We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful island paradise”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bannlagan
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The road to Manish is definitely not for the faint hearted. Once there one could only appreciate the silence apart from sheep and the lambs whose antics kept us amused. The fenced garden was ideal for our dog who enjoyed the freedom The scenery around the cottage is beautiful but unfortunately there are no windows in the living room which look towards the sea. However the weather was good so we were able to sit outside. The cottage is fairly basic although the king size bed is extremely comfortable, the settee is not. Plenty of towels provided and with the heaters it was cosy at night. After a long day's walking a soak in the bath would have been very welcome but the hot tap does not work. We were surprised by the absence of information in the cottage. There is no mobile phone reception or wi fi so what one would be advised to do in an emergency would have been useful. There were no contact details for the owner, we had no brought a paper copy of our booking. Also directions to the nearest shop and its opening hours is usual in self catering. However we did have a great stay and would use Manish Cottage again. I would recommend it to some friends butnot others.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The kingsized bed and the quietness
Liked least: The settee
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Sorry that you were disappointed with no hot water tap on bath, I was not aware that there was a problem, I will have this put right. We are happy to welcome you back anytime. King Regards Johan .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie g
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful island paradise”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

beautiful island and lots to do and see very friendly people the cottage was lovely and had all we needed for a holiday my dogs loved it will be going back for sure we had a great 39th wedding anniversary the owners was very helpful as we didn't get on the island until after 9pm and got a bit lost so they sent murdo out to show us the way thanks very much for a wonderful holiday

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beaches
Liked least: had to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you for staying at Manish Cottage so happy you enjoyed it. Harris is Magical and we welcome you back anytime.Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshKirkma...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent two weeks at this delightful little cottage. When we arrived we were met by Johan who was lovely and very helpful. The cottage was nice and clean, and the heating was on to make it warm prior to our arrival. The cottage had everything we needed, including oven, washing machine, television and any utensils to cook and eat with. The area around the cottage is beautiful when the sun is shining. The price of the cottage was very reasonable too. Had a fantastic break and wish we could've stayed longer. Fell in love with the Outer Hebrides. No concerns at all.

Date of stay: February 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
It was lovely to meet you both and I am so glad you enjoyed the cottage. Harris is rather magical, leaving everyone wanting more. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd S
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great cost/performance ratio”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

we stayed in Manish Cottage for one night before we had to catch the early ferry from Tarbert to Uig. The cost/performance ratio of this cottage is great. It is not too easy to find - but the description of the landlord was very helpful. it is not a luxury cottage - but you`ll find there everything you need. It would be a good improvement if the landlord would switch on heaters on teh ay of arrival. Especially if you travel in the colder months, the cottage was quite cold and a little bit moisty when we checked in late afternoon!

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Thank you for the review and I shall take into account the time of year and leave heating on in future. Hope to welcome you back Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auz_Mira
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice cottage with great view”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived at Tarbert ferry at around 8 pm so it was dark and we had to drive carefully along the bended one way road (however there are passing places all through the road). We saw sheeps and rabbits crossed the road. From Tarbert to Manish Cottage took half an hour to get. It was confusing to find the cottage and we ended up knocking at neighbour's house. His name is Mike. Since we didn't get any phone signal (Giffgaff and Lebara) so Mike let us use his house telephone to call Mr.Johan. Turns out that Manish Cottage is the second house that you'll see at the particular road. The house was very clean and have cooking utensils. The bed was comfy. The only thing that didn't work is the tv. But it was nice for a quite time with family. We manage to tke a view of sunrise the next morning and the view was breathtaking.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very clean, beautiful and comfortable
Liked least: no phone signal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Manish Cottage and would love to welcome you back. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona B
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage in Harris, highly recommend!”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent cosy cottage for the both of us and the dog. Lovely and warm, very clean and well equipped. Lovely remote location, with friendly neighbours. Ideal base for exploring Harris with the dog. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to Harris. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Savor the real Scotland”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived to Manish cottage just off the ferry from Skye to Tarbert. The drive has many bends and as with most of the Hebrides, one-track lanes. So it's best avoided at night. The cottage itself wasn't exactly easy to find, but with help from a nearby neighbor, he hopped in his car and escorted us to the door. His name was John and he was very sweet and helpful.

The cottage itself was pretty spartan and basic, but hey: this is the Outer Hebrides and this is all part of the charm. The heating and all the facilities worked fine and the beds were comfy. One thing you'll notice about a night on the edge of Harris at night is the pitch blackness and absolute silence.

The following morning I was in for a surprise at the sheer beauty of the surroundings. Sheep were grazing and the cottage is a stone's throw from the cost itself. Another warm and friendly neighbor, Mike, came down to say hello and explained a bit of the history of the surrounding area. Amazing stuff. This is real Scotland.

So, don't hesitate! Manish cottage is the perfect way to savor Harris, past and present.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area.
Liked least: The signage to get there could have been better.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thank You James we would love to welcome you back to Manish. .Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing