We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect pit stop!!”

Matt The Thresher Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Birdhill
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Trading since 1890 and named after Tipperary Legend & Hero. Matt the Thresher was one of Irelands first GastroPubs set up by Tony Ryan founder of Ryanair and GPA. Matts Birdhill is now run by Jimmy & Charlotte Lyons who also own the awarding winning Matt the Thresher in Dublin city centre. We serve food from 12pm to 9pm seven days a week and have a full bar licence. Our food is soucred locally and is freshly prepared. Our managers Eoghan & Edith along with Head Chef Avinash Auckal and all the team look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were driving from Dublin to Spanish Point for a Wedding and came off the motorway for lunch. I am delighted we did because it was perfect. The sun was shining, we ate outside, and were looked after by the delightful Lisa! She took our orders - Tipperary Bacon & Cheese Toasties - and then checked the driving time to Doolin where we were due to catch the 3 pm sightseeing cruise to see the Cliffs of Moher. Matt The Thresher Inn is a great place to break that journey and it was doing a roaring trade on the Friday lunchtime we visited. Tasty food and friendly staff - the perfect recipe! Well done all!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2019

Restaurant packed, but service good. Half-hour late for pre-booked table but table was still reserved and available, Excellent main courses, seafood for adults and chicken wings for two teenagers. Staff kept an eye on table without being obtrusive. Were especially attentive to two teenagers. Two ice-cream and 1 apple strudel desserts, all very good - the last being excellent. Coffee taken outside in fresh air.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrandTour786627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

A little cramped and deservedly popular with a wide-ranging menu and quick and friendly service. I had a Thai chicken curry which was excellent. Live music too.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Julio-el-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

I have eaten hear a lot and always left having a delicious meal l but never written a review. I was there on the 14th August. I was with a group of 5 Friends . Fabulous atmosphere and staff friendly as always. We all had 5 different mains no starters. We had fresh cod, a bacon cheese burger, steak sandwich and scampi and chips. We all had a wonderful meal everything was delicious and cooked 2 perfection all washed down with a beautiful bottle of red wine. It was busy and the staff couldn’t have been nicer. Looking forward 2 our next visit. Well priced for the quality of food.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank bobbybrown1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We stopped here recently..we had toasted sandwiches and steak sandwiches...we were all starved leaving ...no chips with toasted sandwiches..supposed to be chicken in my sandwich.. .nowhere to be seen..staff not friendly at all..completely overpriced...would not recommend Matt the thrashers

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyL125, Owner at Matt The Thresher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Dear Maria d,
I am not sure exactly when you ate in Matt the Thresher, but your opinion of our toasted sandwiches and our staff is completely at odds with the views and feedback of the vast majority of our customers, which can been seen from the many positive reviews here on tripadvisor. Our Steak Sandwich is 6oz of prime Irish beef and comes with sautéed onions, mushrooms and chips. We don’t do a chicken toasted sandwich, but what comes with our toasted sandwiches is very clearly indicated on our menu.
Our Head Chef and his team have taken a lot of time and effort to formulate, design and price the dishes on our menus. Considering the quality of local ingredients used we believe the menu to be fairly & correctly priced. If you had highlighted the complaint you had regarding the toasted sandwiches, our friendly and experienced staff would have only been delighted to rectify the issue to your satisfaction. Yours sincerely,

Eoghan Toner
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt The Thresher Inn also viewed

 
Killaloe, County Clare
 
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to Matt The Thresher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing