We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stone acre”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Twice Brewed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
630adit
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stone acre”
Reviewed November 27, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

We had the best time ,Claire was lovely to us couldn’t ask for more was left milk and eggs no charge, very nice lady . We will be happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljy
pauljy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Treasures on the doorstep!”
Reviewed October 20, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Stone Acre Barn for a celebration week with friends. We were all impressed with the accommodation and the setting. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner and shown round the property. The promised replacement microwave arrived promptly after the weekend.

The cottage was cosy, well-equipped and comfortable; we particularly liked that there was a bathroom for each bedroom and the fact that the kitchen had a large table for leisurely meals together.

What I had not appreciated when I booked were the treasures on the doorstep - you have only to look out of the kitchen window to see Sycamore Gap! Many of the key sites associated with Hadrian's Wall are within walking distance (e.g. 5 mins to The Sill, 20 mins to the Wall, 30 mins to Vindolanda) and there are other fascinating destinations accessible with longer walks/hikes or short drives, not to mention a wide variety of 'Days Out' further afield.

It's been a very enjoyable and memorable week; we did not, in all honesty, encounter any of the negative experiences highlighted by earlier contributors. The owner and her family were all friendly and welcoming I would be happy to return to this area and to Stone Acre.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grannimag...
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic position shame about the rest”
Reviewed October 13, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Ideally situated on the Military road just half mile from Hadrians Wall and in view of the iconic Cycamore Gap from the kitchen window.5oo yards from The Sill and local Twice Brewed pub. On arrival a friendly lady showed us the accommodation and left us to it saying Clair would see us later and we began to settle ourselves.Finding there was no mobile signal inside I wandered around outside searching for a hotspot to contact family at home.starting with what was advertised as a garden with furniture,but whose entrance was blocked by a large motor. was littered with farm implements,and wandered a little further to be greeted by a snarling lady who ordered me away from where I was smilingly waiting to be introduced. She never did introduce herself.She barged her way into the cottage to confront other members about cars and dogs which had been discussed previous to our arrival.The cottage is spacious, well planned and comfy but could do with a good clean. A dusty old box on the kitchen window sill sat on a cushion of cobwebs with a hundred midges in it turned out on inspection to be what could loosely be described as first aid. mouldy damp bandage and a little gauze sheet.In the many kitchen cupboards were plenty but rather grubby pots and pans and particularly a cheese grater covered in rust and shelves coated in grime.there were numerous bulbs out in the light fittings..Every surface on wine rack kitchen doors and flat surfaces were dusty.All 8 of us agreed the bedding was immaculate. and the beds were comfy, excellent showers and we all had loads of space to be in the group or alone somewhere but I wont be going again. The person who booked for us is too nice to complain although the microwave gave up on our last morning and blew all the sockets and he did contact the owner who promised to fix it asap.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2018
Good Afternoon Grannimags,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Stone Acre Barn; I am very sorry to hear your experience was not as you had hoped.
I can see we contacted you during your stay due to the owners concerns that you had more people staying than the property allows. I can see that this was a misunderstanding and that you had family visiting you. I can only apologise for this mix up, however, it is important that us or the owner are aware of additional party members visiting the property due to the owners home insurance as, if anything were to happen, this may mean their insurance is invalidated.
I only wish you had highlighted the issues mentioned during this phone call as we would have loved the opportunity to look into this for you and put this right during your stay.
Customer feedback is always well received by us so thank you again for your comments!

Kind regards,
Becki at Sykes Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cottage OK. Owner not OK.”
Reviewed June 14, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
11
people found this review helpful

A group of 4 of us rented Stone Acre Barn in June 2018. The cottage itself was reasonable enough but the owner was not.
On arrival at 4pm, Clare [--] told us a photographer was in the property and we could not go in until he had finished. There was no apology or sympathy, just a firm no. She closed the gate so we could not go in. We had to go away to a nearby centre, incurring parking and refreshment charges we did not want, instead of unwinding and unpacking after our long drive.
Early in the week the switch on the kettle broke off in normal gentle use. Upon reporting it we were told we had broken it and would have to pay for it. Nonetheless we were given the impression they would bring another kettle next day. It never came. Then two of the alarms started beeping every 30 seconds (worn out batteries) so we tried to report this, but no reply at the door. So we bought new batteries ourselves rather than listen to beeping for the rest of the week.
On leaving we told Clare [--] about the batteries, but far from thanking us, she criticised us for not reporting it to them at the time! She then demanded we pay for her kettle, which we refused. She shouted at us "You are the most horrible people I have ever met" and "Get out and never come back".
The kettle concerned is the one you will see in this series of photos, however old they may be. The problem isn't the cottage itself, it is the massive antagonism of the owner towards her paying guests.
Oh, and if you do come anyway, bring some spare toilet paper, there are no spares within the cottage.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing