We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catacol Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$165
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)(Great Value!)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
24
25
5
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
25
5
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beergood sized portionssteak piescottish islandhome madefish cakeslovely foodsunday buffet luncharrandogcottage
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Catacol Bay is a nice little Pub Inn 2 kilometers south of Lochranza. The rooms are simple but tidy and have a fabulous view over the bay. The Pub that Sunday evening was crowded with locals, so definitely also among locals a popular spot (and maybe due to the famous sunday brunch they served earlier that day).
One of the guidebooks writes about Catacol that the food wood be rather simple. This is not what I experienced. I had fishcakes make of smoked haddock with spimach and parmesan - a delicious combination - along with a platter of salmon paté and a sampler of Arran cheeses. Very nice food.
What I do liked as well is the price - which is really value for money. And gosh was I glad I did not find any location in Brodrick! The Lochranza region is much nicer and less touristic than Brodrick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Loved this place and the Sunday Buffet is something to die for! Only place to provide free access to internet we found on our 18 day tour. This was our introduction to "Squirrel Pie" unheard of in NZ but a real delicacy we found!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 days with relatives visiting Scotland from Austria. Although not a fancy place, it was very cozy and comfortable. The rooms had magnificent views and were clean and spacious; the beds comfortable. Although the WC was in the hallway, it wasn't an issue. There was also a Residents' Lounge with a telly, computer and loads of games. We ate in the bar each night and the food was tasty with good value for money. There was also a huge beer garden just overlooking the sea. My Austrian relative called it 'a very special place' and I agree!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Group of 4 of us stayed for one night while biking from Lands End to John O Groats. The setting is great, just round the corner from the ferry landing at Lochranza. Room was a good size , bed comfortable. It's shared bathrooms but this wasn't a problem and the shower was very good.

Good choice of menu and the sausage and chick pea casserole was very tasty. The staff are all very friendly, good beer, the local Arran whiskey well worth trying also,

And to top it all, a stunning sunset over the water towards the mainland.

All in all, for the cost, excellent value. I would like to have stayed for an extra couple of days.

Only problem, the midges. Not much they can do about them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayoutwest36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Had a meal here 2 nights ago whilst on holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it,We remembered the place from our stay at Kildonan 2 years ago when we visited twice as we had enjoyed the food so much.Nothing had changed at all and theMediterranian Vegetable Wellington was still on the menu...Yum Yum.Watched the sunset which was just wonderful.There was a quiz on the night we were there so it was quite busy but the food arrived quickly (for all 10 of us).I agree that it looks a bit run down on the outside but inside its very clean.I would recommend this place for a family meal without hesitation.We were staying in Brodick and drove along the string road and through Pirnmill which was a longer drive but well worth the detour for the beautiful views as the sun goes down over Kintyre...Never actually stayed there so cannot comment on the accomodation,but staff are helpful and friendly...they sell Taylors Landlord bitter too which was a welcome treat after the usual Bellhaven at sub-zero temperatures sold in most other places...watch out for sheep and deer in the road on the drive home,they seem to like lying across the road after the sun has warmed the tarmac during the day.......

Room Tip: Unable to comment.... but go for one with a view over the water
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews