We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap, but our room flooded!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Dolphin Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kratie
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was $6 between 5 people, i.e. $1.20 each - a bargain too good to refuse. We checked the place out before committing, and it looked fine, so we decided to stay there. It's probably fine to stay here during the dry season, but in the rainy season steer clear!!

Everything would have been fine, except that during the night there was very heavy rain, and our room completely flooded (over 5cm of water), and all of our bags and clothes got soaked, and some people's books and papers ruined. We had to get out of bed at 4am when we noticed the flooding so we could hang everything out to dry.

Our room was next to the terrace and it seems that the floor slants in towards our room, so the water had come in under the door. Unfortunately the staff and manager did not offer us anything to make up for what had happened, except offering us to move rooms for the next night (as if we would stay another night!). They said they couldn't have expected it to happen, which is complete bollocks because the tiles are stained from water and the cleaning lady knew exactly how to drain the water out of the room (by unblocking a pre-drilled hole in the wall!!), so it has clearly happened before. All they really need to do is put in something under the door to stop water getting in.

They were nice to us the next day, but it was pretty disappointing they couldn't apologise or offer anything decent to us, like even just a round of beers would have been nice. Anyways, thats what you get for cheap accomm. If you're on a budget there's no real reason to avoid it as long as its not rainy season or your in a room that definitely won't flood (check the floors for marks of previous floodings) - and maybe keep all your things on the tables just in case!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiri_Libbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the worst places I've stayed in a while. There is usually an expectation for this kind of 'cheap accommodation' whilst travelling, but this by far goes way beyond that. The place smells, the rooms are not clean and the night staff very unhelpful (I would like to give the daytime staff that we meet their worth as they were really nice but am afraid left them red faced as their product was just wrong). We had to leave after the first night having seen another couple of rooms like ours.
There was some construction going on, but I think the first thing would be to CLEAN.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plodalongjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great stay here. The young guys who run it are so nice and friendly. Whenever they have a spare moment they like to chat and joke with you, not to sell anything but to be friendly. They really make it. Rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable also wifi was plenty good enough for Skype which is not always the case in Cambodia. Highly recommend. Food wasn't bad, but not memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

the rooms are simple and clean, don't expect to much. The Guesthouse as its own has lovely owner and a nice area to relaxe outside. The drinks and the food was very delicious. Don't forget to make a tour to the dolphins - ask the owner!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The place is cheap but the beds are uncomfortable from the coils. I recommend going somewhere else for sleep. The place is not clean with rubbish and eaten food left there despite staff walking past.

Now the tour services, do not deal with Sa! He had us misled with his tour and the prices. Shop around first!

The lady working at the desk however is very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben10Saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The highlight of this guesthouse was certainly the staff, especially the young manager who was very attentive to our satisfaction (and could speak fluent english and french on top of khmer). Ask to see several rooms before chosing, as they are definately not all of the same quality. The terrace on the top floor with a perfect view on the Mekong was a great place to have breakfast or a sunset beer. The food we got at the restaurant was at the same time cheap, good and in big quantity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Owner not honest and tried to trick us. He kept the money for the tuktuk, we met him by chance and told us everything. They say air con but they are the ones who keep the remote. So we had to ask them to switch it on for us. It was very cool and strong so we turn it off. afterwards no way to turn it on. Rooms are dirty, same as bed sheets which are certainly not cleaned since a few months.
The hotel tuktuk pretend he didnt get we wanted to eat somewhere else. And brought us back to the guesthouse restaurant.
I felt like the owner was ready to do anything to get $1, tp the detriment to others.
I would not recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: there are not so many guesthouse in this city, which is not super touristical. i believe you guys ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cycycycycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kratie hotels
1.3 mi away
River Dolphin Hotel
River Dolphin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kratie
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rajabori Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Tonle Training Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Kratie
53 reviews
0 mi away
Star Guesthouse
Star Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Kratie
75 reviews
0 mi away
Heng Heng Guesthouse And Restuarant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dolphin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dolphin Guesthouse

Address: No, 048E0 | St Presh Suramarith, Kratie, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kratie Province > Kratie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kratie
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Dolphin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing