We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not comfortable..needs improvement”
Review of Darayonan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darayonan Lodge
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Mandaue, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“not comfortable..needs improvement”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

the standard room was creepy and in a bad style..very old and the floor is rocky..Furthermore, the CR is very small,the cabinets are torn.There is no proper drainage..So , if you take a bath and you don't place the shower curtain in proper place surely, the water stagnate...The ceiling needs to be taken out and replaced because if you have asthma surely you get allergic to the bugs dropping up the ceiling..They actually just covered it with plastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

very cozy and quiet place with. friendly people, affordable rates, our tour guide(Jerry) is the best very accommodating as well as the people at the front desk...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freespirit1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a great time staying here, (Nov 24-26,2011)

Love the pool
Clean Surrounding
Nice and clean rooms
Very affordable
Accommodating Staff especially Ms. Marlyn of Manila Office
Mr. Don Don their tour guide is very friendly, he alway answers with a smile :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Coron is a small town, for me its a noisy town from the sound of trycycle and the town has cock crowing anytime they want, can't blame them its their nature. We stayed at the Coron Village lodge on the first day we arrived, not satisfied with it we moved on the third night to Darayonan as it seems nice from the outside and they have a pool, I dont have the opportunity to check the room first as it was full.

When we check in they gave us a room near the highway( their National Highway) and near the stairs, frustrating as it is as it is terribly noisy with the trycycle sound and the people going up and down the stairs.

Once in the room, we have a triple room, the room is crowded, u hardly any space to move, not enough place to put your things too, bed are old, u can feel the spring on your back, and there's a certain part of the bed that has some protruding metals which can scratch your legs easily if ur not careful, aircon is not that cold too. Well, i dont expect to have a good shower pressure in this kind of hotel, and it really is. U are better off in a bucket and tabo way of showering here.

I complained, the front desk and management is quite accomodating they upgrade us to their deluxe triple room, they have a better bed n room space there. but i dont think all people are willing to pay the price for it.

For me, Coron has expensive rooms as you are not getting what u paid for, u get a room that is so unfriendly, bed sheets and blanket is not to standard. I use my big scarf as a blanket as i dont want to use their synthetic blanket that is piling (nag mumulmul na) its not comfortable to sleep with it, if its a hostel, i wont complain as you get what u paid for.

Breakfast is so so, they get your breakfast order in the evening, then cook it in the morning, breakfast is normally waiting for u in the kitchen, so u normally end up eating a cold breakfast unless u wake up earlier. we sat for breakfast and then when we were almost finish their staff told us that they have to clear our table as they have a conference in that restaurant, could have told us earlier then we cound sit by the pool and have our breakfast. Incompetent restaurant staff.

It's good thing they have a pool to cool u down as I never been so frustrated. I expect it to be better as they have nice garden, pool, hahaha but looks can be deceiving.

I hope that Coron would have a hotel that could give comfort to its guest soon, a standard hotel, it doesn't have to be a 5 star hotel but a hotel room that is more accomodating, There is nothing to do in Coron at night and the hotel room would be your only comfort. I stayed in Huahin for 550 thai baht ( a beach town in thailand) and the room is 3X better than the room here and the room rate here is 2200 pesos for that stupid room.

It is not all about the profit but the decency to provide a decent room to your hotel guest.

Room Tip: Look at the room first, before deciding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The reception is nice, prices seem fair (have not checked out yet). The rooms are fairly clean thou the toilet flush is bucket operated.

The restaurant service is terrible they will do a great job at ignoring you, when that becomes impossible they will drop your food and go back to congregate chatting and and exchanging while you sign hopelessy for salt, water, more drinks or an ashtray.

If you are on a budget and specially if you like us have not reserved in advance is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

stayed here last March 10-12, 2011 as a pacgkage deal with free breakfast and lunch. The staff are all nice and accomodating, everyday they clean the room and change our towels and refill the shampoo/soap. The food is a bit expensive but more expensive in coron village (but same taste of food for me) free flowing coffee/tea, the lodge is clean as well as the room, with cable TV, and hot & cold water at the shower room. There is guard at night so you are secure.In their bar area, there is dart board, scrabbles and cards that you can play if you want, then no other amenities aside from their swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snooky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We went for a group trip as a package and we chose Darayonan because aside from being affordable, they have a swimming pool!

The rooms are clean, the staffs are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. Although they are just along the main road, you won't notice it if your room is somewhere inside. The lodge is also near the local stores so it is very convenient if you need to buy anything. The trikes are also very accessible from that place.

There's just one drawback for that lodge. The preparation for the food took longer than we expected. Generally, the food is good although some local food like tocino and sausages were quite disappointing. Better ask for danggit or cordon bleu. They're good!

I will come back the next time I will visit Palawan unless there will be better hotels or lodge that will arise in the very refreshing island of CORON!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foreverstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#6 of 20 in Coron
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coron Westown Resort
Coron Westown Resort
#10 of 20 in Coron
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#22 of 67 in Coron
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#1 of 33 in Coron
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
#36 of 67 in Coron
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darayonan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darayonan Lodge

Property: Darayonan Lodge
Address: 132 National Highway, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darayonan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Darayonan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darayonan Hotel Coron
Darayonan Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing