We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent tour

We were fortunate enough to be the only ones on the tour so got the undivided attention of our... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
BJulia47
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing tour with Fiona

Me and my partner booked the connoisseur experience tour which was taken by Fiona. She was amazing... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
paulmurphys
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 131 reviews
  
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
86
14
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
14
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour personal tour designated driver an excellent guide tasting room wee dram great tasting expensive tour warm welcome beautiful area take photos standard tour great visit gift shop tasting tour premium tasting karen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We were fortunate enough to be the only ones on the tour so got the undivided attention of our guide Ann.
This distillery still has the kiln although not in use. The stills were busy on the go and for the first time ever got to see the spirit draw adjusted from feints to the heart (interesting if you like whisky tours).
We opted for the extra drams tour, worth it if you like your whiskies.
Ann was very kind in letting us try an extra couple , we ended up getting a couple of bottles.
Also shared lots of local knowledge, places to visit and eat out

Thank BJulia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner booked the connoisseur experience tour which was taken by Fiona. She was amazing and answed all the questions we had. The group was quite big but she managed to keep everyone happy. We got to try some amazing drams and she was really good at explaining how the whisky was made and telling us about the history of the distillery. We will definitely come back again this was my favorate tasting tour we did while in Scotland . Only downside was some of the whisky in the shop was cheaper to buy online from other websites(distillary should have best price for its own whisky). The gift shop had some good sovereigns to buy though

Thank paulmurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We were impressed with this interesting and detailed tour of the historic Glendronach distillery. It was our only whiskey tour but I can't imagine that you could add more. Great for the price too and well worth the trip to the area.

Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Really good in depth tour of the distillery. Also enjoyed the tasters of the various whiskeys that were available.

Thank kennyjreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

On a Sunday morning we visited this distillery without a booked tour. Much to our surprise it was not busy and they grouped us with a father and son for a tour led by a knowledgable young woman followed by a visit to their shop for tasting and purchasing of a few bottles to bring home with us. I am not a scotch drinker but I enjoyed the tour!

Thank Nienke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Did the drivers tour today. Absolute bargain at £5 with a free sample to take away!
We were the last tour of the day, just me and the wife, so in effect, we got a personal tour.
Loved it. The place is all about tradition, quality and pride.
Couldnt quite see her badge, but I think our guide was called Karen? She was so passionate and enthusiastic about the whisky, her passion rubbed off on us and made the tour even better.
After seeing the new Macallan distillery in the morning and its sterile, mass produced environment, it was great to tour the traditional Glendronach site.
A really pleasureable visit and a real -leasure to meet Karen, keep up the good work lass!

Thank kugaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Have wanted to visit this distillery for some time now and my expectations were all more than fulfilled. It's a beautiful area tucked away in some stunning countryside. The works resemble more of a village than a manufacturing area. The colors of the grey stone buildings with the red and black signage look great, along with the cobblestone courtyards. But it's the whisky of course that takes the cake! We had a great tour with a very friendly and knowledgeable guide (Karen, I think) who took us methodically through all the stages of production and answered all of our questions. The tasting afterwards was also excellent with the 18, 21 and 25 year old on the agenda - each one improving on the former and ratcheting up the quality level. Very much recommended!

1  Thank BeenRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

From all of the eight distilleries we visited, this one was the least interesting. The young tour guide had just began the job and did not have answers to a lot of questions. Ok, i get it, she is new and cannot possibly know everything. I think they should have taught her better. So, keep involving and hopefully it will be better next time. The tasting was kind of dull and emotionless. We left the place without any purchase and that was rare.

Thank Priit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Loved the scotch! The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. I bought the 21 year old scotch. Lovely gifts in the gift shop. The distillery was so professional yet quaint. The tour was both interesting and historical

Thank Mama_is_on_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderfully informative tour with a very knowledgeable guide who kept us enthralled with the story of Glendronach and the process of making fine whisky. Would highly recommend a visit, we learned so much and tasted some very fine whisky xx

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews