We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Booked 2 weeks at this "resort" for cockroaches thru Save Money Diving (Buyer Beware of this Company). We were totally burned once we got there. There is NO clean or hot water to wash with. (Makes me curious how the kitchen was cleaned of bacteria?)
The huts are up a hill with poorly constructed steps in rocks with dim lighting, just perfect for breaking your neck down a long flight of jagged rock steps.
Then when you get to your hut that is a nipa hut open and exposed for every creepy crawly.Sure they supply you with one ripped mosquito net that doesn't prevent the gecko crap from dripping off the roof on your bed and feet at night. Or that cats from screaming when the staff at the resort are feeding it to the giant python located right next to the kitchen and don't mind the staff abusing the 3 dogs either. You are also not alowed to leave at night since water sports are prohibited at night and since your on an Island your held hostage. Not only do they charge you just to leave they take you to small beaches where they charge you just to lay on 20 feet of beach?? The Diving is not safe they gave us a broken regulator, a tank with no air, not enough weight and a suit too tight at the surface. Tried to contact Save Money Diving they took our money and ignored all request for help. Don't waste your time visting this place. However after we checked out 2 days later staff told us it was bought buy a new owner. GOOD LUCK!

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TenochSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 206 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2008

First of all, I don't agree with 2 first reviews. My opinion is completely different.
It's not a "resort" (who called it like this???), it's only six, ten years old, huts on the hill which offer at most half-star standard of accomodation.
Be warned! There is no hot water and air con. But there are often blackouts and lack of cold water.
You can choose between hut with family of big lizards (about 20cm) or cockroach. We had lizards, it's not a big deal, they only make a poop everyday on your bad and sometimes wake you up in the middle of the night by making strange noise like "peqoo". First night I thought we have gremlins inside ;-).
In our huts roof was leaking, we had a lot of mould and bathroom wasn't clean.
There are mosquito nets in the windows, but between wall and roof there is a big gap (about 20cm) without anything, so everything can get in easely.
Although location is nice, restaurant and food is ok and staff and manager are really nice and helpfull.
There is diveshop at the site, but completely disorganized with only a hut for keeping the gear.
I absolutely NOT RECOMMEND this "resort".

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wladdy_ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We (my wife and myself, our baby and our maid) stayed at Discovery Divers for an extended weekend in February. We went wreck diving and island-hopping, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The resort is the only habitation on a small, mangrove-ringed island just off Busuanga island. Due to the mangroves, the small beach is muddy, and there are no corals to be seen. The few huts are on a forested slope, quiet, airy and clean.
The resort makes a good base for diving and island-hopping. Compared with other resorts in the area, it's resonably priced. The food was good and we had a lot of variety to chose from.
What makes Discovery Divers special is the quality of service, and the friendly, relaxed-but-not-sloppy atmosphere. One feels to be away from it all, but actually Coron town is only a 10 minute bangka-ride away. The service is very attentive, never obtrusive...perfect. There is no discussion about charging for small items of convenience, so there is no need for the guest to be on his guard. Very relaxing, this.
The whole area, especially Coron Island, is a magical place. We intend to go back soon, in fact, we already booked another stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tischgrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We went to Discovery Divers resort in April this year. We didn't really know what to expect and it was great. The resort is 10mn by bancas from coron town. Situated in an other island (far from the karaoke of Coron), the resort is composed by 6 bungalow. They are quite big, really clean and simple. Gunter and Melody will be there to welcome you and to help you if you need anything. They can organise some island hopping, horse riding or you can do like us and go wrecks diving.

Coron is famous for having 12 japonese wrecks from the 2d world war. They are between 10 and 35m, the visibility is quite good, a lot of beautiful fishes. It is really amazing to dive in a wreck, crazy feeling. You need to have at least your PADI open water or any other certificate if you want to go diving.
We were supposed to do only 4 dives but we ended up diving 2 times a days during the 4 days of our stay.

You can have different packages with food, accomodation and dives included (around 75 dollars a day, but the equipment is not included). The food is really good, big breakfast with pancake, fruit, egg, bacon, bread, jam. Lunch on the boat between 2 dives and diner with different soup, fish, meat... everyday.

What is also great is that you can pay through Paypal, like this you don't have to carry some cash and you don't have 7% taken on your credit card.

We recommand this place definitively,

Nathaniel and Claire

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pitiniaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tiaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TinchenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giu Li E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
14.4 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
345 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#7 of 20 in Coron
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range: $45 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing