We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #47 of 65 Coron B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The best hotel location in Coron. The public market is just behind the hotel. This is also the hotel nearest to where the tour bancas dock. Other stores and business establishments are only a corner or two away.
We stayed in a corner room on the top floor. The side view is the sea. The back view is also the sea and other hotels and restaurants which look nice. Fantastic view.
The room was big. The 32 inch TV looked small as it was already far from the bed. Very comfortable bed.
The hotel restaurant servings are ample and filling. Taste is okay. The hotel staff are courteous
. The only bad experience was on day two. I asked the hotel staff at 10:00 a.m. to clean the room as we left the hotel to go around town. Weather was not cooperating and the island hopping tour was cancelled. We went back the hotel at 12:30 p.m. The room was not cleaned. The hotel staff knocked and woke me up at 1:30 as I was taking my afternoon nap.
Overall it is a good hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTraveler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    33
    20
    8
See reviews for
29
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

walking distance to the market place as well as the boat docks. all the rooms were exemptionally big and spacious.. stayed at the bayview presidential suite. excemptional design.. complete kitchen equipment which they clean everyday. although the tub's drain lock is broken and the water lacks pressure. other than that.. it was a great stay all in all.

Room Tip: better choose a bayview room or as far away from the market and facing away from the all the nightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neeroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC, Phils
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Maybe due to some not-so-nice reviews of the hotel, my expectations were not as high. Found myself pleased with the hotel and the service. :)

PROS:
- LOCATION! Very near the boat area where you will go off for island hopping. Not even a 5-minute walk. It was so convenient for us considering that we had 2 kids in tow.
- ROOMS! The junior suite is spacious and always clean. Our room was always made up every time we got back from island hopping. The room is comparative to our de luxe room in Astoria Boracay (which, by the way, was not cheap)
- PRICE! For its price, the junior suite was worth it! Only had to pay P 4K per night considering that the room was spacious.
- SERVICE! Contrary to some comments that I read re service of some staff, they were very accommodating. All my requests were attended to promptly, including room service at 6AM (their kitchen opens 6:30, i think). And, mind you, they did not expect for a tip (unlike some other hotels that we stayed in)


CONS:
- LOCATION! The hotel is right beside the market. If you are a foreigner, it would be an eyesore. My son also mentioned that he once heard faint sounds of a pig being butchered. Oops!
- No hairdryer (a must for moms on the go).
- In Room 215, I couldn't find the safety deposit box. What I did was lock our valuables in one of our travel bags before leaving for the tours.

RATING: 4 -- In spite of the cons, I wouldn't mind staying here again the next time we go to Coron.

Room Tip: There is a bbq place (just forgot the name) when you walk towards Kawayanan Grill from the hotel. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fuji
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Planning a family vacation to Coron Palawan is a verrry good idea!! Not in Boracay but Coron!
Gateway in Coron was a good find! You know that feeling when you can't just wait to go back to your airconditioned room, rest in your comfy bed, and rrrrest! That's Coron Gateway!
The bedrooms were spacious! The bathroom was a good size. The down side was Palawan was trying to conserve water then,so, we couldnt use the tub. No sweat. We had water for the showers!
The hotel was right beside the town market but that was fine! We could shop for fruit, fresh fish,crab for tour beach picnics. Then you could have it cooked right in the market. Ask around where you can have your food cooked and they will show you where. (that's the big plus when you go to the Philippines for a vacation! You can talk to almost anybody and if you speak some English they will understand you!) Or if you're finicky about your food, have it cooked in the hotel's kitchen!
Don't forget to buy bread at the bakery close to the hotel too! This is for feeding the fish when you go snorkling! My kids, aged 6 and 9 "shared" the bread with the fish. They had to be reminded to stop eating the buns at one point!
Friendly staff, wifi ready, clean, postcard perfect view of the sea... It was worth it!
These words coming from a paranoid mom!
It's more fun in the Philippines!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yertle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

we were a group of 9 , always stays at coron gateway everyyear we visit palawan., the service was excellent until last May 16 , 2012. when experience the lousiest service we got from the worker assigned at the ground counter, who don't even have a nameplate pinned on. we truly wish the management would get rid of this guy , so as not to influenced other co workers.

Room Tip: all room quality is the same as good compared to other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at the Presidential Suite for 2 days this January and was glad we made the right choice. The room and bathroom are spacious. I was able to soak in the tub but was disappointed they hardly have any bathroom free stuff! Only a shampoo, conditioner and soap so I had to go to the store and buy toothbrush and toothpaste. For the price that they charged, they should have at least a bath soap since they have a tub!

There's also kitchen if you feel like cooking for a late meal. Just ask for the utensils and pans if you decide to cook or make coffee coz it's not readily available in your room.

The hotel is in front of the port so it's convenient to return for a rest after a whole day of island hoping. The market is also beside the hotel so you can buy fresh seafood to take with you for lunch before you head out swimming. Overall I enjoyed my stay here because the friendly staff and good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Credit, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Me & my family from Canada, 13 of us all stayed on this Hotel January 4 - 7, 2012 and boy do we ever made the right choice . . . not taken aback by the negative review of some here! We were at this Hotel just to cap the night off from our island & beach hoping activity & what they offered us is worth the price we paid for. Food & service is very good, exceeded our expectation to the max, tour schedule is right on time . . . asked ahead of time if you can for Kuya Albert and Manong Fernando our professional tour & boat skippers, they were awesome! . . .The Town's market besides it is a bonus! Gives you the feeling of an authentic small town life. The party boat did not work out on our last day due to the low tide situation which is clearly understandable, but in exchange they offered their Company lounge for us to party all night! How sweet is that! . . . I will come & stay in this Hotel again next time. In general I recommend this Hotel . . . if you're not that fuzzy!

Room Tip: If you hate the fact that its beside the Town's market & it can get noisy in the wee hour of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reymundo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.0 mi away
One Averee Bay Hotel
One Averee Bay Hotel
#13 of 20 in Coron
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#5 of 20 in Coron
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#1 of 31 in Coron
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coron Bancuang Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites

Property: Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites
Address: Brgy. Poblacion 3 Coron, Busuanga, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and taste your dream Palawan holiday at Coron Gateway Hotel and Suites. Offering 31 luxurious guestrooms, a restaurant serving a diverse menu of culinary delights, and an enviable location in the captivating Calamianes Islands, our resort in Coron is anyone's ideal getaway. Wanting to fully embrace the beauty of nature? You can experience this with us as we take you to attractions such as Mount Tapyas, Siete Picados, and the Skeleton Wreck. At the end of the day, the well-fitted, and elegantly designed rooms and suites at Coron Gateway Hotel and Suites will take you in and fill you with utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing