We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Finca del Castillo Arabe
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Molino del Puente(Durcal)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Juan Valiente(Niguelas)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Espana Hotel(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Paris(Lanjaron)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Andalucia Hotel(Lanjaron)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nuevo Palas(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Castillo Lanjaron(Lanjaron)(Great Value!)
$39
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
124
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapaslecrin valleywonderful hostsstunning viewsother guestsday tripvisiting granadamade us feelswimming poolat homefeel welcomesierra nevadatwo weekslocal areahouse is beautifulgranada arealocal produce
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 129 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Chris and Scarlett in May. The house itself is magnificent, very well appointed inside and out, with fantastic views over olive and orange groves. Our suite of rooms was extremely spacious and clean, with separate bedroom, lounge and wet-room.

We sampled Scarlett's excellent cooking on one evening and can definitely recommend this option. The breakfasts were tasty, fresh and filling. We also made use of the guest kitchen for some meals and found it extremely well equipped and a great alternative to eating out all the time.

We made several trips out from La Finca, there's plenty to see in easy driving distance. Don't miss the Alhambra and tapas bars in Granada - we really enjoyed a trip to the latter with Chris and Scarlett, who know some great spots that we wouldn't have found on our own.

La Finca takes a little bit of effort to get to, through villages and down narrow lanes, but detailed instructions were provided from the motorway and we found it fine. This just means that peace and quiet are guaranteed, with walks from the front door. We found it the perfect place to relax and unwind and we'll stay here again when we come back to this part of Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We loved having you and hope all is well with you both. Come again soon - we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Chris and Scarlett were amazing hosts who went out of their way to make our stay fabulous, printing maps from google earth to show us exactly where to find local attractions, ringing ahead and arranging tickets for us, and finding a Spanish teacher to brush up our lingo, nothing seemed too much trouble. The house is well hidden down a long and rather hair raisingly narrow track through orange orchards and wild flowers galore, a worrying trip when first made in a hire car but I got to love seeing the wildlife and smell the scents as we brushed past the plants on return journeys. A ruined Moorish castle stands in the foreground of the view from the house and is easily walkable, enjoying their organically developing garden enroute with wonderful wild flowers and wildlife all around. The house has been brilliantly designed by the owners to maximise the fantastic unspoilt views to the south, space is not an issue the suites are huge, there is a shared guest kitchen which was fantastic with young children, a BBQ terrace for each suite, all with fantastic views, spacious wet rooms with powerful showers. An unheated pool is a joy after a long day in hot Granada but can be a little chilly in spring before the snow has all melted, but not a problem for hardy Scots! In April the nights were pretty chilly but days a perfect temp for visiting and walking local attractions. Scarlett cooked a delicious dinner for us, the dishes were a little too adventurous for the children's palate's but perfect for the interested foodie, especially if you like Thai food. Scarlett runs cookery courses from a cabin on the hill behind the house. There were lots of lovely friendly dogs floating around but they could get a little over excited if you were eating on your terrace and try to join in the meal! We loved our stay and only wish it could have been longer, I would love to make another visit - perhaps a cooking course with some girlfriends, that would be heaven.

Room Tip: All rooms had fantastic views, great showers and a private terrace
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Louise it was just great to have you and all your family with us. It is great to see the house in full use! Thank you for your kind words. We have passed on the message to the dogs who now spend guest meal times in the corral with a special treat! We look forward to seeing you and your girlfriends before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The warmth of the welcome from Scarlett & Chris made the chilly shores of homes seem a million miles away. Nestled amidst orange & lemon groves this remote hideaway was a perfect sanctuary from the madness of Malaga and the rest of the world! Truly delicious food and a beautiful home crammed with loveliness- this place is really special and just a 45 drive from the amazing Alhambra. Nestled on a day bed surrounded by a menagerie of mutts, awestruck at the dramatic view, I had one of those perfect stop-the-clock moments. Generous and warm and fantastic cooks - Scarlett & Chris were just a delight - thank you both for welcoming us into your home.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but the blue suite is furthest from the guest kitchen, so may be quieter when there is a house full.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FurtleCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

It was a delight to have you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a marvelous place to stay. The Finca was designed and built by the owners over a ten year period (read their Blog) they had a vision and are passionate about what they do and what they provide. Vegetables are grown in their own organic garden and other ingrediants are locally sourced. The views are stunning, the hospitality is first rate, the food is fresh homemade and delicious. The bedrooms suites are comfortable, beautifully furnished, Flat Screen TV, Wet room, and a guest self contained kitchen. A garden kitchen provides the venue for cookery lessons, which can be eaten later with your hosts. Swimming pool for the summer. A definite must visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning with a fantastic guest kitchen for your convience, if self catering is your thing. Why would you want to when Scarlett is such a fabulous cook!! Can't imagine. Take walking boots if you like walking.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

It is always lovely to see you both, Angie - thank you for your kind words and for coming back to La Finca! See you again before too long we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

So sorry we couldn´t stay longer! It´s an absolute hideaway, so charming and welcoming! Million thanks to Scarlett and Chris´s hospitality, the owners of the finca, who made us feel like home in their perle of land! Hope to come back soon...You really HAVE to try Scarlett´s cooking masterpieces and her self-made marmalade for breakfast, it´s gorgeous! A piece of paradise on the earth, thank you for everything, dear Farrow family.

Room Tip: every room has a charming view, and is very spacious
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinaV33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarlettFarrow, Owner at La Finca del Castillo Arabe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you Karina. We hope that your onward journey was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again before too long. TeaBag sends his love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews