We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better.”
Review of The Keys

The Keys
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Slyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO THE KEYS With charm and character in abundance, The Keys offers friendly staff, beautifully decorated interiors, seriously good pub food and expertly chosen drinks ranges.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We have eaten at The Keys on a number of occasions and have always had a great meal, however this time we were slightly disappointed. The staff were excellent and service was quick but the food could have been better. The fish and chips were greasy and meat and ale pie had quite a lot of gristle in it. We will return as we love the restaurant, however I hope the food is better!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pyjamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerT5, General Manager at The Keys, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thank you for providing this review, I'm pleased that you have enjoyed many great meals with us and dissapointed that you didn't feel that your latest visit was quite as good. I've fed back your comments to our kitchen and we hope to deliver better food during your next visit.

Kind Regards
Tom & The Keys Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Tom the manager could not have been more helpful. Nothing was any bother and we were looked after by lovely staff on a very difficult day. The Buffet was very generous and all our family and friends couldn't believe how much very tasty food there was. I especially liked the goats cheese with caramalised onion crostini . No one went hungry. But as I said before the most important point I make is how co-operative Tom was, he even placed a lit candle by my Mother's photographs. She was 99. Thank you.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janescar1ett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerT5, General Manager at The Keys, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking your time to write us this lovely review. It was our privilege to provide the buffet for you during this difficult day for you, your family and friends. The photographs were a really nice touch and I know all of your guests took great pleasure in viewing these and reminiscing. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the food and were happy with the service provided and I'm especially warmed by your review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Visited for Son's birthday. We were a party of 10. Serve a little slow but they were busy. Staff pleasant and when food came it was piping hot and very nice. After dessert the staff brought son another dessert of ice cream on nest of crumbs with birthday message on plate & a card which was a lovely touch. Thank you will come again. Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LtwDaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerT5, General Manager at The Keys, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Happy birthday again to your son. It was our pleasure serving you for this celebration meal and thank you for choosing to dine with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Tom & The Keys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

First time to the Keys.From the friendly attentive staff to the promptly served food this was an excellent experience and we would highly recommend. Very competitively priced too

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bowiechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerT5, General Manager at The Keys, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Thank you for this lovely review and we're really pleased that you enjoyed the prompt service and good food. See you again soon :)

Kind Regards
Tom & The Keys Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

We called in here for a Sunday lunch following a visit to Lancaster castle. We hadn't booked but had no problems getting a table around 2pm. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Ordered trio of meats Sunday roast with a side of cauliflower cheese and everything was very good. I'm a self confessed fussy git when it comes to eating out and I really couldn't fault the Sunday lunch, i cleared my plate it was that good. Will definitely return when back in the area.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerT5, General Manager at The Keys, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Kelly,

Thank you for this fabulous review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed the Sunday Roasts we serve and we love nothing more than to see empty plates heading back to our kitchen. We look forward to seeing you again when you're next in the area.

Kind Regards
Tom & The Keys Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keys also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Slyne, Lancaster District
Morecambe, Lancaster District
 
Carnforth, Lancaster District
Carnforth, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing