We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place is perfect for couples”
Review of Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Ranked #38 of 70 Coron B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for couples coz its overlooking the coron bay. The room is spacious and tidy. Shower with heater and squeaky clean. resto staff are quite unfriendly mainly coz they are guys but kuya guard and receptionist are very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannederlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying here. Very low price for in exchange for what they offer. Staff is nice, polite and helpful. They offer many tours and have a pretty good restaurant. Their rooftop has the best sunset on Coron (the hotel is located on the slope of the mountain, so it's the highest point of the city), as good as the one in Mt Tapyas itself. If I had the chance to go back to Coron, I'll stay there again. Try their grilled porkchops, its the best and happy hour at the rooftop bar while watching the sunset!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

3 of us stayed here for almost a week. Me and one other booked the island hopping package whilst the third person went on a 3 day diving package. The islands we done were amazing and soooo relaxing! Done the shrine and the hot spring in our package and it was amazing too. The hotel provided us with a packed lunch for our trips and all transportation. The only thing I would say about Coron island is make sure you have enough cash to last your time here as the hotel didn't accept cards and the one and only cash machine we could find didn't work all the time. Food and room was good and as you're on a hilltop the surroundings are amazing. If ever back on Coron would def stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luscious029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very clean, accommodating and highly recommended. We stayed for 2 nights while enjoying Coron island hopping and Coron town. Our room was very clean, the staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating, and on top of that, our room had a very beautiful view of the sea. If you arent that lucky to get a nice view from your room, you can go to the bar area/roof deck to see the spectacular view.

The only downside was the lack of windows. Make sure you dont bring any food/ stuff that can bring certain smell in the room. Also, the bathroom & toilet was a bit small. But considering the price, Mt Tapyas offers the best!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 3rd floor to see the view of the bay/sea area. I recommend room 21 (3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a decent hotel, for $35 USD I wasnt expecting much, and I knew that most of my days would be spent island hopping or adventuring around town. The hotel rooms are small including the bathroom, we had consistent hot water with relatively weak water pressure. Beds are a bit stiff. Food was average but the view was spectacular from the roofdeck. Our room which was the bayview room 3rd floor had a nice 32" lcd tv with cable. If you get a mountain view you dont get a view, and the 2nd floor bayrooms have small tvs but a queen size bed. For the price this hotel offered good value. Angel, the front desk staff was very helpful in any and all of my requests.

Room Tip: bayview 3rd floor rooms are the best. book your tours directly in town not thru hotel, they mark the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are a lot budget inns in Coron but we chose Mt. Tapyas Hotel. It is about 10 mins walk from town proper. Few tricycles pass by the area so you have to walk. The hotel can transact a tricycle or van for your tour around town. But we chose to do it on our own. The room is not that big but it is decent and nice. The only problem is the bed, the mattress is somewhat hard. We asked our breakfast to be served as dinner when we were not able to get it because we have to leave early for our island hopping. Food is good and a lot to choose from in a reasonable price. They offer airport transfer for 150 pesos. This is just a hotel and restaurant. I love the location since it is not in the busy area of the town and has a good view of the ocean and town proper.

Room Tip: Ask a room overlooking the Coron Islands, ocean view and Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letmeseetheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location: 10-15mins walk going to main street of the town.
Room and Comfort Room: Clean
Mattress and Pillow: Uncomfortable on our 1st night. Need to request additional pillows on our 2nd night, their pillow is so thin. Mattress-thick.
Food and Staff Service: Great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.1 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#6 of 20 in Coron
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darayonan Lodge
Darayonan Lodge
#13 of 35 in Coron
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#29 of 70 in Coron
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#22 of 70 in Coron
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#2 of 35 in Coron
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coron Village Lodge
Coron Village Lodge
#16 of 35 in Coron
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Tapyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Address: Calle Nueva Ext. Bgy. V, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mt. Tapyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Tapyas Hotel Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing