We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rajabori Villas Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kratie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 1 night 18 Aug 13 in a junior suite upgraded from a double deluxe. We crossed to the island on a private boat rather than using the ferry as advised. To achieve this we left our luggage with our driver in Kratie and only took the items we needed for the night. This meant that the private boat could take us right to the island bank close to the villas. This avoided using the public ferry and then having to travel 3km to the villas. The staff are friendly, helpful, well trained and have good English.

The villas have no power during the day. The generator starts at 6pm. The rooms have no frigs or air conditioning and have adequate furnishings with a comfortable sitting area outside the front door. The pool good and large. The restaurant is limited in choice, a bit expensive but the food is OK.
Breakfast from the menu was acceptable.

The villas are what they are and don’t pretend to be anything else - worth the visit. Rating 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    67
    35
    13
    2
See reviews for
29
93
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is a little slice of paradise, the villas are beautifully furnished, the food is excellent and the staff go above and beyond to help you. We stayed during the low season and there weren't many guests so almost had the full staff to ourselves and we enjoyed having a chat over dinner each night as we learned so much about Cambodia and Khmer culture.
This place is quite far from Kratie though, so if you are staying less than three nights you might find the distance frustrating. The ferry only runs once there is enough people on board so you might have to wait a while, then once you get to the island you need to walk about 30 minutes or hire a moto for about $1 USD (during the wet season).
The island is beautiful and the walk is lovely, so if you are staying a bit longer in Kratie this place is worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

In the preparation phase of my Cambodia trip, I saw this - in principle lovely - place in the Internet and asked the management of Rajabori Villa for a quote.
Once I arrived on the island of Koh Trong, it all started. I was not aware that you need to walk about an hour through deepest dirt and mud to reach this place. Due to heavy rainfall, no motorbikes were available. Upon arrival (completely soaked and dirty), I was given a price which was higher than the initial quoted one and I was told that actually they are not fond to host back-packers, they prefer a different audience. If I do not want to pay the higher price, there is a home stay in the vicinity which offers a stay for 2-4 USD. I was never treated in such a manner and it is so untypically Cambodian. I assume that tour-groups are the main audience at Rajabori, so keep that in mind when you think of staying at that place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustrianinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukanthor, Owner at Rajabori Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,
You had for a quote for "Arun Mekong" a guest house located next door to our place and absolutely not Rajabori Villas !
That's actually where you stayed after finding out you were not in the right place, yet you came back to eat at Rajabori where you say you were so badly received...
It's your own mistake but you blame our receptionist who didn't have a clue !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rajabori is on Koh Trong, which is 5 minutes from Kratie by ferry. As you take the motorbike ride to the resort, you will get a taste of rural life, with houses on stilts, children playing around. When I visited, I was the only person at the resort and got a free upgrade to the Suite room. They are beautiful wooden rooms and you can hear insects, frogs and birds in the jungle behind! The staff are very friendly and chatty and super-efficient. Breakfast was delicious! The whole place is calm, peaceful and you are so surrounded by nature that you can forget your normal city-life existence for a few hours!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveleen817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having now stayed at Rajabori; we're so glad that we also ignored some of the previous comments. We travel a lot and this place totally exceeded our expectations. A wonderful stay - beautiful rooms, excellent location, really friendly staff and overall a great experience from the moment that we arrived at the dock in Kratie just before 4pm. Contrary to lonely planet, there's absolutely no problem arriving after 4pm. The staff at Rajabori can organize a boat if you arrive later. One thing about arrival; in wet season the boat can go straight to the lodge. But in dry season it lands a mile or so away on a beach. It's quite a walk up! so highly recommend giving the one dollar for a moto-taxi whom also takes your luggage. We were met at the top by one of the lodges staff in a tuk tuk. Great way to arrive! The lodge itself is quite beautiful with a lovely large pool at the front. It's designed in the local cambodian style with stilted structures. We stayed in a two bedroom. They gave us a good deal as they'd only twin rooms otherwise. We didn't want single beds. The staff overall were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful throughout our stay. They even prepared additional vegetarian meals that weren't offered on the menu. We found the food in the evenings to be of a much higher standard than we'd expected. Very tasty. Besides organizing tours; the staff also freely offered advice to guests on a whole range of different issues. The manager even escorted us over on the boat to go to the bank in Kratie. This saved us from having to go back across the river to pay our final bill. He could have simply demanded that we go to the bank on the previous afternoon. We loved Rajabori and ended up booking extra. In fact every guest we met wanted to stay longer. Though it was pretty full at the time we stayed. Yes it's an Eco lodge and the electricity comes from a generator, which isn't available during the day. But roughing it; this place certainly isn't that. We really loved the rooms and the style of the buildings in general. Also at night the whole place assumes a different ambience again which is really wonderful. This whole island is a great experience in itself. Really hope some day that we get back to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergalandorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Rajabori Villas and felt like in paradise. Reading some poor reviews I cannot beleive that we are talking about the same place. We had booked 2 nights in advance the Junior Suite, which was the only room available. Then we decided spontanesly to arrive one day earlier and booked by mobile phone only some hours before arriving. We arrived at about 7 p.m. - a private boat expected us already at Kratie, as well as the manager with motos at the beach of the island.
The deluxe room we had for this first night was very comfortable, large and well furnished - the Junior Suite was outstanding. It is a stilt house for your own with a large room with a secretary, a large bedroom, a boudoir and a large bathroom. Furniture in old sino-khmer style really beautiful. The terrace is well furnished as well.
The stuff is so friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They arranged our bus tickets and the manager accompanied us to the bus station the day of our departure. We really enjoyed our meals at the restaurant. The pool is nice - they take every day samples of water, so you can be sure of the water quality.
The island itself is a calm and nice place with friendly people, the rural part of Cambodia, and a tour by bicycle is a must.
We had no problems with bugs, neither with the air at night and the little frogs in the room show you that you are at a place surrounded by nature.
For us as an eldery couple it was a great place to stay and relax within our roundtrip in Cambodia. I really would like to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlaStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

After reading several poor reviews just before arriving we had quite low expectations but actually loved out stay here at Rajabori Villas. Our arrival was so exciting ! Our bus arrived late in Kratie but we phoned ahead and our transfer was sorted with no fuss - all in darkness we were met from the bus, taken to a boat, crossed the Mekong, then loaded onto motos and crossing a huge beach on planks of wood then 3 km of track finally arrived at the lodge. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a fantastic roll-top bath and lovely furniture. The staff here are great, really helpful and chatty and make you feel at home. Rented bicycles and cycled around this stunning island full of such friendly people ! Didn't want to leave, and certainly look forward to returning one day as can think of no better place to unwind.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kratie
2.4 mi away
River Dolphin Hotel
River Dolphin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kratie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
Mekong Dolphin Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kratie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kampong Cham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Tonle Guesthouse
Le Tonle Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Kratie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.3 mi away
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
Arun Mekong Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Kratie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heng Heng Hotel 2
Heng Heng Hotel 2
#1 of 12 in Kratie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajabori Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajabori Villas Resort

Property: Rajabori Villas Resort
Address: Mekong Road | Koh Trong Island, Kratie 855, Cambodia (Formerly Sala Koh Trong)
Location: Cambodia > Kratie Province > Kratie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kratie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rajabori is a confidential resort made of 11 traditional Khmer wooden houses located North of the island of Koh Trong in front of the town of Kratie. We created it to allow a deep immersion in an unspoiled part of old Cambodia for travelers fond of nature and discovery. Access is by boat then tuktuk or moped. The trip to the resort through the island's countryside is beautiful and is a small adventure in itself. For now, The Rajabori has thirteen rooms spread into eleven traditional wooden houses, single or double. To accompany this discovery of traditional Cambodia, our villas and all public spaces have been furnished and decorated in typical Khmer style with what we have collected over the years in all provinces of the country. Our idea is to re create an old style Cambodian village in the protected environement of Koh Trong Island. As a matter of fact, everywhere else in Cambodia, traditional wooden houses are being destroyed to make way for ugly blocks of concrete that have become the new « chic » in contemporary Khmer society. An entire architectural heritage of incalculable value and is being ruthlessly swept under the carpet... We wanted to go against this tide by bringing together a number of well trained craftsmen who perpetuate a thousand year old savoir-faire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rajabori Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing