We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well Kept, well equipped and lovely location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen Kitchen/living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen
Kitchen/living room
Shower room.
Cluer point Harris
Is Bedroom
Highland soap
Loch in Cluer Harris
Autumnal Sykes are wonderful in Harris no light pollution
Beautiful sunsets in Harris all year round
Guest photo of Manish
local sheep
Donalds wee window
water lily in Harris
Wild Thyme
Ist Bedroom
2nd bedroom
Map of main routes
View above Manish
Manish Cottage.
View over Bay
Shower room
Shower
West Harris.
West Harris.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TraceyAnn...
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Kept, well equipped and lovely location.”
Reviewed January 27, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cozy cottage - 2 good sized bedrooms but only one room for kitchen lounge and eating - very well equipped and immaculate. Fabulous location. Excellent base for exploring the islands and getting away from it all, Need to accept that no mobile signal or internet is available and just enjoy the peace and quiet!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2017
Thank you Tracey such lovely words. It is a great place to get away from it all. Hope all went well for you. Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J
1 review
“Lovely remote cottage”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just what we needed to celebrate the new year in quietly. Remote but lovely views. Cottage was basic but ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you for you kind words, we too love the quiet get away from it all.Regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to get away from it ALL then this place is a must. At the end of a (more or less) private road and only a few feet from the sea this place is quiet to the extreme. We were fortunate that we had beautiful weather for almost the entire stay. Calm sea meant we regularly spotted our resident Seal only just off shore, or basking in the rocks. Sea otters have been seen as well, but not by us unfortunately.
There's no mobile phone coverage, no landline or internet and basic satellite channels, so bring plenty of reading !
The house is cosy, basically furnished and nice and warm thanks to the electric heating. Even with the heating off all day the place warms up quickly.
Don't expect any frills, but for the two of us it was ideal. If there were more than three people staying then seating in the living/kitchen area would be a tad cramped.
The nearest town with shops is about fifteen minutes drive north or south, so come well catered. There's a big fridge and freezer so you shouldn't have any problems.
This really is a place for those who love the outdoors come rain or shine but forget it if you expect fibre broadband and five star luxury. We'll definitely return :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the quiet get away from it all in Manish. It is very peaceful which is what we enjoy too.Thank you for your stay and we welcome you back. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smrscot
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great wee cottage, clean as a whistle, and cosy.”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Enjoyed our stay at Manish Cottage. Very clean, cosy, everything we needed. The neighbours were very helpful, including delivering candles when there was a (thankfully short) power cut.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was good, but the heating system was very efficient.
Liked least: No internet/phone, but didn't care really.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Thank you so much happy you enjoyed your stay. Mike did message about the candles they are very kind. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrina B
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“escape the world”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Hi Johan
thank you very much we enjoyed our visit to Harris. we just like to say your cottage is the place to stay to get away from things. we did not use the twin room as the other family member did not come with us, but i would say that the 2 bed rooms were great. the bathroom was good with the electric shower working well and more towels than we needed. Kitchen had everything we needed the only thing I would say is that the sofa has seen better days,
Micheal next door was very nice and helpful as the electric had been turned off because of some problem they had next door .Only looked at your booklets just as we were leaving so maybe put them on the counter or table. Would have been nice to meet you or have a welcoming note from you as to where to find things You live on a lovely Island thank you once again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was in the middle of no where
Liked least: sofa uncomfortable own 2 seater
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Thank you for the review Corrina so happy you enjoyed your break .We are sorry too that we didn't get to greet you. Replacements on the way. kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahhigh...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, warm,clean comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Manish Cottage. The cottage was very clean and had everything that was needed for a weeks stay. The road to Manish is something to be experienced and adds to the whole atmosphere of the place. We were so pleased with the location, incredibly remote and wonderfully quiet- just how we like it. We even managed a BBQ in the evening overlooking the beautiful loch. We would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Lovely to meet you and so happy you enjoyed Manish Cottage. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The seating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you Simon for the review, we are so happy you enjoyed Manish. We love where the cottage is set too. kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing