We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place..Great Service..Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Darayonan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Darayonan Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place..Great Service..Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Very clean rooms. Staffs are very friendly and accomodating. Food is awesome. They have a nice pool beside the resto and the bar. Room rates are very reasonable.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChE_26031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinfernandez, Manager at Darayonan Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the long delayed response. Hope to see you again in Coron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

One thing that you'll notice when you go to coron is that there are not many nice accommodations near the center of the town, unless you will be staying in a 5 or 4 star-resort for the entire trip. When we booked our trip to coron, I noticed that some of the tour agencies highly recommend darayonan lodge to the tourists. I also visited tripadvisor to check the reviews and was quite convinced that I will stay in a decent place. Here's a tip, though, and heed my advice. The tour agencies recommend darayonan because it is dirt cheap but if you are constant leisure travelers and want to enjoy your experience in coron, dont stay in darayonan. First, I booked a deluxe room to make sure that we stay in a larger, newer room but they made us stay in the older room that smelled like old curtains and dust. The toilet is a horror story, altogether. There are cobwebs on the ceiling and molds on the walls. I asked if they can transfer us to a new room since there are not many guests, as I've observed, but the front desk staff who looked unwelcoming everyday said there are no available rooms (when we go inside the lodge, there are several empty rooms beside ours). This lodge looked like an ancestral house turned into a lodge by the owners to sustain their monthly needs and their relatives are working as the staff who did not undergo proper training for hotel service. Your breakfast will be a plated meal and the staff would knock on your room late at night to get your breakfast order for the following day. They will cook your breakfast at 4 or 5 am and will serve it at 7 am, cold as their faces when they serve it to you. On our second day, we have a scheduled tour at 8 am and we woke up early so as not to be late for the pick-up. Our hot shower was not working, my husband went to the front desk to inform them about this problem and the staff just told us to wait for the maintenance guy to report at 9 am since it was on a sunday and he reports late during weekends. He told them to do something about it. We waited for 30 mins, went to and from our room to the front desk (a good 50 steps or so) 3x to follow up on what they're doing to solve the problem, they didnt lift a finger. When they noticed that we were already furious that we will be late for the tour, they asked us to just use the bathroom in the next room but change in our room because they expect guests coming in later that morning and they have to keep that room clean. I can say that I've been to most tourist destinations in the Philippines and abroad but we never had this kind of experience anywhere. The staff is totally inexperienced and the owners, an elderly couple, does not have any control on the behavior of the staff and maintenance of the place. They say that they boast of a pool but who needs a pool when you have the entire day snorkelling and swimming in the beach. What we need is that we'll go back to the hotel to relax and rest those tired muscles and not be pestered by these concerns about your hotel which could just ruin your full day of adventure and fun. Unfortunately, we cant do anything about this because we booked and paid in advance and they dont give refunds..So maybe, this will just be the best thing that we can do, to warn future tourists to be wary and stay away from this place.. and also that place beside darayonan which also looked bleaked and unpromising from the outside. Better yet, if you can afford it, stay in el rio or if you want to stay in the center of coron, check out coron hilltop which ive heard is a newer hotel in the area. Hope this will help who would go to coron anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank attyjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coron hotels

Bergen,Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Booked a deluxe twin through Agoda. Arrived and they hadn't heard of us. As we'd booked at at place without a printer, we didn't have the coupon. Asked if we could log on and show them on their computer...no way. Walked up and down the main street looking for a internet place that could print the coupon...in the pouring rain( there's one just across the street) We said we'd booked a deluxe, but the placed us in a standard room. The reception area is buzzing with mozzies btw...think I got 10+ bites there. We pointed this out, and asked to be refunded or swapped. 3 phone calls later we were moved to the back(read on here that the noise in the front was bad) Room was ok, not the sq m as stated but fair enough. The a/c worked and the toilet flushed. No water pressure though, so if you have long hair..beware. Another beware is that there's a chicken/hen pen/farm right next door...if your'e ears are sensitive then .. .
There is a bar,a cafe and a restaurant on the premises..all with separate seating..you can't eat outside if ordering food etc..all the lights were off and the waitress was doing her nails...so we went elsewhere..Breakfast is included, they go around in the evening to take your order..don't want to know why.. All in all...price wasn't too bad but knowing what I know now...I'd have paid the extra to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Seven of us stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal and spent around 6K pesos each for 4 days, 3 nights with a 3 day tour included. All of our meals, (including breakfast, lunch, dinner, and morning and afternoon snack), room, tours, entrance fees, and boat rental were included in the price; overall a very good deal as we did not have to pay separately for anything during our vacation.

We were picked up from the airport, and began our tour on the first day. We spent a lot of time snorkeling and island hopping around Coron. The island and those around here are simply gorgeous. The only thing we had to pay for was the snorkel and mask rental (around 100 pesos each) and tips. In addition, we visited the hot springs in Coron and climbed a fairly high hill in order to get a gorgeous view early in the morning.

The rooms themselves were fairly simple and the water in the room was either hot, or cold, with little middle ground. We had two rooms, one with 3 single beds, and the other with a double bed and two singles, so enough space for all of us. The rooms were cleaned daily, and beach towels were available for rent during the day (~10 pesos).

The pool was a great extra addition, and we loved relaxing and hanging out there after a long day on the ocean. They also have a small bar there where you can have drinks after dinner, all of which were priced fairly cheaply. In addition, the hotel offered free wifi.

The breakfast had many choices (Filipino and western) and we could change our choice every day (although not all choices were available each day). The meals (lunch and dinner) were plentiful, with always multiple entrees and sides, all of which we enjoyed. The dishes were predominately Filipino with lots of fresh, local seafood included.

Overall, we got a great deal and the value for money was phenomenal. We had a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshLily3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
476 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

No hot water in the 1st 2 rooms, once fixed, only hot or cold – no adjustment possible.
Superior rooms (1500p) are crowded with 3 single beds. The deluxe rooms (1800p) are more spacious, though the amenities for both rooms are basic. AC works well. There is no fridge, thought the hotel will store small items in their fridge. The pool is a pleasant reprieve after a day in the 100-degree heat. The rooster farm next door doesn't make for a quiet night's sleep.
Contact info: http://www.darayonan.com

Breakfast was minimal, in fact during my 5-day stay the American breakfast was available on only one day. Brewed coffee is extra and weak. Food portions from the menu tend to be small, except for the tuna and shrimp spaghetti which was an adequate size and excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

First of all don’t take the rooms close to the street, choose the backyard. The 2 stroke engines runs from 5am to 9 pm permanently. No way to rest at all and very smelly.

The food was as a local choice almost excellent. Service was good.

For a cheap stay it might be an option. For recreation no way.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans50087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

I really had fun with my trip in Coron and staying in Darayonan Lodge is a great choice for me. Since they now have a swimming pool. The room we had stayed in were clean and spacious. The aircon is working good. They also have hot shower so I'm good with it. The food for their breakfast was ok since they give you a lot of choices plus a unlimited coffee. The place is very homey for me and its not crowded. They also have bar that is beside the pool. So its a nice way to spend the night chat. The location is also good, easy access to tricycles and if you have time you can walk goin to the market and around the area from the resort. The place is also WIFI , that's a plus... I can say that the rate is ok but I actually booked with Coron Travel agency and they are the one who booked us at this lodge but its actually our choice since this is one of the few resort that have pool.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#1 of 26 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coron Westown Resort
Coron Westown Resort
#8 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coron Village Lodge
Coron Village Lodge
#12 of 26 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darayonan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darayonan Lodge

Property: Darayonan Lodge
Address: 132 National Highway, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darayonan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Darayonan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darayonan Hotel Coron
Darayonan Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing