We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It Was Just Great!”
other travelers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martine Y
1 review
“It Was Just Great!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved this house, because it was a very nice house, and the nature was very beautiful. The style of the house was very good, and we just loved it. The owners of the house were very kind and helpfull. They did a lot of things for us, and it was just great!
- Thank you for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Some of the doors creaked a little bit, witch was quit annoying
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Thanks. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. The comments are appreciated. Hideaways Reservations Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Service when booking the barn was excellent. All information needed prior to visit was sent. Courtesy call the day before - gave recommendations for restaurants and made a booking for us which was great!
On arrival we received a warm welcome. The barn itself is lovely. Thoughtful interior design, all the modern conveniences. Perfect size for 4 people and 2 kids but probably a squeeze for 6 adults. The 2 bathrooms are just perfect. The only downside is that you have to go through the bedrooms to access them.
The location is very peaceful which was perfect as we wanted a relaxing weekend break.
The restaurant they booked for us was 'Ye old George' in East Meon. The food was really delicious.
We would definitely recommend Shaft barn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, which paint a glowing picture of the barn. We agree that the owners have done a brilliant job and everyone seems to love the accommodation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a perfect situation”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a marvellous week, preparing for our daughter's wedding in Langrish.
Cottage was perfect - immaculate and everything provided. In a beautiful setting, yet easy to walk to West Meon and its facilities.
The owners live at the end of the drive, very welcoming but sensitive.
Nothing to criticise; just praise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, which will be very helpful for other visitors planning a holiday at Shafts Barn. We're very glad the accommodation proved to be suitable for your needs. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Shafts Barn, West Meon, Hampshire”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great family holiday exploring Hampshire. Shafts Barn was a perfect base, our hosts obviously know how to relax their guests and provide enough of those little extras which make a big difference. These included a friendly greeting at 9pm on arrival, a bottle of Villa Maria, a laid fire ready to be lit, toys for the children and all the mod cons. Our only criticism would be that the beautiful village pub doesn’t have a childrens menu, the 7 Stars not far away has a great one but that involved driving a few miles and therefore not drinking! Thanks for a lovely break, our first holiday as a family of four and one to remember.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Shafts Barn, which will certainly be helpful for future visitors planning a stay here. We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batters24
Brantome, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We live in France and stay in the area quite regularly but this is the first time we have stayed at Shaft's Barn; it won't be the last. From the website, it may look a little on the small side but it is a perfect size for two or a small group. The kitchen is clean and quirky and well-equipped. The living room is comfy; log fire, SKY tv( which is fab for sports fans) and snuggly sofas. The bedrooms and ensuites are fresh, modern yet charming. And even if you go in winter, the house is so warm, I'd be surprised if you even need the fire. The owners were welcoming and available if you needed advice but non-intrusive. We were very pleased to have found this gem of a cottage one of our favourite locations and we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Mattress a bit soft
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive and useful feedback about this cottage. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydia C
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy retreat, beautifully appointed, with wonderful hosts, in a charming village.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed over the Christmas period, and the barn proved pivotal to visiting family and friends coming from Southampton, Tavistock and Bath. The hosts bent over backwards to ensure we had everything we needed, and it all felt extremely luxurious. We even had sparkling wine and chocolates as a welcome present. West Meon is a quaint village with a river running through it, sheep and woodland, a lovely old pub and friendly local shopkeepers. We went to Winchester for the fun, tasteful Christmas market and attended the Christmas Eve Eucharist service, which was outstanding. Time in the barn was spent round the wood-burning stove, with a gorgeous Christmas tree and lights and candles. Being miles from busy roads, it was so quiet, and the sky was filled with stars. Very romantic! There was plenty of space for all the special Christmas food I had to prepare, many films to watch and games galore. We all had a truly wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of luxury, care and generosity.
Liked least: Very comfortable for four, but six people staying might feel cramped.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments; it sounds as if you had a great time and were very well looked after. We're glad you enjoyed Christmas at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservation team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Hampshire”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at the barn. Every little detail had been thought of and the decor was simply stunning. The location was perfect for what we wanted which was to cycle and walk around beautiful countryside and relax in cosy pubs by the fire.
The log burner in the barn is a lovely touch and we used it a lot. Jill and Phil kindly provided logs for us and were so helpful in suggesting things for us to do. They even offered us a lift into Winchester as we were without a car (we didn't find this a problem at all as everything is easily accessible) which was so kind of them! The Thomas Lord pub, a five minute walk from the barn is a must visit - best roast we've had in a long time! My partner being a keen cricketer loved all the cricket heritage in the village of West Meon. Our stay really was a little slice of heaven and we will definitely be back as soon as we can. It's the perfect escape from the madness of London and we highly recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments; we're very glad you enjoyed your break at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing