We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Beautiful Gardens and House

These are beautiful gardens full of colourful shrubs and flowers. The house seen only from the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kevin F
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Beautiful Walled Garden

At Helmingham Hall you will find the most beautiful walled garden to explore, along with an apple... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Liz B
,
Greater London, United Kingdom
Read all 196 reviews
  
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
121
49
14
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
121
49
14
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house tea room scones courtyard area christmas lights unlimited tea and coffee superb gardens lovely afternoon private residence classic car show brass band relaxing stroll real joy tudor house big house cake classic cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 196 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

Visited yesterday with my husband on very hot day. We were very impressed with the gardens. You enter through a lovely orchard avenue between the wonderful moated Tudor redbrick mansion and the deer park. Lots of young red deer coming right up to the fence. Then you enter the gardens which are divided into rooms with impressive long borders, all labelled so you can get ideas for your own garden. Everything perfectly kept. Lovely arched bean tunnel and another with gourds and squashes. I loved the spiral of wild flowers and the vegetables and herb gardens too. We sat for ages in the knot garden watching small 'murmurations' of house martins flying around the Tudor chimneys. Great lunch, recommend the smoked salmon and prawn salad. There were also a few little courtyard shops to buy crafts and so on. Couldn't have been happier. Thank you!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank TriciaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelminghamHall, Manager at Helmingham Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we are so happy that you had an enjoyable visit and hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

My wife and I visited on 23rd July a very hot and sunny day. No coaches at all and less than 24 cars in car park.
All the staff at entrance shops and restaurant were very friendly and engaging. My wife purchased a hat from the shop and the lady in the store was very helpful with a lovely personality. We had sandwiches and tea and the bread was nice and fresh and well filled. The gardens were lovely and had seating at various locations. It is a shame that part of the house is not open to the public but understand that damage to their property would always be a concern. We feel that £7 entry is good value for money indeed, yes other country homes and estates may have more to offer but they charge double or even more. We greatly enjoyed the peace and quiet of the gardens and will return. We even saw a large group of deer which was wonderful.We forgot to hand in our feedback form so ours is simple, leave the gardens and everything as it is. While you may want to improve things we feel sometimes leaving things as they are best. Great atmosphere and pleasant staff peaceful gardens, a real joy and wonderful place to relax.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank sventurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelminghamHall, Manager at Helmingham Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Thank you very much for the lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

The gardens are wonderful to explore, in many ways the epitome of an English garden. Wide variety of plants and planting which seems to evolve each year and which we found inspiring. In places the hall and gardens are a little shabby and in need of renovation, but in a way that adds to the charm. A nice selection of refreshments and tasteful shops are pleasant, we had excellent coffee, ice cream and cake over our afternoon. A visit is a minimum of 2 hours, but if you take your time and get immersed in the plants and planting could easily last 4 hours plus. The hall and gardens are beautifully set in parklands which in itself is a wonderful setting and ideal for a leisurely picnic.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelminghamHall, Manager at Helmingham Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Many thanks for the review - we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you also took the time to fill in our feedback form or if not we would love to hear from you at events@helmingham.com so we can learn more about your experience?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

We last visited Helmingham Hall 50 years ago when living in nearby Westerfield. Our return following a lifetime of travel around U.K. and indeed World wide.... left us feeling this visit did not inspire.
Whilst appreciating this remains a private residence, it is a great shame such a magnificent property cannot be shared ....if occasionally .....with the public.
Sadly there was an overall impression of EVERYWHERE , including the gardens, requiring some TLC and when compared to other ‘similar’ homes we felt a considerable cash injection would have lifted this stunning estate to amongst the finest in the land and confident could bring dividends.
In it’s current condition it will be a ‘drive by only’ for many with little to ‘make a good impression.’ on visitors.
I should add our comments were shared ‘exactly’ by several over an excellent cup of tea

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelminghamHall, Manager at Helmingham Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

Today visited Helmingham Hall gardens.
We started the day in the courtyard with a lovely coffee - not usual in such cafes and a tribute to our coffee lady. We then followed the plan to the gardens which despite being past their best are the most beautiful garden we have seen for some years. The care and work to maintain such a high standard must be consuming and all involved are to be congratulated. The variety of colour and texture is amazing and the vegetable beds inspiring.
Congratulations to all.

We ended our visit with lunch in the restaurant. Excellent service and quality food in a lovely environment. Just one jarring note- why put fairy lights in such a lovely room. Tasteless and a little tacky and not worthy of the high standard everywhere else.

Finally thank you to everyone for the warm welcome so often absent in such places.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelminghamHall, Manager at Helmingham Hall Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews