We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“escape the world”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen Kitchen/living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen
Kitchen/living room
Shower room.
Cluer point Harris
Is Bedroom
Highland soap
Loch in Cluer Harris
Autumnal Sykes are wonderful in Harris no light pollution
Beautiful sunsets in Harris all year round
Guest photo of Manish
local sheep
Donalds wee window
water lily in Harris
Wild Thyme
Ist Bedroom
2nd bedroom
Map of main routes
View above Manish
Manish Cottage.
View over Bay
Shower room
Shower
West Harris.
West Harris.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Corrina B
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“escape the world”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Hi Johan
thank you very much we enjoyed our visit to Harris. we just like to say your cottage is the place to stay to get away from things. we did not use the twin room as the other family member did not come with us, but i would say that the 2 bed rooms were great. the bathroom was good with the electric shower working well and more towels than we needed. Kitchen had everything we needed the only thing I would say is that the sofa has seen better days,
Micheal next door was very nice and helpful as the electric had been turned off because of some problem they had next door .Only looked at your booklets just as we were leaving so maybe put them on the counter or table. Would have been nice to meet you or have a welcoming note from you as to where to find things You live on a lovely Island thank you once again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was in the middle of no where
Liked least: sofa uncomfortable own 2 seater
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Thank you for the review Corrina so happy you enjoyed your break .We are sorry too that we didn't get to greet you. Replacements on the way. kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahhigh...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, warm,clean comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Manish Cottage. The cottage was very clean and had everything that was needed for a weeks stay. The road to Manish is something to be experienced and adds to the whole atmosphere of the place. We were so pleased with the location, incredibly remote and wonderfully quiet- just how we like it. We even managed a BBQ in the evening overlooking the beautiful loch. We would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Lovely to meet you and so happy you enjoyed Manish Cottage. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The seating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you Simon for the review, we are so happy you enjoyed Manish. We love where the cottage is set too. kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandy C
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Remote but stunning scenery”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was remote, which can be ok but we found the very narrow road to it challenging. Certainly wouldn't want to do the drive in the dark. The facilities were adequate, but basic. The living room/kitchen would have been a bit too cosy if there were four of you staying. The shower screen was broken, but the whole cottage was very clean. We arrived and found the cottage easily enough, it was unlocked and we did not see the owner the entire time we were there. No mobile signal and no wifi meant we could not communicate with the owner when our plans had to change. Dramatically rocky scenery but not as attractive as the beaches on the west coast.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
Thank you for the review sorry we didn't meet. Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed in a few holiday cottages in the Hebrides, but I would say the location of this holiday cottage is hard to beat. A comfy little whitewashed house right down by the shore, so peaceful, with stunning scenery all around. We had the best weather ever for Harris, and the cottage was a great base for walking, or if you feel lazy, sitting by the sea reading a book, listening to the silence - and the sheep! Plenty to do if you don't feel lazy, all in easy driving distance. The cottage is equipped with everything for a comfy stay. If you don't know Harris well, it would be useful to make sure you have double checked directions before you arrive, especially if you are arriving late in the evening, as it is off the "main" road, but we found it easily enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
We just love where the cottage is so relaxing. It is lovely to hear others have the same opinion.It was nice for you to see Harris at its best with good weather. We are rally happy you enjoyed your stay at Manish cottage and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddyand...
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and special experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Apart from the tight corners and steep verges getting there, Manish Cottage was a dream. Its isolation and rugged terrain makes it a unique experience and it was our favourite accommodation on our recent trip through the Outer Hebrides. We absolutely loved it! It was basic but cosy and very comfortable with everything needed and was located right on the edge of a very pretty tidal inlet/bay (which the neighbour says has otters and seals). Manish Cottage is a place to go if you want to experience Hebridean life, unwind and watch nature... it's all around you. Sheep and their lambs, the tides coming in and going out, the moon rising, the sun setting, the craggy rocks and peaks aglow in the mellow evening light, long twilights, chilly mornings and invigorating walks. Ensure you have supplies and you'll want for nothing. Thanks Johan for fitting us in at very late notice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and its remoteness. The cottage was lovely.
Liked least: Scottish sign posts aren't the best but no fault of the owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
We are so glad you loved the setting of the cottage, it is a truly get away from it all experience. We hope to welcome you back again.Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathyanne...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, peaceful setting ”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed 2 nights. The cottage is fairly basic but well enough equipped and the bed is comfy. Beautiful setting on the bay - though sadly the weather didn't play ball with letting us enjoy it too much! Good value base for getting out and about exploring the island before retiring for a peaceful night in listening to the sheep! Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
We are so happy you had a peaceful stay at Manish, it is one of the things we love about the location. Hope to welcome you back. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing