We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Nearby Hotels
Villa de Los Monos(Playa Matapalo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (7,052)
Filter reviews
7,052 results
Traveler rating
2,581
2,533
1,219
419
300
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,581
2,533
1,219
419
300
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricariu guanacastezip liningsports barmonkey barhorseback ridingpura vidasteakitalian restaurantspecialty restaurantshot springshowler monkeysmake reservationsocean viewrainy seasonblack sandsushi
Filter
Updating list...
3,658 - 3,663 of 7,052 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful hotel DO NOT stay at the Riu.
On Fridays at 2 pm the hotel ushers in hundreds of loud, ill mannered and wild local Costa Ricans that turn this hotel into a zoo. If you're for a major city and are use to rude, obnoxious crowds, then you may fit in here. The locals come every
Weekend from Friday to Sunday bringing nothing but a noisy, drunken mob scene.

Also, if you are looking for any day trips from the hotel, every point of interest is more than 2 hours by car. Roads are deadly and those of a third world country.

We paid an extra $70 to have Internet service in our room. The Internet only worked 10 percent of our stay. When we complained to the front desk, we were advised to call the Internet company in Mexico and deal with them.

The plumbing made screeching noises throughout each night. Mini bars were never replenished as we were told they would be. Air conditioner broke.

Save your money and find either a better hotel in Costa Rica or avoid this country all together.
There truly was nothing here worth coming for.

Good luck.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmazingMane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This all inclusive Resort at the Riu has great food n all you can drink beverages. They have great quess welcoming services and they keep you entertained all day. They have a daily schedule for games, live entertainment and fun contests while you're relaxing in the pool or just relaxing in their beautiful lobby n beach. Only down side were the beds, a little too hard n pillows were uncomfortable but other than that, your stay will be well worth it..had a great time and relaxing stay with my family..thanks crew for making our stay rewarding, fun n entertained.. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvetteh357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm not into all inclusive resorts generally but this one ain't bad at all. Food is very good in restaurants. Breakfast is excellent. Liquor is on the low end but Jim Beam, Johnny Walker Red Label and Jose Cuervo Gold are available. Imperial Costa Rican draught beer. All free flowing. Cocktails are better than average for beech resort. Rooms and common areas all very nice. Location is somewhat isolated. Some shopping in resort compound but no local community like Tamarindo area. I would come back but it's more of a destination than a touring base if you're coming from outside CR.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

First time in CR, great people,excellent service. Riu was amazing, everything from food,activities and the rooms were great. I wish i could have stayed longer. There are so many activities to do, you can do extreme things like ATV'ing in the moutains or having a great relaxing time at the SPA getting a couples massage. Everybody that works there was very friendly including the manager, no complaints at all. Can wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Plan trips to go visit places, there are some tours available to book at the beach,will make the experience even better
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryeli_bonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went to hotel riu and had a great time, I thought that the place was clean and the beds were comfortable. The beach was nice, and the pool bar was too, except for weekends when it is packed with locals. The only thing was that people kept shouting "Gave Dardner" at the pool and on the beach. I don't know what this means, but I'm sure it's offensive. Other than that the trip was great

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews