We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for a holiday in the Loire / Vendee...”
other travelers have booked this property
Private pool 6m x 4M
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pool 6m x 4M
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Private pool 6m x 4M
Lounge area
Kitchen
Inside dining area
Lounge area
Games room
Games room
1st floor bathroom/shower
Outside dining area
Outside dining area
BBQ area
Pool
Stairwell with child safety features
Front gate to property
Local produce for lunch
Random pool picture
Village boulangerie - only a few minute walk - Award winning brioche!!
Fontenay le Compte Saturday market. (Just 15 miles south- historical town with lively market)
St Pierre Du Chemin church in the centre of the village
Gardens of the church
Fontenay Le Compte - 15 - 20kms south
La Chataignarie church
Village church (St Pierre Du Chemin)
Welcome to the Vendee
La Vendee in Fontenay Le Compte
Plan d'eau lake at rear of gite
Plan d'eau picnic area (good place to escape the summer heat)
Plan d'eau lake at rear of gite
Cave - (vineyard shop & vineyard) in Pissotte - approx 10 miles south
Pissotte vineyard - free to visit- sorry the wine is not free...  :)
Pissotte vineyard
Pissotte vineyard
View from front of property - we are on the edge of the village  -so the best of both worlds!
Field opposite gite during harvest
Field opposite gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Pierre-du-Chemin, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard B
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great base for a holiday in the Loire / Vendee / Puy du Fou”
Reviewed September 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A friend booked Maison Mandara for a group holiday based around a three-day visit to the Puy du Fou park. We were four adults, three teenagers and two eight year-old boys. The house never felt full and we had plenty of space to relax, either by the pool or in the garden area - taking advantage of the splendid barbecue.

Kevin could not have been more welcoming, and provided an excellent welcome meal, and a bottle of wine, for tired and hungry travelers.

The bedrooms were well provided for, and the house had all the facilities you need to make the holiday go smoothly (dishwasher, washing machine, stove, microwave etc.). The provision of TV/DVD/UK Sat TV helped in the quiet moments too.

The big plus was the pool table, a real pub table, which kept us entertained until the small hours...

The location is nice, with plenty to do within a distance of a short drive. As mentioned, we used the house as a base to visit the magnificent Puy du Fou historical theme park, and as such it was excellent.

Five stars all round, and a big thank you to Kevin!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrspatch
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous weeks holiday”
Reviewed September 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed here for a week in early August. 2 families of 4. Kevin welcomed us on arrival and there were a couple of welcome gifts in the fridge. The gite is very spacious and with 8 people did not feel cramped at any time. The kitchen is really well equipped and there is a bbq outside. The beds were really comfy and there were plenty of electric fans for when the weather was really, really hot. There are uk sockets in most rooms. Wi-fi was excellent with 8 people on various devices. The outside space was lovely. A great pool for the children to play on and loungers to relax on. The “pub room” was a great hit with our children- pool table and dart board. Supermarket was about 10 minutes drive and there was a small shop and boulangerie in the village. We had a wonderful week and would definitely recommend this gite to anyone planning to stay in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smasser
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday accommodation”
Reviewed August 24, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Maison Mandara was perfect for our family holiday. Kevin was extremely helpful with all our questions about the gite and the local area and went out of his way to make sure we all (especially the kids) had the best holiday we could.
The gite has everything you could need and great wi-fi.
We would definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jezzer54
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for a family holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The gite is in a lovely setting, on the edge of a village with a boulangerie, bar, restaurant etc (although we didn't try the restaurant) all within easy walking distance. We visited Fontenay Le Comte which is a pleasant town and Vouvant which is a beautiful little medieval village nearby. Also there is a very good lakeside beach at Chassenon, which kept the children amused for a long time! But most of the time we stayed around the excellent pool and enjoyed the sunny weather.
We were a family of 6 adults, 3 children under 7 and a baby. The downstairs accommodation is excellent, with a large open plan lounge/kitchen/diner, a bathroom and a super games room, the pool table was used most evenings! Upstairs there are two good sized double bedrooms (one with bunk beds), a bedroom with two single beds and a double bed on the mezzanine, which can be partially screened off for privacy. The only slight problem here is that the access to the upstairs bathroom is from the mezzanine but with the screen this wasn't an issue for us. The mezzanine room and the twin room have opening sky lights and all the rooms upstairs have insect nets so that windows can be left open at night. The outside area is good, with plenty of seating and a good BBQ. There is a grassy area at the front and plenty of parking. Our host Kevin was very helpful too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Gite”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in July 2018 and we absolutely loved it. This must be our 10th holiday in France and this is the best place we've stayed. The gite is excellent and well equipped. There's loads of fans to keep cool, French and English sockets and excellent wifi for the kids.
Kevin the owner is on site and a great help with everything you need and a good source of info for all the local attractions.
Would come back again and recommend to anyone. A great holiday had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2018
Hi Mark and family,
Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay here for the fortnight (well almost 2 weeks thanks to Irish Ferries).
I have to say you were one of the nicest families that have stayed here and it was lovely to accommodate your stay. I hope you have fond memories of your holiday and that you would consider returning as you are most welcome.
Kindest regards
Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeriaGl...
Gloucester , UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday just what we needed”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely holiday at Maison Mandara. Claire the owner gave us a lovely welcome to the property and met us at the door, we were given a tour of the property and advised if we needed any help to just ask. We visited as a party of 7. The pool was a major attraction for all of us especially my sisters boys that was the first thing they did on arrival jump in and chill out.
Its a lovely place to relax and thats exactly what we did the first few days. We were given a welcome pack from Claire & Kevin of basic foods which was much appreciated. Super U and Lidl are a 15 min drive away and have any food you will need for holidays.
We bbqd most nights at the gite as their is a bbq on premises. Two places to sit outside in the evenings i liked sitting at the smaller table as a bit more cosy.

The property has everything you need while away and plenty of space the boys had plenty to do with the pool table and ping pong table outside.

I would recommend visiting the village of Vouvant and Mervent two of the nicest places to visit the first Vouvant i wish i had found out about last wk.. i would of gone more often if i had known about this little french village we loved it there.

A good base for visiting the area inland and coast.
If you want a lovely holiday i would suggest you cant do better for relaxing and chilling out.

Enjoy if you book.

Val, George & The Jone's

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Hi Val, George, Lesley, Peter & kids. Thank you so much for a fantastic review. Glad you all had a great time and spoke so lovely about the gite and surrounding area's of St Pierre. Welcome back anytime in the near future xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandan...
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place To stay”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Gite was lovely a very good size and could easily accommodate 10 people, it had everything you could possibly need, the pool was lovely and very private - the village is very small and quiet perfect for a relaxing holiday and only 30minutes drive to Puy Du Fou. Claire and Kevin could not have been more helpful. Would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the pool
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Hi Anita & Mark.

Glad to hear you arrived back home, thank you very much for your lovely review, you are welcome back anytime inc your friends and more. Keep in touch. Kev & Claire x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing