We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy yet not so expensive.”
Review of Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Ranked #36 of 63 Coron B&B and Inns
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cozy yet not so expensive.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are a lot budget inns in Coron but we chose Mt. Tapyas Hotel. It is about 10 mins walk from town proper. Few tricycles pass by the area so you have to walk. The hotel can transact a tricycle or van for your tour around town. But we chose to do it on our own. The room is not that big but it is decent and nice. The only problem is the bed, the mattress is somewhat hard. We asked our breakfast to be served as dinner when we were not able to get it because we have to leave early for our island hopping. Food is good and a lot to choose from in a reasonable price. They offer airport transfer for 150 pesos. This is just a hotel and restaurant. I love the location since it is not in the busy area of the town and has a good view of the ocean and town proper.

Room Tip: Ask a room overlooking the Coron Islands, ocean view and Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letmeseetheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Meycauayan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location: 10-15mins walk going to main street of the town.
Room and Comfort Room: Clean
Mattress and Pillow: Uncomfortable on our 1st night. Need to request additional pillows on our 2nd night, their pillow is so thin. Mattress-thick.
Food and Staff Service: Great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The staff were friendly and accommodating, always smiling. They helped us book a last minute tour of our choice (with special requests at cheaptravelcoron.com) and call pedicabs for every time we stepped out of the hotel.

The room I shared with my sisters for 4D3N was small but not cramped. It was cool and clean. Beds were fairly comfortable.

The restaurant served good, average-priced food. The view from the bar was marvelous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had a 3d 2n stay and it was good. Hotel staffs were few but the are willing to accommodate the guests inspite of that. The best thing in this hotel is the ocean view from the top deck. Very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are average size with the basic needs. Anyway we don't stay inside all day. Most of the time we do island hopping so its good to have this place of rest by sun down. The wifi is not that good but i have my 3g with me. My only problem was the mattress and pillow. There is something uncomfortable with it that I woke up 5 to 6 times at night from the time I slept 10 pm up to 6am. It's not a quality sleep to be exact. And it's the same for the 2 nights stay. Overall, it is a good place to stay when you're in Coron and highly recommended as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griyegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

First night was excellent
3nd night family moved in on the floor and were making a racket, running up and down shouting and slamming doors. Hotel would move us if we paid more and when this was disputed he said if you don't like it then just go!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momo1975coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coron hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3D/2N. Location is great - nice view, quiet place yet it is walking distance only from the noisy busy streets. I can not remember if staff greeted us "good morning" or so but they helped us each time we approached them. Rooms are a bit small but it's ok, you won't spend there your entire day anyway. I recommend this place for those who are in budget yet looking for comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a mountain view room but no mountain to view just the side of the rocky mountain with trees and shrubs. The room is spacious, bathroom is small, mattresses and pillows are not comfortable to sleep. The mattress is a bit hard and the pillows are very thin. Bathroom shower is hard to control either you get a cold or very hot water. Aircon is noisy and it also gets broken twice on our stay. The hotel did not have a backup generator for we did not have aircon on the first night of our stay due to scheduled rotational brownout around Coron but the technician was able to repair the aircon quickly after it gets broken. The food is average, they have a large serving. Staffs are very accommodating and friendly, though at times they were not able to get the correct order for our food. The hotel location is far from the busy part of Coron so the place gets very quiet at night. Its hard to call a tricycle (only means of transportation in Coron) due to isolation of the place. The highlight of this hotel is their rooftop, has great view of Coron in sunset and sunrise.

Overall we had a decent stay in this hotel. We were provided all we need on our stay in this enchanting paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.1 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coron Paradise Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#30 of 63 in Coron
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balaibinda Lodge
Balaibinda Lodge
#2 of 29 in Coron
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coron Village Lodge
Coron Village Lodge
#12 of 29 in Coron
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess of Coron
Princess of Coron
#23 of 63 in Coron
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Tapyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Tapyas Hotel

Property: Mt. Tapyas Hotel
Address: Calle Nueva Ext. Bgy. V, Coron, Busuanga Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mt. Tapyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Tapyas Hotel Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing