We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean & tidy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gedney, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsELong
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean & tidy”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The barn is very clean and tidy. We travelled with my parents, our 16 month old daughter & our dog. Slight niggles, not negatives, just points to be aware before you book:-
1. There is no enclosed garden for the dog, there is a very nice grassed garden with trees , a patio type area with seating and a gravel area for parking but not an enclosed area to just let your dog free, we had to take ours out on his lead as there is a busy road.
2. The road is quite noisey in the main bedroom
3. The whole building creaks, this was only a problem when our baby was trying to sleep
4. There are a lot of spiders, it must be noted that this will be due to the area and the trees etc
5. The toilet seats do not stay up this was a problem for both male and female alike.
6. The owners home is very very close, you have to walk passed there windows to get in and out of the barn.
These points are just minor niggles.
The building was also painted while we where staying which seemed a little odd that the owners would choose a time when guests where in to have the building painted.

On the upside

1. It was very good value for money
2. The big bedroom bed is very comfy
3. The 'welcome' tray of tea and milk is a very nice helpful touch
4. The barn is tastefully decorated
5. Everything you could need is provided, towels, fridge, freezer, iron, fan, alarm clock, hairdryer etc etc
6. A very nice pub is about half a minute walk away for food and drinks
7. Local shops are not far away and can be easily walked
8. Ample parking

All in all the barn is very nice, very warm, tidy, clean and inviting. We would recommend a stay to our friends

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean W
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and well-equipped”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We enjoyed our stay as the Barn was attractively decorated and very well equipped..Huge, comfortable, king sized bed, big kitchen, big new TV. Handy downstairs extra loo and sink. The noisy road didn't bother us in the main bedroom but may have in the smaller room if you had four staying. Nice, helpful owners. Good food at pub a few houses up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed.
Liked least: Shower over bath..prefer separate shower as we get older.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy Road”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, and functional.
Unfortunately it is situated on a busy and noisy road, the traffic starts up very early in the morning. The garden only becomes enclosed if the main drive gate is closed and to be honest it was an inconvenience. The garden whilst not overlooked is a bit untidy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Handy for pub and village shops
Liked least: The noisy road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aliselle
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just come back from a week at the barn Lovely accomodation and lovely large bed in the main bedroom. Owners very friendly and barn very well equipped, everything thought of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large bed and garden space
Liked least: Lack of windows in downstairs of property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewed October 20, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton
Reviewed November 11, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;