We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad value for money in general, but the racism was really not something we expected at all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Coron
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad value for money in general, but the racism was really not something we expected at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We gave this resort a 'terrible' rating because we experienced racism there. However, there are a number of other things that we were not happy with either.

The place is very basic and over priced for what it offers:

1. No drinking water and no facilities to make coffee or tea in the room. Drinking water at the bar is three times the price in the market. Some accommodations in town provide free unlimited coffee and tea and hot water all day long.

2. Housekeeping is not regular. We had to remind the front desk twice. Over our 10 days' stay there, they only changed sheets once (that was when we were in the room and made our request). They also charge for extra towels - which is hard to avoid given the water-based activities in the region.

3. The main light in the room was not working. The resort claimed that they had to get the right bulb from Manila, but that didn't happen for all the 10 days while we were there.

4. While brown outs are not uncommon in Coron, the resort did not always turn on the generator during the daytime; which also meant that there was no Internet during that period.

5. Water ran out twice while we were in the shower. Since there is no intercom in the room, my boyfriend had to wipe off soap with towel and go down to inform the reception and then wait for them to fix the problem.

6. No lunch or water included in the diving package. Other diving shops in town provide lunches and drinks (including beers at the end of the diving day). Also, the equipment is quite old and basic - I was given a totally torn wetsuit. All this was for more than the average prices around Coron.

But all this might have been tolerable if not for the underlying racism that we experienced there. To give one example, the resort organized a New Year's Eve party where they took guests out to watch the Coron town fireworks on their boats. They took three boats full of people; only one of these had music, lights and a nicely decorated bar. This boat only had white people on it. As opposed, the non-white people were assigned to the worst conditioned boat that had no lights or music. The differences in the arrangement were insultingly obvious. We pointed this out as we were boarding, but our comments were brushed aside. Later, this boat was parked behind the two bright boats where its view of the town was limited. Behind the fully lightened 'white people's boats', we made our celebrations (thanks to the fabulous people on the boat with us). Nevertheless, the difference in treatment did leave a bad aftertaste - specially given that this was supposed to be New Year celebrations!

We wanted to talk to the owners about this before we left the resort, but they were all mysteriously unavailable. Therefore we decided to express our voices here. We love Coron and would even have discarded the strong smell of money-making at Discovery Resort, had we not experienced the racism. Given this experience, we really cannot recommend this place - unless one is ok with people being treated differently based on their color of skin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Chou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    74
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
91
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
caloocan city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 13 days in this resort 0ct 14 to oct 27,2012.....i can say iv seen d best....all the staff,owners and everybody in this resort are all polite......i really mis d place so much......im sure il b back again in d near future.......thanks from the bottom of my heart to all the people in this resort.....Mis u guys.......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce_jab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

the resort was very nice, the staff are very accommodating and friendly they always make sure that they would communicate with you if you need any assistance. Stayed here for a total of 5 days and the experience was really great except that there's no room service and TV. We will surely go back here next year one reason is because of their Staff...KUDOS TO YOU GUYS!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have been staing there 7 days.....10-17 oct/2012
That is the best place if you want to see nature, relax.
The most important thing, that there you are like a guest living in the friends house. There is a "Little Mama" who care about all your needs!!! She and her family make your hollidays to be a fairytale :)
You can visit the boat that stay about 150 m from island and do whatever you want alone!!! Or take your own boat with boatman and visit any delicious islands, stay there as long as you want... and even ask him to cook a fresh fish for you... you are welcome!!!! (but say about it before your set sail) Whatever you want... just ask "Little Mama" - she is the best!!! (and Risa :)

Only disappointed thing - there is no wi-fi when no electricity :( and not hot water, but it is the normal thing for Philippines.
I very recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnstasiaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

It is not a bad place, the hotel itself is nice but it should be cheaper. We booked a room for two nights with a 15% off for last minute booking. Total price was 80US$, without the offer maybe 90. For that price, which I consider a lot bearing in mind we are in the Philippines...we didn't have hot water, the electricity was going on and off (mostly off during day time), breakfast was not included, no wifi (it is ok, I understand, is an island, but every one else offers wifi nowadays). We dived also and was ok but they didn't tell us to try the dive suits beforehand and when I tried mine it was huge...same size than my boyfriends who is 15 kg and 12cm more than me (pretty obvious we don't have the same size). Also, they didn't offer us a tea or snack between dives (normally dive centers always do), I don't complain because dives were cheap (25€ each with gear included).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belenghc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The bungalow rooms are pleasant and clean.
However getting to and from Coron can be a bit of a drag and there is no beach to speak of here. We went on a couple of day boat trips the hotel organised which were pelasant enough, however there seemed to be a lot of extra P100 and P200 charges (kick backs?) for each place we visited. These added up an extra P400 on one day - we weren't told of the extra charges until we were sitting on the boat.
Oddly enough, the next day we visited a couple of these again on a differnt tour and we weren't charged!

Room Tip: I heard from other guests the rooms in the hotel part were a bit damp - the bungalows were very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here Jan 2010. From Manila we managed to get a same day flight to Busuanga where one of the guys from the resort picked us up. Just a short boat trip will bring you to the little island where this resort is. It's very secluded, everyone eats together which I thought a bit strange at first but actually it was quite fun (depending on who else is staying there I guess!) and on the last night my boyfriend and I were the only two people staying there and they set us up such a cute table and really made an effort to make it romantic for us! The food is lovely too and they have pets which will come and sit with you but are not a pain and don't try to pinch your food when you are not looking! The dog is as relaxed as the island :)
The rooms are up on a small hill, not really an issue - they carry your rucksack to your room too!
At one point the electricity went off but this really wasn't a problem - someone came up with a candle lamp for us - just made the adventure a bit more fun and memorable!
As this was our first trip to the Philippines, and our first few nights of a three week trip, the lady there was able to give us some good tips on where to go, and more importantly where not to go (especially in Manilla where if you are there for a short amount of time it helps if you know where to head and what area to stay).
We didn't do a dive here so I am unsure of how it is, although they did recommend that while in the Philippines we do even an Introductory Dive which I wish we had done.
Overall a great place to start - you can arrive to Manila and be here in a few hours :) Perfect way to relax after a long haul flight!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.3 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
15.8 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Grand View Hotel
1.0 mi away
Coron Ecolodge
Coron Ecolodge
#5 of 20 in Coron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Property: Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing