 child for 3 meals and a few drinks. This is about twice to three times what you'll pay a short trike ride away in Concepion where there are 3 restaurants, who are attentive. Food is cooked to order which means you may have to wait, and wait, and wait - sometimes we waited an hour. The bill runs for a day and we found several errors both in addition on the total and what we have had delivered (ordered but had never shown up).
Diving, whilst well organised, is maybe a bit too mechanical for experienced divers - we made it clear we had dived the wrecks before but still got the standard tours - zoom zoom and no real time to stop and explore.
Don't expect wifi of any real useable quality, nor expect any phone coverage except for the bush just outside reception where you may be lucky! So, be prepared to clear your bill in cash upon departure - oh yes, the nearest cash machines are in Coron town, 2500PHP and an hour away, or try to get paypal to work and don't forget to add 4% 'surcharge' - that is if you can use the resort laptop to add a new device to paypal and receive your authorisation sms......
Overall what this place lacks is senior management - operationally the place is quite well run (rooms cleaned etc etc) but it lacks the attention to service that exists elsewhere in Coron (certainly in the newer hotels in town and other resorts) where they will approach you and ask if there is anything they can get you, any information you'd like etc.
Is this a resort? - no, this is a series of nice rooms attached to a dive centre.......

Room Tip: there are lots of steps here - ask for a room near the restaurant (eg manta) to save climbing ~100steps back to your room
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

A nicely located resort with excellent dive facilities. Rooms are very spacious with great views. Food and drinks are of good quality but very over priced as once you are there you are trapped. The hotel has a pool that resembles a pond with sediment and dead leaves etc. The staff try hard but there seems to be no management and you generally wait 30mins to an hour for food and drinks. Wifi doesn't work and no phone signal. Remember to bring loads of cash as the bill will be more than you expect and they don't take credit card. The diving is excellent and the dive resort staff are really friendly and do a good job. One of the best areas in the world for easy wreck diving however there are better accommodation options around.....

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015

We went to this place due to vicinity of the scuba diving centre. The location is beautiful, the rooms and restaurant well done and mostly clean, lovely views.There is no hot water for showering which was unexpected .
I was overall disappointed. We had pre booked meals, which was a mistake. The food was overall good, but we waited very long. The food once it arrived was often at most lukewarm. We preordered our lunch (what and when to eat in detail) to ensure we have some time between the morning and afternoon dives, but this did not change the fact that we had to wait on average an hour. Asking for quicker preparation etc. did not lead to any change.
We ended up with telling the staff that we are back (at the time we had told them in the morning) and that we would like to eat (what we had ordered in the morning) and that we would like to have it so we can digest before the afternoon dive.
Day after day...
In the end we had a shower, got changed and had a rest which as we learnt was the time for the (simple but good) lunch to be prepared. Same for breakfast and in the evening - long waits.
I am vegetarian which was precooked and reconfirmed on arrival. There was usually not a lot of choice but something decent.
One evening there was NO option of any kind for vegetarian dinner. I asked for fish as an alternative - not an option either. So we had to leave the rest for dinner 5 min with a boat way at AL Fargo.
We ordered a water taxi for a specific time - no one came. We reiterated x2 the need for a water taxi (walking up to reception) then were brought across (approx 45 min later).
There we found: Friendly staff who greeted is with name after being there once, had everything which was on the me nut and we had a lovely evening.
They also had everything we got only occasionally (like: sorry no diet coke today, no coffee (!) today - PERHAPS tomorrow....). Wait-time for water taxi back (0 minutes - the staff was waiting for us.) Hard to belief - this is the cheaper resort of the two!

The conversation with the "manager" was futile.
I have not really come across that type of arrogance that often. It was clear that there is no interest to change anything.
It seemed that the interest or reason the exist for the resort are the weekenders / boaties from Manila having dinner and drinks who seemed to be the true purpose of the place.

I will not come here again even though the scuba diving was amazing - there are much better places to stay around int he bay.
If you come to this resort you have to be aware that there are no inland surroundings (hiking, culture etc.) as such - water is the true (and great) attraction.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Newkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015

This place would be OK, if you knew exactly what you will be getting! We didn't know...

We stayed here for 5 nights recently with our two young boys (one aged 5 and the other 2). We booked though a travel website, paid in advance and that was the end of it.

When we arrived, we were put in a room with no AC, and no hot water. Again, this might be OK for some people, but for us with two young children, this was a nightmare. At no point during our booking, was it made clear that we would end up in a room with no AC or hot water. I would like to add that the water is ice cold, not even room temp. Our boys were crying in the shower each night.

The houses with no AC is not sealed off to the outside, so you get an array of bugs, mosquitos ants, termites, spiders, lizzards etc. All our snacks for the boys were invaded by ants within minutes. This means that you can't even take a drink or leftover food from the restaurant back to the room as anywhere that you will put it, will leave it for the ants who will be over it within seconds.

We learnt that there are some houses with hot water and aircon. Again, this was not clear when we made our booking. Those were full when we were there (obviously), but it should be open and transparent that you will be getting certain things and not what you might think you will get. We were moved to one of the more 'upmarket' houses for two nights (very kindly), and it was what we would have booked and paid for, had we known there would be a difference.

The restaurant is average. The menu is good, but more often than not, they don't have the food available. The first night we arrived, they had no pizzas and no fish!! Throughout the course of our stay, we were often met with this. Ordering became a case of 'What do you have today?" and not even looking at the menu. The remote location also doesn't allow you to venture out to find food elsewhere as this is the only place to eat within miles.

Puerto Del Sol only take cash - again, this is not made clear when you book. Even though our accommodation was paid for in full before our arrival, we had to pay cash for our food and drinks. There is no ATM around, we had to pay 2500 pesos for a van to take us an hour to Coron town to find ant ATM and another 2500 pesos to take us back, just so that we could pay our bill. Fine if you were prepared, but it this is not made clear, it is a costly mistake.

The swimming pool is a disgrace! Upon our arrival it was half empty and filthy. We complained about it - the next morning, the pool was full, but still dirty. Our kids did swim in it, as there is little else to do, but it is not at all what you see in the pictures of this place online. The pool is mostly used for scuba training, and not for sunbathing and swimming.

There are also lots of stairs with rough edges. Not great for small children or older people.

I have to make it clear that this is NOT A BEACH HOLIDAY as there is no beach on site!!! If you want to go to the beach, you would pay in the region of 3000 pesos to take a boat for the day to an island (which is great, we did that twice), but again, an expense that you might not be prepared for.

On the positive side, the views from this place is breathtaking, sunsets and sunrises are great. Each house comes with a small patio (not all of them) with a hammock. Once we put the kids to bed, my husband and I sat and admired the views. The staff here do the best they can with what they have. They are helpful and friendly. The trips we had arranged for us by the hotel were well-organised and enjoyable.

To note, airport pick up and drop off is not free. This again will be 2500 pesos each way. On the website they advertise that they have free wifi - THIS IS NOT THE CASE. There is no wifi at the hotel and no mobile phone reception.

Overall, for us, this was not the right place as we did not get what we were expecting. Having said that, this could be the perfect place for some who do not might the cold showers, ants and often limited menu. The diving here is supposed to be good. If you are prepared to spend the extra money on trips to get away and fill your time - go for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for what you want as some rooms do not have hot water or ac. All the rooms have gorgeous views. No all of them have private patios.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Marishaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a couple of nights.
It is a beautiful place very peaceful. Our little cottage was perfect!
One of the bosses, Mike, was a very interesting man and also very nice to us. He gave us a lot of tips on what to do and where to go on the island. All the staff was very nice and helpful.
We had a great time and recommend it to anyone willing to go to Busuanga!

Stayed: February 2015
1  Thank LLbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews