We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK..”
Review of Darayonan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Darayonan Lodge
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We spent two nights in Darayonan Lodge for our "barkada" (friends) trip for the summer. We were more than 10 so we occupied 4 rooms. We got the standard rooms which were the cheapest rooms offered.

The rooms need renovation as the ones assigned to ones were old. I think it's because it was part of the old house that was a family vacation house and then converted into a lodge. So if the owners are already old, i think the last time it was renovated was way back a long time ago. For it's price (less than 1,000 per night) it was OK. Nasty bathroom though and I always feel that the floor is going to crack whenever I walk (it's made of bamboo by the way). This does not apply if you're staying it their deluxe rooms.

I wanted to see their deluxe rooms but just got a glimpse of it as the lodge was fully booked. They were nice and furnished. Breakfast is included and it was just fine. I suggest that you get the toast with ham and egg for breakfast as your choice as it is the one worth it.

They have a restaurant and a bar. The serving is nice for its price. Note that seafood cost less than pork and chicken dishes. On our last night, my friends and I went to their bar and had a drink. It closes at 12AM sharp.

They also had a pool which was nice and wifi. Their ambiance outside can be quite romantic if you're just with your special someone. Have a nice dinner there. :)

Their service needs improvement but I think they serve you to the best of their abilities.

For me, it was just OK. You get what you pay for and based from what I saw in Coron, it's still is one of the best the small town has to offer. Indeed it's a place like home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Darayonan Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

there is only one high-end hotel in coron, and that is coron gateway hotel (P5000/nyt) others are lodges and inns, so..if u are in coron and in a budget stay here. this lodge is very nice, not that far from the market, 5mins. walk, because all the action in this city is just beside the market like restos and bars. rooms are cozy and in a very reasonable price. standard fan P650, aircon room P900 comes with breakfast,the food are great. and they have generator for brown-outs.they have hot water and wifi. also president gloria stayed here when she visited coron.i think that's a plus.

*we moved to darayonan lodge on our 2nd night at coron, we stayed at coron sunrise inn for our first night. worst stay ever. everyone are so loud in the morning, the owners are shouting. you can hear conversations from other rooms.and very expensive considering its just a house/lodge, and nothing really special, u cannot even flush the toilet, u need bucket. its P1,2k for 2pax room.(its very small), no hot water. and far from town, u need to ride a tricycle (we tried to walk going to town, its very far). and we thought pick-up from town is free cz she didn't ask us to pay the van when we arrived her house(its not her's) considering also the value of the room. but when we left she asked for the payment. anyway good thing we moved to Darayonan. best decision at coron.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank con-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We have never stayed in a Lodge before when we are of of town and we are not used to very basic lodgings. This Lodge leaves a lot of things for improvement.

We stayed in a 4 bed room(maybe its the one only available). The room was furnished with 4 single beds, the walls and ceiling are made of native (bamboo) materials while the flooring is made of Banig(native woven mats). I am not particularyl fond of native materials for room ceiling and walls because it looks a bit shabby.

Anyway the room was just OK for a one night accomodation but I dont think I would love to stay here longer. The bathroom was not so clean but with little choice of lodgings in this part of palawan we just have to be contented with Darayonan.

The food also is so so but not really expensive nor was it cheap at an average of P150(S$5/head/meal).

We would definitely go back to Palawan but not to Darayonan

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

What is striking about this is place is the owner's love for the arts. It definitely is a reflection of the owner's strive in achieving perfection in everything. From the lodge's interior decorations to the food being served for each meal. He personally goes over every little details right before being served or handed over to the guests. We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights; and it was a part of the overwhelming positive experiences that I have had during my stay in Coron, Palawan.
The place is clean all the time! They see to it that the rooms and private comfort rooms get cleaned everyday during your stay. They also make sure that the entire lodge is spic and span all throughout the day. I have never seen any litter at all in my entire stay.
The facilities in this lodge pass the normal standards of travellers: hot and cold shower, all air-conditioned rooms, centralized water system. It's like you never left home at all. I've had a comfortable stay at this lodge.
It's also probably the only lodge that includes breakfast for two along with the daily room charge. And what's more, drinking water and coffee is unlimited, no extra charge. I should say that staying at Darayonan is really a value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank divine_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I can not say much for the price since we took this as part of PALakbayan package (a local destination all-in package from Philippines Airlines). What I can say is that for a local hotel, this is pretty decent - clean rooms, working air conditioner and strong ceiling fan, TV with cable, and best of all, FREE WIFI! The downside is water is pretty low (and apparently, this is not only a problem for Darayonan but a city-wide problem) so there will be times when the water will run out and you have to wait for a while to get it.

Food is also pretty decent - the best in the area after going through all the possible places around. I would recommend their pretty decent steamed (lapu lapu) fish - fresh and not "fishy" - they obviously know how to cook it with the amount of ginger they put to remove the "fishy" smell. Breakfast is also nice - lots of choices (with pancakes and even cereal!). I wish they would have brewed coffee though. The downside is the bar is closed for 2 nights because of the absent bartender so we have to go next door to Coron Village to get our drinks.

The service is also okay - with help provided in arranging for our "additional island hopping trip". Am actually impressed in the way they keep track of the snorkeling gear that they rent out - so organized and systematic - haha. Just a quirk of mine to notice this stuff :P

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I was amazed at how the owners of this unique lodge presents their place and the choices you can actually avail of : in the native bamboo, sawali and banig set-up or in the modern concrete and tile two-story building.
I chose the old bamboo-built house (actually this is their reception and lobby area). I got the 2nd floor room no. 8 whose window faces the more modern building. Hand-woven "banig" covers the bamboo flooring and serves as the carpet. The room is decorated with native frames. It has a sala and old, vintage furnitures made of bamboos and hard wood. You would feel you are back more than 3 decades ago when the place was not that frequented by visitors then.
Rates are very, very affordable. Food is great and fresh and priced just reasonably. I can not complain.
During rainy and windy days, the rooms are very cool you no longer ask for aircon. The rooms are fan-cooled at default (Php 450) but with aircon units each. If you wanted aircon (Php 650), you simply upgrade and the switch board is fixed so the aircon can work.
For couples, the garden setting is just as romantic, complete with candle lights!
Location is within the town proper, along the highway and near internet cafes and a spa is just across the street.
I highly recommend this place for Coron travellers . . .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymarkph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#7 of 20 in Coron
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coron Westown Resort
Coron Westown Resort
#9 of 20 in Coron
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#23 of 68 in Coron
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#2 of 35 in Coron
128 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coron Underwater Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darayonan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darayonan Lodge

Address: 132 National Highway, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darayonan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Darayonan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darayonan Hotel Coron
Darayonan Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing